We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drom Caoin is a wunderfull B&B!”
Review of Drom Caoin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Belmullet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Drom Caoin
Ranked #2 of 9 Belmullet B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Drom Coin is a wunderfull B&B!
The Hosts are very friendly and warm.
Máiríns breakfest is delicious, she is a great cook!
Her Cappucino is the best all over Ireland....
I would heartily recommend staying here!
Thanks for all (especialy for the temporary filling set....)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madita66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 135 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2011

My brother and I travelled to Belmullet to do some family history research, we stayed at the Drom Caoin for 3 nights and it was wonderful. Mairin & Gerry are the perfect hosts and the breakfasts are second to none. Mairin was very helpful with our research and knows all the history of the area and people which was very useful. Belmullet and the mullet peninsula is very scenic and we visited some really nice spots. We will probably return to Belmullet in the future and if we do we will Definitely stay at Drom Caoin

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

My last stay in July 2011 was terrific as always. Comfortable room and wonderful company. Always a wonderful breakfast. Now our innkeeper, Mairin Maguire-Murphy is a spirits expert (the dirnking kind). One evening after dinner Mairin led us through a tasting of six Irish and scotch whiskeys. Be sure to ask!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrishGolfer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

I travelled with family to Belmullet to attend a family wedding in Cornboy and later in the day the evening reception was held at the Broadhaven Bay Hotel. We stayed 2 nights at the Drom Caoin B&B, we booked 2 double rooms and 1 single room. All our rooms were comfortable and clean and had ensuite bathrooms (a bit basic - I prefer staying at hotels, but the Broadhaven was a bit too expensive ;-). The owners were helpful, letting us use their ironing facilities, borrowing hairdryers, etc. The location of the Drom Caoin is stunning, Belmullet is a beautiful area. Compared to the 2nd B&B we stayed in on the 3rd night, this was a good choice!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yonkers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Hosts Mairin and Gerry are some of the nicest people we met in Ireland. They helped us out with a very challenging flat tire experience, on a Sunday no less! And we have to also mention Martin Mills of Inver Motors, who Gerry called for us. He did all the work in his Sunday best without getting a speck of dirt on any of it! The accommodations are cozy, the beds are so comfortable and covered with beautiful linens, the breakfast included the best eggs of our trip, and that is saying something. I'd love to have these people as friends!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patlangan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed in a large upstairs apartment with a kitchen, dining table, and washing machine. The weather was bad, so the apartment was perfect for our stay in and relax time in our otherwise hectic vacation. The apt. was immaculate, and I've never seen such a well stocked hotel kitchen before! The beds were the most comfortable of our whole trip. Our hosts were extraordinarily hospitable. Breakfast was cooked to order each morning - and so delicious!! What a cook! She even offered us breakfast "extras" - traditional Irish foods for us to try. When my son loved the potato boxty, she made it again for him the next day. This is Irish hospitality at its best. Would definitely stay again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MSM75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

we arrived at drom caoin after a long day of travel and marin greeted us at the door with tea and biscuits, a warm smile and a very comfortable room. there was nothing she couldn't do for us it seemed - from arranging golf for my husband to steering us to great restaurants and sights in the area. her b & b is in a great location and her breakfasts are to die for. you will not be disappointed if you choose to stay a few nights at her b & b.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raeckeronsunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belmullet hotels
0.3 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Belmullet
380 reviews
11.2 mi away
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Belmullet
520 reviews
9.8 mi away
Leim Siar Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.1 mi away
Bru Chlann Lir
Bru Chlann Lir
#3 of 9 in Belmullet
39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chez Nous
Chez Nous
#6 of 9 in Belmullet
19 reviews
0.5 mi away
Western Strands Hotel
Western Strands Hotel
#3 of 3 in Belmullet
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drom Caoin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drom Caoin

Address: Drom Caoin Church Road, Belmullet, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Belmullet
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Belmullet
Price Range: $75 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Bed and Breakfast, ideally located; within 5 minutes drive of Carne Golf Links (Special Golf Stay’n Play packages), walking distance from Belmullet town centre and within easy reach of the best windsurfing; beach, hill and cliff walking, angling, bird watching and amazing storm watching.Specialist dietary requirements – Coeliacs, non-dairy, vegetarian catered for. Famous for our breakfasts and speciality coffees. Free wi-fi and pc for guest use. Maps provided of our spectacular places. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing