We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Weekend”
Review of Talbot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Talbot Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Belmullet
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Westport, Ireland
1 review
“Perfect Weekend”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Myself and a large group of ladies stayed last weekend at the Talbot for my sisters Hen weekend. The staff at the Hotel could not have been more helpful or polite. Everybody was very impressed with the room decor and the standard of the food at dinner and the way in which they were treated by the staff. Breakfast the next morning was equally fabulous and even though we all left getting breakfast until the last minute, we never felt like we were being hurried to finish.We all felt we got very good value for money.The rooms were very clean and very well kitted out. The nespresso machines are a nice touch in the rooms. The layout of the Hotel can sometimes be confusing but it means you get to see much more of it and appreciate how nice it is everywhere! A big shout out to Pat the barman/porter DJ and jack of all trades who came to our rescue when our laptop would not work with the projector. He was good enough to lend us his own and provided us with a music playlist and everything. He saved the day for us all!! A great Hotel and a real asset to Belmullet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrlaK552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    55
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
61
124
8
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My family come from Belmullet, and for most of my life I have had the benefit of staying at our family farm near Inver. Last year unfortunalty that was not possible, so I had to look for a hotel. We stayed in the Talbot, and I can say nothing more than anyone else. The location is wonderful, the town is fantastic, the people running the hotel is great. I understand that it is priviatly owned, and the female party in the relationship does all of the decor and rooms herself. This is the trick for sure, it is magnificent.

I have seen Belmullet change over the past 40 years from a little backwater to an important hub for local industry and the local ommunity, I think if you had asked my old mum if she would expect Belmullet to have a Chinese restaurant in the 60's and 70's she would have been surprised!

Well done.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoroughBoy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratoath, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent two nights here and were happy with the stay overall. The room was nicely furnished, and quiet, with WiFi to keep our son happy. Breakfast was good, and very filling. The only let down was the bar-food. While there was a good choice, some of the items listed as "home made" were not. Portion sizes of a side of chips were very small. I had a garlic mushroom starter which included melted chedar and pesto - unusual. Since there is no hotel car-park, we had to park on the street, and hope to avoid tickets.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 may be noisey if there is a crowd in the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryO234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed here recently on a work trip and really enjoyed myself! Its hard to believe a hotel like this exists in someone as remote as Belmullet. But then Belmullet is a beautiful spot and deserves a beautiful hotel. Its the little things that make the difference - the nespresso machines, the ipod docks and the PROPER HAIRDRYERS! Oh the breakfast is pretty incredible too. I cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We were a group of 6 who had booked 2 rooms in the hotel and a town house for everyone else.
The hotel was incredible. Comfortable, spotless, funky, spacious - really exceptional. I have stayed in many hotels for business and pleasure but this will stand out for most.
The receptionist (Sammi??) was a pleasure to deal with.

The town house was a little disappointing but nothing that can't be fixed quickly. Paint needed touching up, carpets could have been cleaner and there was a problem with hot water.

The staff/manager was responsive to the feedback and any issues were quickly addressed.

Great value for money in the town house despite the minor issues!

The biggest down side, in my view, is the (limited) on-street parking but we all got parking close by.

A really beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Triona O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

What a Hotel, I have worked and stayed all over Ireland and find it hard to find a Hotel that will beat this one, after staying there a couple of times on business I returned there with my Wife and family and yet again i wast disappointed, Karen on reception was most helpful and couldn't do enough for us as was the lady serving breakfast, the food is second to none and you wouldn't leave there hungry, I will defiantly return again Thanks again for everything !!!!

Nick M

Room Tip: Get one of the suites for that something special
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I fancied a night away somewhere different for Easter Saturday and booked this hotel purely on the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. On arrival I was a little nervous to see that the hotel appeared quite smile but on entering all apprehension left, the decoration, luxury and style of this hotel is admittedly the nicest I've ever seen and what tops it off is the attention to detail given to everything.
My boyfriend and I had taken our bikes with us and decided to go for a cycle before checking in, the lady on reception was so helpful giving us a map of the different cycling routes and explaining which would be best. After a very enjoyable cycle we returned and after check in we were shown to our room, which had a beautiful four poster bed with a two foot mattress on it, an espresso machine, fluffy bathrobes and slippers, a shower for two and the deepest bath I've ever experienced and yet again the decoration and comfort was just wonderful.
We travel a lot to hotels and generally spend very little time in the hotel itself, preferring to explore the bars and restaurants in the area, this is the only time we actually didn't want to leave the hotel or even the room for that matter!!! We had lunch and cocktails in the bar and because we enjoyed it so much we booked dinner in the restaurant which was equally fabulous.
Breakfast the next day offered a great selection and even when I asked for an Omelette which wasn't on the menu I was told no problem.
Overall I highly recommend this hotel and everything about it and cant wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicola c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmullet
0.5 mi away
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Belmullet
509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Western Strands Hotel
Western Strands Hotel
#3 of 3 in Belmullet
66 reviews
23.4 mi away
Mulranny Park Hotel
Mulranny Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mulranny
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairview House B&B
Fairview House B&B
#3 of 9 in Belmullet
35 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kilcommon Lodge Hostel
Kilcommon Lodge Hostel
#2 of 3 in Belmullet
41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chez Nous
Chez Nous
#6 of 9 in Belmullet
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Hotel

Property: Talbot Hotel
Address: Barrack St, Belmullet, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Belmullet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Belmullet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Talbot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talbot Hotel Belmullet is Irelands Newest boutique hotel and the first four star hotel in Erris.The Talbot Belmullet County Mayo is a family run hotel offering luxury boutique accommodation in the centre of Belmullet town. Each of the chic, quirky 21 guestrooms has its own special charm...including an iPod dock, complimentary Wi-Fi. Butler tray, and oh joy, an espresso machine as well as a mini bar stocked with tempting treats, oversized fluffy bath robes and towels, slippers and spa toiletries.At The Talbot, all suites have double deluge rain showers, and their own fireplaces, just enough to leave you feeling tickled pink! You can plan your trip around Belmullet taking in all sorts of places of interest and activities - from heritage and culture to food and drink, to folklore and music! Belmullet is the capital of the Gaeltacht (Irish-speaking) region of Erris, an area that offers unspoilt beauty and glorious beaches and is the ideal place for that get away from it all holiday. Car hire is available at Ireland West Knock International Airport . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Talbot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing