We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun as always” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leim Siar Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Leim Siar Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 9 Belmullet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

This was our second trip and yet again Hannah excelled
.beautiful setting and faultless service -Hannah has a kitchen that is always open with extra tit bits at all times of the day.
Spotlessly clean and perfect boxy ,

See you again next year Hannah and Gerry

Sue and John Carey

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    6
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
25
46
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

I travelled with my husband, brother & sister-in-law and our welcome was as warm as the home made scones, tea & coffee presented to us on arrival.

Hannah & Gerry have a very laid back approach which belies the obvious effort they put in to making every guest feel special.

The rooms were lovely and clean and the food was delicious...and lots of it.

The wild and rugged scenery has a charm all of its own and the fact that a Triathlon was taking place while we were there added to the excitement.

Hannah loves nothing better than swapping recipes and my sister-in-law learnt the secret of making perfect boxty (potato cake) in return for producing one of her whiskey & marmalade bread & butter puddings!

I would recommend Leim Siar to anyone and defy you to find a better B&B in the vicinity. Can't wait for my next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
553 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Hannah could not have been more helpful from me making a very last minute booking to her waving us off after our one night stay. On the day we were to arrive she phoned us to warn of serious moorland fires and advise of alternative routes to get to Belmullet. She told us there would be nowhere to buy a meal on the peninsula and suggested a hotel in Belmullet town where we could eat, which proved very good. She made us feel so welcome and had so much information to help us know what to see and do in the area. When she knew we were interested in Natural History she found relevant books for us to look at and even gave us a small booklet to keep. She took some other guests down to the pub 2 miles away and picked them up later and offered to do the same for us. Hannah was particularly helpful giving precise information about the Wild Atlantic Trail at Erris Head which we wanted to do. Gerry served a very hearty breakfast and he too was friendly and a mine of information. They are both very proud of their heritage and country and enjoy sharing their extensive knowledge with you.


I wanted to go to this area of Co Mayo because it looked so isolated and it certainly is. There is no point going to Blacksod on the Belmullet peninsula if you want to be close to amenities of any kind. If you want to get away from it all and enjoy serenity and scenery then Leim Siar at Blacksod is definitely a place not to be missed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simply-peregrinating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

A friend and I stayed at Léim Siar as part of a golf trip. Hannah was very friendly and helpful and the B&B is located beautifully on the Mullet Peninsula with nice walks outside the door. Breakfast was excellent and the room was large and comfortable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cwaggaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muelheim an der Ruhr, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Excellent, modern and very clean B&B (and a two bed-roomed apartment) in Blacksod at the end of the beautiful Mullet peninsula in Co. Mayo in Ireland.
Very helpful and welcoming hosts. Ideal place to relax and unwind.
Virgin beaches and beautiful sunsets, interesting sites, lovely walks and fresh winds.
Stay for a couple of days at the very least and don' t leave when the weather turns bad for a day. We were sorry we did - no better place to be in when the rain is lashing, too. And don' forget to ask Hannah about the scones!!
Thank you Hannah and your family for a stay which turned out to be too short.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Me S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POURCIEUX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Ce B&B est superbe, le cadre et magnifique. L’accueil est très chaleureux. Les chambres sont grandes propres et confortables. Hanna, est une personne très accueillante,ouverte à la discutions et à l’échange. Je recommande fortement ce B&B. Seul point a prévoir, il n'y a pas de resto à Blacksod, juste un take-away (sympa et bon) et bien sur le pub Una's à 50m du B&B à voir absolument.

This B*B is magnificent. The welcome is very warm. Chambers are large,appropriate and comfortable. Hanna, is a very welcoming person, open in discussed her and in the exchange. I recommend strongly this B*B. Only point has to plan, there is no restaurant to Blacksod, just a take-away (nice and good) and well on Una's pub in 50m of the B*B to see absolutely

Room Tip: -Nous avons vue 3 chambres et avons occuper la familiale.Toutes les chambres au niveau salon/cuisine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrickaubert83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Together with my husband I spent two nights in this wonderful B&B in June 2013. The owners of B&B Hannah and Gerry are a very friendly couple. They pay attention to ecology, because their house is well insulated and heated by earth pump. They also grow their own vegetable and bake a delicious home bread. The rooms are perfectly clean, spacious.
They even allowed us to cook our freshly bought lobster in their kitchen. They accept their guests as members of their family. We felt in their house as at our home.
We can recommend to everybody to stay a few nights in this lovely B&B.
Hana and Josef Niedermeier

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmullet
0.2 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Belmullet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.7 mi away
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Belmullet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Western Strands Hotel
Western Strands Hotel
#3 of 3 in Belmullet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Mulranny Park Hotel
Mulranny Park Hotel
#9 of 15 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fairview House B&B
Fairview House B&B
#4 of 9 in Belmullet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
39.6 mi away
Bru Chlann Lir
Bru Chlann Lir
#3 of 9 in Belmullet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leim Siar Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leim Siar Bed and Breakfast

Property: Leim Siar Bed and Breakfast
Address: An Fod Dubh | Blacksod | Belmullet | Beal An Mhuirthead, Belmullet, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Belmullet
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Belmullet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leim Siar Bed and Breakfast is at the end of The Mullet Peninsula, just a stone’s throw from Blacksod Pier and the famous square Blacksod Lighthouse. We are near Carne Golf Links, Colaiste Uisce, Colaiste Riocard Bairead. There are lots of wonderful sandy beaches nearby. Deirble’s Twist, part of the North Mayo Sculpture Trail is just up the hill from us. Birdwatchers will love our Snowy Owl, Corncrakes and lots of seabirds. Dolphins are regular visitors to Blacksod Bay. Boat trips and walking tours can be arranged. Evening meals and packed lunches available when booked in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Leim Siar Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing