We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic House - Fantastic location”
other travelers have booked this property
Island View House, the top rated house in Erris!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Island View House, the top rated house in Erris!
Sunset from front doorstep Always a warm, local welcome
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Island View House, the top rated house in Erris!
Sunset from front doorstep
Always a warm, local welcome
luxurious, spacious kitchen and dining space
Peaceful double Bedroom
Family Kitchen leading into glorious sun room
Luxury kitchen
fabulous kitchen and welcome pack
elegant yet cosy lounge with wood burning stove
Chapel style conservatory windows for maximum view
welcoming double room
Double room with luxury bathroom beyond
Indulgent
En-suite bathroom/shower room
Main bathroom (complete with double ended bath)
A warm welcome in the West
spacious, Individually designed house
Serene yet fully equipped
Spacious family space with amazing views
Modern, comfortable, peaceful, perfect
Views of Achill from the front door
Unique, beautiful location
Shraigh beach is the best!
Claggen Island
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Belmullet, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Christine...
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Fantastic House - Fantastic location”
Reviewed September 14, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Best holiday in years - beach superb and house would be difficult to match - all the comforts of home and lots of room for family to spread out and have space - views amazing and Richie and Mary couldn't have been nicer - my two springers chased every rabbit in the county and are still recovering - beautiful sunsets and belmullet has some great restaurants - equal to anything in a big city - the talbot, fun bobby's and the gateway leisure centre all fantastic - and for lunch the cairns golf club can't be matched - loved every minute and if they will have us back intend to book again really soon

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2014
HI Christine, thanks so much for the lovely review, we really appreciate it and so glad you and the dogs had such a good time!
Look forward to welcoming you again in the future,

thanks
Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike R
Harrow, United Kingdom
1 review
“This was our second family stay at Island View, it won't be our last!”
Reviewed September 2, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This is the second time in three years we've stayed in Paul & Caroline's Island View property and I must say from the moment we booked they were easy to deal with & having stayed here before, we were content to know that we would be staying in this lovely house during the busy summer festival season.

It comfortably accommodated the six of us (our four children aged 10, 8, 6 & 4) and did not feel cramped when my sister, husband & baby arrived for long weekend. The house is children friendly with cot & a high chair on request and books & games / dvd's readily available.

The house is situated in Shraigh Hill with wonderful views of Claggan island. In good weather, its very hard to beat (I'm bias, my family are from close by). We had the kids on the beach (10min walk) every day, they loved it. (Wetsuits are a good idea as it can get breezy)

I would just point out, like any holiday in rural Ireland, you will need a car to travel to the local village / towns and to truly explore the unspoilt region of Erris.

Thanks to Paul's mother & father, Mary & Richie, who met us on arrival & looked in on us from time to time to see we were all ok.
I would highly recommend a stay in this lovely house, and we will be back again I'm sure!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 6, 2014
Mike, thanks so much for the great review, we really appreciate it.
Look forward to welcoming you all again in the future!

Thanks
Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 22, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: every thing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2014
David and all the Reilly family, thanks so much for the lovely review, we really appreciate it, looking forward to welcoming you all back again next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 16, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2014
Dear Peter, thank you so much for the lovely review and for choosing Island View House, we really appreciate it!
I will send on your best wishes to all and hope to welcome you again in the future,

many thanks
Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AnneMarie...
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place - highly recommended”
Reviewed July 9, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here with young children (5 adults and 3 children) last week and we had a fantastic time. The house is on Shraigh Hill overlooking the beautiful beach and countryside. The house was perfect for our needs, bright, modern, very spacious and comfortable. The sun room is lovely, a great place to lounge in and take in the views at anytime of day but I especially loved it in the evening time chilling out with a few drinks. There was a great selection of books for all ages and toys for the children which was to was great to keep them occupied. There is a lovely walk to the beach and it only took 10/15 minutes with dawdling toddlers! The beach was great even on the not so sunny days! The drive to Belmullet only takes about ten minutes and there are some lovely pubs and restaurants there aswell as shops/supermarkets etc. to keep you stocked up. There is plenty to do and see in the area too for adults and children alike. All in alll we had a great time and I would have no hesitation in recommending Island View House to my family and friends.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 22, 2014
HI Ann Marie

thanks so much for your lovely review, and for choosing Island View, we really appreciate it! Hope all is well with you and yours and look forward to welcoming you again in the future, Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APK1977
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic property”
Reviewed May 22, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic property very spacious with spectacular views. The house was above and beyond what was expected and easily housed a large group of 10 people. We especially enjoyed having a relaxing drink in the sun room which overlooked claggan island and beach whilst watching the sun set. The welcome back of basic essentials was a lovely touch and the owner Paul were fantastic with the contact prior to the visit to make sure we could locate the house and his parents were lovely welcoming us and showing us around the house . We had fantastic weather over the Easter period and our party took advantage of the beach which is within walking distance from the house . I would highly recommend a visit to this property it's like a home away from home. If I could I would give it more than a 5* review.

Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 12, 2014
HI Angela

thanks so much for the lovely review, we really appreciate it! Delighted you had such a good time, and congratulations on your wedding!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen S
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A wonderful welcoming home from home.”
Reviewed May 14, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and members of my extended family came over to Ireland for a few days, staying at Island View. It felt welcoming the minute we stepped into the house. Warm and cosy, so much room, enough space for everyone without getting in each other's way.

The location was perfect for us, walks to the beach each day, making a lot of animal friends (particularly the friendly local pet dogs) on the way. And a base for us when visiting and site seeing.

I would return in a heartbeat, wild, wonderful Ireland.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 16, 2014
Hi Maureen, thank you so much for your kind words, what a great review! We're so pleased your party had a fantastic time, and really hope we can welcome you to the wild and wonderful west again in the future,

thanks
Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing