We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and friendly experience”
Review of Drom Caoin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belmullet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Drom Caoin
Ranked #2 of 9 Belmullet B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 31, 2009

This B&B has been probably the best we found in Ireland and the warmth of welcome that we got is what makes a perfect holiday in a windy and land's end place such Belmullet. You really feel at home in there. We also had lunch and spend some time in the house. Exceptional the collection of muesli and jams at breakfast. The owner family: high cultural level and interesting info and tales. Memorable. Lovely place to recommned.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asterix74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 135 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2009

With B&B's it is often the people whose spirit inhabits the house that you share that make it so memorable.

So it is with Drom Caoin.

We came to Belmullet for a game of links golf in wild and windy Belmullet.
We got that and we learnt more of what the area offers and a little of Irish language education as well.

Máirín went to great effort to meet and exceed our needs well before we had arrived and throughout our stay.

The quality of her breakfast was without peer during our holiday and we had a high standard throughout.

Our family (mum, dad, master 10 and miss 7) had a fantastic 3 week tour of the UK and Ireland through June and July. Our feet barely touched the ground at times and we were blessed with great weather for 90% of the trip.

Belmullet was wet and windy during our stay but very wild and beautiful too.

Our trip was planned early in the year from Australia with a lot of faith put in TripAdvisor reviews. Weekends were spent staying with friends and mid-weeks in B&B style accommodation.

Our experience is that Tripadvisor helped us greatly with no disappointments (out of 6 B&B's) and very accurate pictures painted of each location.

Our kids are extroverted and really enjoyed meeting the proprietors at each B&B and any kids or pets they could find along the way.

We were packed into a single room as the B&B was full but the positives of the stay far outweigh this and we still consider the stay excellent value.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrisVega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

Drom Caoin is my "home away from home" while I'm visiting Belmullet, Ireland. I've stayed there for every visit since I discovered it many years ago. The hosts and staff go above and beyond to insure a pleasant and comfortable experience without becoming intrusive.
The travel industry people and those wishing to enter it would profit by a stay at Drom Caoin.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeamusOmaoflhbhail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

If you go to Belmullet - which you should - you must stay at Drom Caoin. Very fine rooms and a lovely guest lounge. The lady of the house cooks an excellent breakfast. At the longtable in the breakfast room she even managed to bring the guests together in a descreet and stll active way. The whole atmosphere was warm, very friendly and cosy - you almost felt at home. Our stay was simply top class.

John Ambech & friends

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FanCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

We stayed at Drom Caoin for two days. It had nice clean rooms a great view and very helpful/friendlyhosts. The breakfasts were first rate and we really liked the fine coffee. Drom Caoin is within close walking distance of the center of Belmullet and is an easy drive to Carne and site seeing attractions. We will have fond memories of our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0eMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Spent two evenings here in September, 2005. I was there to enjoy my golf at the Galf Chursa Chairn. When I came back from the course, which I played in a torrential downpour, I discovered my wife was suffering from flu like symptom's and was nursing one of Mairin's " Hot Toddies", comprised of seaweed and hot milk. Needless to say, it cured her, and we went to the market to pick up some seaweed to take with us for our continuing trip in Ireland. My wife will never forget the hospitality she received from Mairin .

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimpastrafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

A wonderful B&B, close to Carne Golf Course. I traveled with two other golfers and we all agreed that this would be our first choice when we return to Belmullet.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Williamd03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belmullet hotels
0.3 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Belmullet
378 reviews
11.2 mi away
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Belmullet
520 reviews
0.5 mi away
Western Strands Hotel
Western Strands Hotel
#3 of 3 in Belmullet
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Leim Siar Bed and Breakfast
39.1 mi away
Bru Chlann Lir
Bru Chlann Lir
#3 of 9 in Belmullet
39 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairview House B&B
Fairview House B&B
#4 of 9 in Belmullet
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drom Caoin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drom Caoin

Address: Drom Caoin Church Road, Belmullet, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Belmullet
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Belmullet
Price Range: $75 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Bed and Breakfast, ideally located; within 5 minutes drive of Carne Golf Links (Special Golf Stay’n Play packages), walking distance from Belmullet town centre and within easy reach of the best windsurfing; beach, hill and cliff walking, angling, bird watching and amazing storm watching.Specialist dietary requirements – Coeliacs, non-dairy, vegetarian catered for. Famous for our breakfasts and speciality coffees. Free wi-fi and pc for guest use. Maps provided of our spectacular places. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing