We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Leim Siar Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 9 Belmullet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We have just returned from a fantastic stay with Hannah in Leim Siar. She went out of her way to help us settle in. Very welcome cups of tea any time of day! We had a very excited 7 year old with us when we arrived and she took him off on a tour of the B&B to help him settle in. Bags of bricks dispensed to play with and a trip to the polytunnel to pick peas during our stay too! Very rural setting, lovely if you want a quiet break.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MFAHEY9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 127 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2010

On arrival we were welcomed by Hannah owner of Liam Siar and were very pleased with our room. The family room was very spacious with a en-suite shower room and extremely clean with fresh clean linen and towels. The following morning after a very good sleep we were offered a range of cereal , fruit , yogurt , juices, bread and fresh baked scones for breakfast. Also there was a choice of having a tasty full cooked irish breakfast .
I felt really at home at this B&B and nothing was too much trouble for our hosts Hannah and Gerry. They were able to recommend local restaurants/ pubs for our evening meals and were great for all local information.We ate at the local golf course and would fully recommend it the food was superb.
The B&B is located at Black Sod Bay which is a beautiful part of county mayo very unspoilt .Our girls loved the 30 seconds walk to the local beach each morning to watch the boats and to play on the sand.
Hospitality was even extended to my husband's family when they visited us. There is plenty of parking with easy access to the property.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmabh1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Stayed in Léim Siar for a few weeks while working in the area. Friendly owners, very accommodating and beautiful setting.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

When you find somewhere worthwhile it's worth spreading the news. This guest house is well worth a visit, we picked it because of previous Trip Advisor comments. We were given a great welcome by the owner, a choice of which room suited our needs best, excellent advice on where to eat that evening and a superb breakfast the following morning. This owner is a true innkeeper and tries to anticipate the guests every need. The surronding countryside is spectacular and if your are travelling near here then stay here or if you want to get away from it all then try it. It's not often I wish that a stay was longer.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albarin0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2010

The best B&B we have ever stayed in.
The first thing we need to mention is that the people who run this B&B have to be the nicest people you will ever meet.
We stayed in Liam SIar just before the Christmas. From the minute i rang Hannah everything was sorted. Hannah and husband Jerry did everything they possibly could to make our stay one we would never forget. We got engaged that evening we arived in Blacksod and it has to be said that only for Hannah, Gerry and their friends Vincent and Dorin, who kindly showed us around the lighthouse, the evening could not have gone any better. These people made us feel so welcomed and comfortable, it made the evening all the more special. Hannah had also arranged for us to have food in what i can only say is the best kept secret of the west of Ireland. We had dinner that evening in the Ciarn restaurant in the golf club. Once again, the people who owned this restaurant were welcoming and so friendly. The food there has to be mentioned and has to be one of the finest feeds i have had in years. We will definitely be going back. After the food it was down to the local watering hole of teach John Joe, where the craic was in full swing.
The next morning we woke to the wild scenery of the west atlantic coast. After a short walk to the pier and lighthouse to clear the heads, we sat down to a lovely traditional irish breakfast. Once again, Hannah and Gerry had pulled out all the stops and had some personal momentos for us to take away with us. These people and their friends/neighbours really could not have done anymore to make our stay so special and unforgetable. We are now planning when we will get a chance to go back!! We cann't wait.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigmcmayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2010

we stayed in quite cold month, in the first days of April, but eventhough place is just beautiful - perfect for quiet weekend away.

House is new and modern, rooms are comfortable and spotless clean. Hannah is such a lovely person, nothing was too much trouble for her and she made us constantly like at home.

Breakfast was just beautiful, we even have found food for people with coeliac disease, what is impossible in 4*-5* stars hotels in European countries.

I would definitely recommend this B&B - I am sure if we will be in this part of Ireland we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarzenaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

We stayed with Hannah for the August bank-holiday weekend. Had a large family room with extremely comfortable beds! Room spotless and everything provided. Nothing was too much trouble for her and she made us feel instantly welcome and at home. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty and again Hannah was delighted to cater to all tastes. If you want old fashioned hospitality in a most beautiful part of Ireland I have no hesitation recommending Leim Siar. Thanks Hannah for a lovely stay despite the typical Irish weather!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Belmullet hotels
15.8 mi away
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Belmullet
521 reviews
10 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Belmullet
381 reviews
10 mi away
Western Strands Hotel
Western Strands Hotel
#3 of 3 in Belmullet
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Kilcommon Lodge Hostel
Kilcommon Lodge Hostel
#2 of 4 in Belmullet
48 reviews
9.9 mi away
Chez Nous
Chez Nous
#6 of 9 in Belmullet
19 reviews
39.6 mi away
Bru Chlann Lir
Bru Chlann Lir
#3 of 9 in Belmullet
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leim Siar Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leim Siar Bed and Breakfast

Address: An Fod Dubh | Blacksod | Belmullet | Beal An Mhuirthead, Belmullet, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Belmullet
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Belmullet
Price Range: $107 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leim Siar Bed and Breakfast is at the end of The Mullet Peninsula, just a stone’s throw from Blacksod Pier and the famous square Blacksod Lighthouse. We are near Carne Golf Links, Colaiste Uisce, Colaiste Riocard Bairead. There are lots of wonderful sandy beaches nearby. Deirble’s Twist, part of the North Mayo Sculpture Trail is just up the hill from us. Birdwatchers will love our Snowy Owl, Corncrakes and lots of seabirds. Dolphins are regular visitors to Blacksod Bay. Boat trips and walking tours can be arranged. Evening meals and packed lunches available when booked in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Leim Siar Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing