We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Super home in a perfect location = Wonderful...”
other travelers have booked this property
Island View House, the top rated house in Erris!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Island View House, the top rated house in Erris!
Sunset from front doorstep Always a warm, local welcome
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Island View House, the top rated house in Erris!
Sunset from front doorstep
Always a warm, local welcome
luxurious, spacious kitchen and dining space
Peaceful double Bedroom
Family Kitchen leading into glorious sun room
Luxury kitchen
fabulous kitchen and welcome pack
elegant yet cosy lounge with wood burning stove
Chapel style conservatory windows for maximum view
welcoming double room
Double room with luxury bathroom beyond
Indulgent
En-suite bathroom/shower room
Main bathroom (complete with double ended bath)
A warm welcome in the West
spacious, Individually designed house
Serene yet fully equipped
Spacious family space with amazing views
Modern, comfortable, peaceful, perfect
Views of Achill from the front door
Unique, beautiful location
Shraigh beach is the best!
Claggen Island
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Belmullet, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Surge03
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Super home in a perfect location = Wonderful holiday!”
Reviewed July 24, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Just returned from a super week in beautiful Co Mayo...what's not to love?? Paul is a great host, communication was excellent before we had even arrived and Mary couldn't have been more welcoming when we arrived at the home after a 5 hour drive from Co Antrim! Paul's home was perfect for us, two families with four adults and two kids and our dog. Welcoming and homely with plenty of room and everything we needed to hand. The location is stunning, 15 minute walk (or literally three minute drive) to two amazing beaches. We loved our evening walks to the beach which cleared the mind and left us totally relaxed by day 2! Great walks, the Erris Loop Walk and the Cross Loop Walk were two of our favourites - it really did feel like a world away from the normal busy life! Equally Bemullet is only a 15 minute drive away with pubs, shops and places to eat. Would recommend Paul's home 100%, we look forward to returning!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 26, 2018
wow, amazing review Donna, thanks so much and so pleased you all had a great time.

All the best and we look forward to welcoming you all again!

Thanks
Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 8, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2018
Hi John,

Thank you for such lovely words, we're delighted to hear you had such a great time!

I know we're biased but when the sun shines,there is no place like it! And when it doesn't, it's still great..

have a safe journey home, and we hope to welcome you to Erris again in the future.
Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Peter B
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Peaceful Break in Ireland”
Reviewed June 19, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We had a great time at Island View House. It’s a fantastic place to get some peace and quiet in a beautiful surrounding.

The house was clean and tidy and plenty big enough for large groups. We were a family of three so had lots of room to spread out.

The surrounding area was stunning. A short walk down to the beach which was great for a little paddle in the sea or flying a kite on the sand. Belmullet is only a 10 minute drive and it has cafes, pubs and shops.

The owner and his family were really helpful and friendly. We would certainly recommend it for others looking for a break in Ireland.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 20, 2018
Many thanks Pete, delighted to hear you had a great time! Thank you for choosing Island View House, look forward to welcoming you again, all the best, Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate L
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation, wonderful location”
Reviewed July 30, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Island View House and would highly recommend it. Firstly, I have to note that communication with the owner was fantastic, and Paul and his family were brilliant to deal with.

Secondly, the house was family-friendly, spacious and well-equipped. The sun-room was a particular favourite, with the views over the sea altering as the weather changed (which it did, regularly!). We ate our meals in there, did some embroidery, read books, did some work, drank wine and just generally chilled out. It was a favourite spot of mine in particular, and I will miss the big-sky views.
The living room (with a log burning fire) was a fantastic location for the kids (and meant that if we were in the sun-room, we had plenty of peace and quiet!). It's a cozy space and the fire was lovely. The bedrooms were large and comfy, with enough storage space for two weeks of clothes. The three bathrooms were greatly appreciated - showers were excellent and the freestanding bath was used quite a bit!
The kitchen was fantastic - the welcome pack was appreciated, and the space was a joy to cook in. The dishwasher, washing machine and tumble dryer (latter two in the utility room) meant that life was a little bit easier. So, all-in-all, we couldn't have wanted anything more from the property.

Thirdly, the location. Wow. We were spoilt for a choice of things to do. Situated close to the Wild Atlantic Way, the house isn't far from Ballycroy Park (we did star gazing at 1am as it's a recognised Dark Sky Park), the Tir Sáile sculpture trail, the Erris Head Loop walk (magnificent), the Ceide Fields (the guided tour was fantastic, otherwise you're just looking at a series of small walls which have no significance), Belmullet (possibly the friendliest town I've ever been in), and you're not far from Ballina or Achill Island. We also walked the Rathlacken Court Tomb trail (without children) which was lovely.
On top of all this, you've two fantastic beaches about a three minute drive from the house towards Claggan Island. When we felt like exploring we headed down towards Black Sod Lighthouse and discovered loads of beaches on the way which were amazing.

Fourthly, (I promise, I will stop soon), when you're self-catering it's important that there are shops nearby. Well, we were in luck. Between the house and Belmullet there's a tardis Gala garage - looks teeny, but has loads of stuff in it. We visited daily to buy wheaten bread (delicious) and essentials. Belmullet has a Centra, Gala and Eurospar which stocked anything you'd need. The town has chemists, hardware shops, hairdressers, a book shop and a vets. There are a number of take-aways which did good food and were really enjoyed our meals at the Talbot hotel / bar / restaurant. The town has fairly much anything anyone could need.

For the wet and windy days, there's the Gateway Leisure complex - it has bowling and kids' play areas. We didn't go, but we were told it was a grand way to spend some time.

So, to sum up, Island View House is fab, and we were sad to leave.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2018
Wow Kate what a review, thank you and look forward to welcoming you again!

Very Best wishes
Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2016
Hi Katie,

That'd fantastic to hear, thank you and look forward to welcoming you to Erris again,
Many thanks
Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enniskillen
Reviewed July 24, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: You have everything you need for a perfect family holiday.
Liked least: Having to leave at the end of the week.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2016
HI Malachy, thanks so much for the great review and for choosing Island View House, we really appreciate it. Look forward to welcoming you again in future, all the best, Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
kathharri...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, peaceful location, child friendly house and very welcoming owners”
Reviewed June 13, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I enjoyed a fantastic long weekend at Island View House. All our needs were taken care of by the owners and no request was too small. The house is child friendly with toys, high chair, cot and equipment for the beach. We were lucky to get beautiful weather which made our stay even better!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2016
Hi Kathleen

Wow that's so great to hear, thank you!

Glad to hear your holiday in Erris was so good, hope to welcome you again soon,

Slan abhaile

Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing