We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“5 Star house at 3 star price in 6 star location”
other travelers have booked this property
Sunrise at Belmullet Coastguard Station.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunrise at Belmullet Coastguard Station.
Bedroom 1 (en suite) Bedroom 3 (en suite)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Sunrise at Belmullet Coastguard Station.
Bedroom 1 (en suite)
Bedroom 3 (en suite)
Bedroom 2 Twin room (double & single bed)
Upstairs livingroom, stunning views of the Mullet peninsula.
Kitchen - Dining area
Family bathroom.
Belmullet CGS (North facing)
Our 2 Luxury Pods.
Boat trips can be arranged by request.
Luxury Pods also availablle
A panoramic view from Claggan Island.
Panoramic view from Belmullet Cgs.
Aerial View of Claggan Island. July 2013
Aerial view with Claggan Island in the background, July 2013
Sunset over Belmuller CGS
Claggan Island Sunset
Claggan Beach with Belmullet CGS in the background.
Claggan Beach (Achill Island in background)
Stunning views of Achill to the south.
Carramore lake. A 15 minute drive away.
The wild Atlantic ocean at its best.
Ballyglass Lighthouse. 20 minute drive from Claggan Island.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Lighthouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Belmullet, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
WPS111
East Maitland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“5 Star house at 3 star price in 6 star location”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Stayed for a week recently at Belmullet CGS Claggan Island. Perfect place to unwind. Good size comfortable house with excellent views. Hosts were wonderful and not intrusive.Enjoyed a chat or two with Laurence Snr.

As an Australian I am still amazed with the late sunsets and this place only heightened the sensory perception. Saw some amazing sunsets. Irish weather was as expected but the soft rain did not spoil the visit. Loved the turf fire and the sunny conservatory. Perfect holiday and would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: June 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2013
Many thanks for the kind words, it's always nice to receive positive feedback. We hope you are enjoying the rest of your stay in Ireland and the heatwave we are experiencing at the moment! We look forward to meeting you again in the future. Best wishes for the rest of your trip, Laurence & Myra.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6mike
Hingham, Massachusetts
1 review
“Spectacular scenery, friendly and helpful owners, beautiful accommodation.”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

My wife, three children and I are looking forward to returning to the Coast Guard House. The Howards are gracious owners who went out of their way to help me in my ancestry research both before we arrived and during our stay. We enjoyed being surrounded by the farm and the water, frolicking on the beach, and warming up by the peat fire. The accommodations were exceedingly comfortable and tastefully appointed.

Date of stay: April 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The Howards
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 27, 2013
Thank you for the kind and positive feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.. It was a pleasure meeting your family and we hope to see you again in the near future. Best wishes from Laurence, Myra and baby Odhran.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique Holiday rental...”
Reviewed November 30, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Just wanted to write a review that would reflect how we feel about our trip to the Coastguard house and to thank its owners, Laurence Junior, Myra & Laurence Senior for allowing us to experience the magic that Claggan Island has to offer.

We left a little lighter in our hearts having made the most of the wonderful house, views, sunrise walks on beach, peace & tranquillity and it was balm to our souls. It was hard to return to our busy city living!

The house exceeded our expectations with the quality & careful thought that has gone into not only its design but the care in which each & every possible need has been catered for from the perfectly equipped kitchen to the comfortable coastguard tower/sitting room which has views out to Belmullet, we particularly enjoyed the twinkling lights of Belmullet in the distance by night. The bedrooms are large, spacious & very comfortable with beautiful bed linen, furniture & plenty of towels etc...We were so pleased with the quality of everything & felt that the level of luxury was very unusual for a rental property.

We certainly will return to Claggan Island & this wonderful, unique coastguard retreat, with easy enough proximity to the Great Western cycling greenway, we aim to return and to traverse the Greenway once more; it was the reason originally why we came to Mayo but Claggan Island & the Erris peninsula has added to it & more!

Date of stay: September 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: we enjoyed the peace & the fabulous views the most..
Liked least: the access road to the property is via a track through sand dunes, wouldn't be for the faint hearted but you do get used to it and once on the island it is well worth it for the views..
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 8, 2015
Thank you so much for this wonderful review, we are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you at Belmullet Cgs again very soon. Many thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannes...
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing