We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect valentines getaway on breath taking...”
other travelers have booked this property
Sunrise at Belmullet Coastguard Station.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunrise at Belmullet Coastguard Station.
Bedroom 1 (en suite) Bedroom 3 (en suite)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Sunrise at Belmullet Coastguard Station.
Bedroom 1 (en suite)
Bedroom 3 (en suite)
Bedroom 2 Twin room (double & single bed)
Upstairs livingroom, stunning views of the Mullet peninsula.
Kitchen - Dining area
Family bathroom.
Belmullet CGS (North facing)
Our 2 Luxury Pods.
Boat trips can be arranged by request.
Luxury Pods also availablle
A panoramic view from Claggan Island.
Panoramic view from Belmullet Cgs.
Aerial View of Claggan Island. July 2013
Aerial view with Claggan Island in the background, July 2013
Sunset over Belmuller CGS
Claggan Island Sunset
Claggan Beach with Belmullet CGS in the background.
Claggan Beach (Achill Island in background)
Stunning views of Achill to the south.
Carramore lake. A 15 minute drive away.
The wild Atlantic ocean at its best.
Ballyglass Lighthouse. 20 minute drive from Claggan Island.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Lighthouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Belmullet, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Eimear37
Munster
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect valentines getaway on breath taking Claggan Island”
Reviewed March 29, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We recently spent a long weekend on Claggan Island to celebrate valentines weekend. We arrived in lashing rain and gale force winds to the most cosy, romantic retreat and blazing fire!! It was just what we were looking for, so peaceful we didn't see another person only when we went into the town for dinner (which was gorgeous!) The following day we awoke to clear skies and amazing views in every direction. We enjoyed a long walk on the beach and back again to a blazing fire... Bliss!!!! We can't wait to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back in the near future. Best wishes form all at Belmullet Cgs.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryMacG
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a way to see in the New Year”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We travelled to Ireland in late December for our New Years stay at Belmullet CGS, we were not disappointed.
Even before our arrival we experienced the warm inviting welcome which only got better upon arrival, the communication from the outset of our booking was second to none.
Our booking process was excellent which even ran to us being able to do a grocery order in advance of our arrival, all fresh produce shopped locally and awaiting us stored away in cupboards and fridge.
The property was warm and inviting on arrival as was the welcome from the property owner and family.
Both the interior and exterior quality of the property was impeccable and the standard of fixtures/ fittings, beds/ bedding etc were that of the standard to be expected at fine hotels.
We loved our evenings spent by the log/turf burner in the kitchen and long chats lover a glass of wine whilst listening to the Atlantic breezes blowing around the property.
We were two family's of 3 with young boys aged about ten yrs old, the boys loved the farm and beach, walks in the winters fresh breeze being a part of our morning routine each day before going to visit some wonderful surrounding towns such as Bangor and Belmullet
The drive over the dunes and causeway to Island was a pleasure and gave us the feeling of it being 'our' little bit of paradise on the West Coast
I would have no hesitation in recommending a stay at Belmullet CGS where I am sure a welcoming Cead Milte Failte awaits all who are fortunate enough to visit
We are very much looking forward to returning again soon

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 8, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay & look forward to seeing you all again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014 for a stay in November 2013

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 8, 2014
Thank you for the kind & positive feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay & hope to see you again in future. Best wishes from all at Belmullet Cgs.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MaggieCre...
Crewe
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Over the dunes to Claggan...”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We were made very welcome. There was food for us in the fridge and the fires, (solid fuel burners, well guarded) were laid. The six of us were very comfortable, would have loved to stay longer and hope to go back.
Could not fault the accommodation, amenities or service. As for the location and the views- wonderful.

Re -"Friends' getaway" -depends on the friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to say. We liked everything.
Liked least: Only the long journey to get there, although the countryside was beautiful.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 8, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Belmullet Coastguard Station. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay & hope to see you back again in the future. Best wishes from all at Belmullet Cgs.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa C
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“perfect retreat that ticks all the boxes”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I do not really write many reviews but felt this was a must. We have family in Belmullet we visit but also wanted somewhere to relax and unwind this house was perfect.1st impressions of the island were the beautiful scenery. When we arrived Laurence Howard welcomed us with a turf fire and the kettle on. The house was more than we expected with fantastic views from the upstairs living room. There has been a lot of though put into the renovation of this house and the attention to detail. The house has been furnished beautifully and is well equiped. The beds are very comfortable and the linen is clean and fresh. The family are all very friendly whilst not at all intrusive. My son loved the cows mooing and the hens, ducks, ducklings and turkey. We spent many hours on the beach playing football and flying a kite. Although you feel you are cut of from the world it is only a short (10 mins) drive into Belmullet town if you wanted to eat out. Also there is the gateway which is a fun place for children and family with bowling and soft play etc.Having rented many properties over the years this is by far the best. I would reccomend this and we will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 13, 2013
Many thanks for your positive review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best wishes, Laurence & Myra.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blondel62
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly welcome; Fantastic accommodation in a beautiful setting.”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Lucky enough to stay for a week in the heatwave. Myra and Laurence are lovely hosts. The Coastguard station has been renovated to a luxury standard. Super comfy beds and fantastic views. The beach is outstanding and virtually deserted even on really hot days.
Can't wait to come back!

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to meeting you again. We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your stay in Ireland. Many thanks, Laurence & Myra.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPS111
Maitland, NSW Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“5 Star house at 3 star price in 6 star location”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Stayed for a week recently at Belmullet CGS Claggan Island. Perfect place to unwind. Good size comfortable house with excellent views. Hosts were wonderful and not intrusive.Enjoyed a chat or two with Laurence Snr.

As an Australian I am still amazed with the late sunsets and this place only heightened the sensory perception. Saw some amazing sunsets. Irish weather was as expected but the soft rain did not spoil the visit. Loved the turf fire and the sunny conservatory. Perfect holiday and would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2013
Many thanks for the kind words, it's always nice to receive positive feedback. We hope you are enjoying the rest of your stay in Ireland and the heatwave we are experiencing at the moment! We look forward to meeting you again in the future. Best wishes for the rest of your trip, Laurence & Myra.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing