We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“out of this world”
Review of Talbot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Talbot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Belmullet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

I had my wedding here on july 20th 2013.this hotel really is out of this world.the staff were fantastic.fiona the hotel manager organised our wedding with such detail and taste and was always on the other end of the line,i cannot fault her,she was fantastic.our wedding went soo smoothly.she really was amazing.the hotel really has such a high standard of excellence.all of our guests commented on how stunning the venue is,how large the portions of food were and the standard was fantastic.real gourmet dining.people had never been to a wedding with soo much food! after the cermony there was a champagne reception with canapes served on slate.endless food!the rooms are amazing,beautifully decorated with lovely personal touches.our honeymoon suite came complete with little books for husbands&wives!what was soo lovely about the hotel as a wedding venue is that the reception room is on a private floor with an outdoor area also.the bar is in the reception room and opens out onto thw outside terrace also so everybody is together at all times.it felt so special.i cannot recommend this hotel enough and all its staff especially Fiona.it really is magical

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachaelstrydom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotHotel2011, Owner at Talbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Congratulations from us all, we wish you both a long happy life together.
Thank you for your review it was a pleasure for us all to be part of your big day, there was great excitment amongst the staff and all of us enjoyed it imensely.
Everyone wanted it to be perfect for you and it was extra special for us as you were the first to get married in the Barony Restaurant !!!
All in all it was a great day and we're delighted we got to share it with you. A well deserved clap on the back for all our team and especially Fiona.

Best Wishes for the Future, Orla Talbot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 379 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed in this hotel while attending a wedding in another hotel in Belmullet. I loved this funky hotel. The staff were very friendly, our room was huge and the bathroom was equally impressive. The decor is funky and a bit "out there" but very memorable. The receptionist was so helpful and ordered us a taxi without hesitation. The porter on duty when we returned to the hotel was also very friendly.

The bed was excellent, tea & coffee facilities in the room were spot on. I will happily return to this hotel.

I did not eat here so cannot comment on that. The only issue that may arise in my experience is that of parking as the hotel is located on the main street.

All in all I cannot complain (which is unusual!)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank jeanbops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotHotel2011, Manager at Talbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. We share the good, the bad and the ugly with the team and to get such nice comments always lifts everyone spirits and make us want to try even harder.
:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I had heard a lot of good things about this Hotel so I was anxious to visit. Cannot say enough good about it; from the wonderful staff to the fab decor/comfort and amazing food. A little pricey but so worth it as a treat. Belmullet is a lovely town anyway, with great people in it.

Just go!

Amanda

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJMandybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotHotel2011, Owner at Talbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Hi Amanda,
Thank you for your lovely comments!!
We wholeheartedly agree.
Belmullet has wonderful people who are always happy to have a chat and welcome visitors to the town.
We will enjoy sharing your feedback with people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This delightful hotel made our stay in Belmullet even more special. Everything about it was top-notch. The staff were friendly and accommodating, the beds comfortable, the decorating quirky (in a good way), the restaurant for both breakfast and dinner were wonderful. We would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotHotel2011, Manager at Talbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for your review!
We are delighted you had a great time in Belmulet and happy we could contribute to it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My son and I spent two nights at the Talbot last week and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. From the moment we arrived there were smiling faces and a real effort to make our holiday one to remember. We were there to look up a nearby village where my grandfather was born and reception staff could not do more to assist with maps / routes and recommendations for places we should visit. The twin room was spotless and very comfortable. We ate twice in the bar and both agreed that the food was excellent (particularly my beer battered cod).
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and we are already planning a return visit next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalbotHotel2011, Owner at Talbot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you for your great review, our staff obviously enjoyed your company and we look forward to your return.
warm regards, Orla Talbot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed here for one night recently. Beautiful comfortable hotel. Got upgraded as we were on honeymoon which was a lovely gesture. Reception staff were helpful and professional. Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

In relation to the previous comment I felt impelled to write a review of the Talbot Hotel. Myself and my party of 6 went for dinner in the restaurant on the same Saturday night and as usual we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The food was as delicious as ever, beautifully presented and the staff were as accommodating and friendly as always. The hotel has always accommodated residents and visitors very well and it remains a popular venue for any occasion big or small. The decor and atmosphere of the hotel is outstanding and unique to its location. Staff are professional, friendly and have always made every effort to make the night most enjoyable.
On that Saturday night I too was a fellow diner. The food was delicious and the service was great as ever. There were a few mishaps in the kitchen i.e glasses being smashed by accident however I don't believe the restaurant or staff should be penalised for such human error. The staff tried every effort to make light of the situation and also made a point OF apologising to every table for the noise. In relation to the price of the meal, 30euro for a 3 course meal which included a high quality menu was definitely outstanding value for money. Needless to say our party had a brilliant night, wined and dined with great atmosphere helped by the staff and great food. We highly recommend the Talbot hotel and hope such petty reviews do not impede on the hotels great reputation.

Room Tip: All rooms are unique and stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dolly22013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmullet
11.5 mi away
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Belmullet
520 reviews
0.1 mi away
Western Strands Hotel
Western Strands Hotel
#3 of 3 in Belmullet
71 reviews
23.4 mi away
Mulranny Park Hotel
Mulranny Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mulranny
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Stella Maris Country House Hotel
10.0 mi away
Leim Siar Bed and Breakfast
23.3 mi away
Mulranny Courtyard Suites & Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Hotel

Address: Barrack St, Belmullet, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Belmullet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Belmullet
Price Range: $86 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Talbot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talbot Hotel Belmullet is Irelands Newest boutique hotel and the first four star hotel in Erris.The Talbot Belmullet County Mayo is a family run hotel offering luxury boutique accommodation in the centre of Belmullet town. Each of the chic, quirky 21 guestrooms has its own special charm...including an iPod dock, complimentary Wi-Fi. Butler tray, and oh joy, an espresso machine as well as a mini bar stocked with tempting treats, oversized fluffy bath robes and towels, slippers and spa toiletries.At The Talbot, all suites have double deluge rain showers, and their own fireplaces, just enough to leave you feeling tickled pink! You can plan your trip around Belmullet taking in all sorts of places of interest and activities - from heritage and culture to food and drink, to folklore and music! Belmullet is the capital of the Gaeltacht (Irish-speaking) region of Erris, an area that offers unspoilt beauty and glorious beaches and is the ideal place for that get away from it all holiday. Car hire is available at Ireland West Knock International Airport . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Talbot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing