We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staff and food wonderfull, room far too small”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Western Strands Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Belmullet
Reviewed October 7, 2010

we had great service, the best staff in the world, good music, room too small.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teddington15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for Western Strands Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 70 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2010

Stayed here for one night which was a Thursday night. We needed a place to stay at short notice. We contacted the Broadhaven Bay Hotel and they quoted us €110 and would not budge under €100. We contacted Western Strands and they quoted us €59 bed and breakfast. We stayed in room 10 which was spacious and clean. Bathroom had a bath and a shower. Breakfast was a full irish which to be honest was the best fry up I ever got in a hotel. I would not hesitate to stay here if I was in the area again.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Pandiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2010

Stayed in hotel for a football tournament being held in the area. We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel was extremely busy but we were taken care off very well. The food was fantastic and the staff were very friendly. The entertainment on both nights was very good with Eamonn and Paddy. Both of these musicians are great entertainers and it very nice to see the crowd join in. We noted that most of the rooms have been completely renovated to a very high standard and I understand from speaking with the manager that the remaining rooms will be renovated in the near future. We are looking forward to our next trip to Belmullet and the Western Strands.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy7Cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Not too many places to stay in Belmullet! So we make the best of it.......
My single room was small, which was okay since I was not in the room much - my only comment is that there was no chair in the room, had to sit on the bed. Everything very clean, with a nice tea service in the room.
Wonderful breakfast! Great wait staff. I loved the nod to tradition in the restaurant - with the film of a peat fire on a flat-screen TV on the wall!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trintraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

Arrived in the Western Strand and could not believe what was presented to us as a "hotel" we could not find a hotel, business was carried out of a store room, we would not accept the first room offered as it was so small it would be difficult to swing a cat, we reluctently accepted another room as the town was fully booked so it was a bed or sleep in the car. The decoration is awful it is so poor it is hard to describe, the bathroom is below average and simple things like an iron, phone etc was not included. The walls and doors where paper thin and my wife had to ask our drunk neighbours to be quiet at 6am. All in all a terrible expierence on the up side the staff are nice people but what a hotel in this day and age surely the authorities must have to vet and check out these establishments

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cranaman75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

This hotel is right in the centre of Belmullet town, close to the sea but not right beside it. Lovely sandy beaches within a few miles. The breakfast served in this hotel is traditional with a large choice of main cooked options. Could put out yoghourt, fresh fruit etc... for those whose appetite is not so large but in my opinion the breakfasts I got cannot be beaten anywhere.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Atlantic8866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2010

A few friends and I travelled to The Western Strands Hotel for our friends birthday party. We had 2 great days staying in Belmullet. The party was brilliant with great music by Paddy. We had dinner the following evening in the new dining room. it is a beautiful room and the meal was very tasty with very attentive waitresses. The recently renovated bedrooms are a little small but very confortable and very clean. We enjoyed the weekend. First time in Belmullet but we will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martina008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmullet
0.6 mi away
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Belmullet
517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Belmullet
374 reviews
23.5 mi away
Mulranny Park Hotel
Mulranny Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mulranny
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Leim Siar Bed and Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Fairview House B&B
Fairview House B&B
#4 of 9 in Belmullet
36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chez Nous
Chez Nous
#6 of 9 in Belmullet
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Strands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Strands Hotel

Address: Main Street, Belmullet, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Belmullet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Belmullet
Price Range: $104 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Western Strands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Strands Belmullet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing