We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great chilled out weekend getaway location with amazing views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kilcommon Lodge Hostel
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Visited Kilcommon Lodge for a 30th Birthday weekend away. Our whole group took over the family run hostel for the weekend. Very good value .Its a good drive up from Dublin but its worth it. Great place to try surfing for the 1st time. Beachs are nice and clean. Lots of things to do locally. Horseriding on the beach. surfing, kite surfing, deep sea fishing etc. Would recommend a visit. Hope to be able to get back myself soon !

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caz03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 49 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2010

Hi

From the start Ciaran the owner was extremly helpful with planning for the 3 nights we stayed. the hostel was block booked for 2 of the 3 nights. we had a group of 19 staying with 26 for dinner one of the nights.

The location is fabulous - sea views, 2 pubs close by, horse riding, sea fishing from land or boat, surfing run through the hostel, clay pigeon shooting and wind surfing!
To name but a view.

We used the hostel for the whole weekend, by that i mean we used the new barbecue purpose built for a big party, the pool room, the living area with turf fire and kitchen with every convenience you'd need to prepare a dinner for 26 people. chopping boards, all types of knives,bowls plates the lot!

It met our expectations and more, the family who run it were extremly nice and the food for breakfast was a highlight of each day! organic eggs and great quality ingredients all round.

IF i was going again we'd have the hostel feed us as they have line caught fresh fish there and it is fantastic.

we'll be going back both as a couple and a small group of 6 to 8, as it offers so much!

AH

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

the lodge is located in a beautiful part of North Mayo.
As a family we loved the area, my youngest daughter loved to roam the gardens. The hostel is a family run business we found it very welcoming, the service was brilliant and they gave us lots of information activities in the area.
Betty's cooking is brilliant espically in the morning and her soup is to die for. The accomdination was good, we stayed in a drom with another family which turned out to be great craic. It also provides family rooms my advice is to book early.
we will be returning to this hostel as we have alot more exploring to do.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jenni-rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2010

This lovely hostel is nestled into a valley between the mountains and the sea close to the small village of Poll a tSomais. Its friendly Irish/German owners live in the main cottage and the guest accommodation is in an extended wing of the house. Comfortable hostel type accommodation of several types - double room, dorm room etc... Lovely dining room full of interesting books to read and an open fire. Clean kitchen facilities and a nice unusual garden to explore and relax in, and home cooked food is available if you don't feel like cooking for yourself. Wonderful location in a little known part of North Mayo.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atlantic8866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laure B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Eviter la chambre à côté des sanitaires ! Nous étions heureusement seuls, mais ça aurait pu être gén...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laure B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lauriane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belmullet hotels
12.3 mi away
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Belmullet
522 reviews
0.9 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Belmullet
383 reviews
0.8 mi away
Western Strands Hotel
Western Strands Hotel
#3 of 3 in Belmullet
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.3 mi away
Bru Chlann Lir
Bru Chlann Lir
#3 of 9 in Belmullet
39 reviews
10.3 mi away
Leim Siar Bed and Breakfast
1 mi away
Chez Nous
Chez Nous
#6 of 9 in Belmullet
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilcommon Lodge Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilcommon Lodge Hostel

Address: Pollatomish, Belmullet, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Belmullet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Belmullet
Price Range: $40 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilcommon Lodge is a Holiday Hostel in Pullathomas beside the sea. The hostel is sorrounded by mature gardens,old trees and overlooks sruwaddacon bay. Belmullet town is only 20 minutes drive away. We have private rooms and dormitories available and for those who self cater there is a fully equipped self-catering kitchen. We also provide breakfast and evening meals on request. Hostel features include a car park, laundry facilities, power showers, open peat fire and WIFI connection. We offer block booking for clubs, workshops and groups at special discount rates.Local attractions include the Ceide Fields, Downpatrick head, Benwee head cliffs and loop walk, InisKea islands and numerous sandy beaches ideal for watersports.Kilcommon Lodge is an ideal place to explore this pristine unspoilt part of Ireland or to just relax by the fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Kilcommon Lodge Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing