We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar restaurant”
Review of Talbot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Talbot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Belmullet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We had a lovely meal in the bar area (there is another upstairs restaurant) and even though it was early evening the place had a vibrant atmosphere. The menu was good and varied and Rachel was a smashing waitress. Try the local specials if you get the chance.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotHotel2011, Owner at Talbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you for your comments were glad you enjoyed your experience with us, there is always a lively buzz about the place in the evenings.
We are currently updating our menu and hope we'll have you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 381 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in room 20. Bath in the room & double shower in large bathroom. Robes provided & slippers. Lovely quite room. Decor just breath taking throughout the hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Top marks all round really enjoyed our stay

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank SharonE38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotHotel2011, Owner at Talbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

We love it when guests enjoy themselves, we try hard and the staff care.... from the bottom to the top so thank you for your kind words and i will pass it on to all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I was genuinely impressed with the standard of service across the board in this hotel. As someone who stays fairly regularly in hotels, I noticed a professional and friendliness manner right across the staff team, rather than just with one or two. The staff could not do enough to help us, including preparing off-menu food. In the morning we were greeted in the dining room with a warm welcome, despite the fact that it was approaching 12 and we were the last group for breakfast, and our breakfast felt in no ways rushed. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotHotel2011, Owner at Talbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

As the owner it is great to here nice things about our staff, they work hard but they enjoy what they do...there a great team and good fun to work with even on the hard days!
So a big thank you on behalf of all our staff...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed here with a group of girls on a hen night over the weekend. From the second we entered the lobby we were greeted with smiles and made to feel like royalty. We had afternoon tea which was delightful and the bed rooms were just fabulous spacious and airy large bath and double shower, robes and slippers supplied. dinner in the Barony restaurant upstairs was something to savour. Goats cheese tartlet was divine and a great selection on the menu. Again the staff were a delight. Music in the bar was great craic. couldn't recommend the talbot enough. I will definitely be returning here.

Room Tip: we got to see the bridal suite which is a sight for sore eyes if you want a really special night awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank recio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotHotel2011, Owner at Talbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us in Belmullet and thank you for taking the trouble to review us.
A great review like yours lifts everyone spirits!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

There is something special about this place. The decor is fabulous but I think the staff make it unique. They are remarkably happy in their work giving a relaxed, unpretentious atmosphere. They couldnt be more helpful or efficient.(it's worth a stay just to see the staff in action!!) A special mention to Connie at reception who really made us feel at home.This was my second stay here. I cannot recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 80diana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotHotel2011, Owner at Talbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

As we designed the interior ourselves we love it when people enjoy the hotel...it is that little bit different from other hotels a bit quirky but also homely with luxury thrown in.
So thank you for your kind comments and we hope you get a chance to return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I stayed in this hotel on Saturday night for a girls night away, well what can I say it was just a truly fantastic experience from arrival till we unfortunately had to depart, the rooms were amazing , the food and atmosphere in the bar was brilliant but above all what blew me away was the most friendly and obliging staff I have ever come across , a special mention to the lovely receptionist Connie!!! Hats off to you all!!! We will def be back and highly recommending your hotel to friends and family, well done to you all ! Veronica

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank Veronica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotHotel2011, Owner at Talbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

It was a pleasure having you all stay..we enjoyed it as much as you and hope to see you all back in the near future.Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Gorgeous rooms, lovely staff, delicious food and an excellent location. Myself and some friends stayed here on a hen party and had dinner, cocktail making class and entry into the nightclub. Couldn't fault the place. Will definitely be returning. Stay here!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotHotel2011, Owner at Talbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you for your review, were glad you enjoyed your time at The Talbot and hope you get a chance to return soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmullet
11.5 mi away
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Belmullet
521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Western Strands Hotel
Western Strands Hotel
#3 of 3 in Belmullet
72 reviews
23.4 mi away
Mulranny Park Hotel
Mulranny Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mulranny
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 mi away
Leim Siar Bed and Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Kilcommon Lodge Hostel
Kilcommon Lodge Hostel
#2 of 4 in Belmullet
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chez Nous
Chez Nous
#6 of 9 in Belmullet
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Hotel

Address: Barrack St, Belmullet, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Belmullet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Belmullet
Price Range: $90 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Talbot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talbot Hotel Belmullet is Irelands Newest boutique hotel and the first four star hotel in Erris.The Talbot Belmullet County Mayo is a family run hotel offering luxury boutique accommodation in the centre of Belmullet town. Each of the chic, quirky 21 guestrooms has its own special charm...including an iPod dock, complimentary Wi-Fi. Butler tray, and oh joy, an espresso machine as well as a mini bar stocked with tempting treats, oversized fluffy bath robes and towels, slippers and spa toiletries.At The Talbot, all suites have double deluge rain showers, and their own fireplaces, just enough to leave you feeling tickled pink! You can plan your trip around Belmullet taking in all sorts of places of interest and activities - from heritage and culture to food and drink, to folklore and music! Belmullet is the capital of the Gaeltacht (Irish-speaking) region of Erris, an area that offers unspoilt beauty and glorious beaches and is the ideal place for that get away from it all holiday. Car hire is available at Ireland West Knock International Airport . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Talbot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing