We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great B & B in a most incredible place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Leim Siar Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 9 Belmullet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winthrop
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Great B & B in a most incredible place”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Hannah runs a spot on B & B in one of the most beautiful and remote places in Ireland. We were there to play Carne Golf links, but also took in some of the historic sites - lighthouse, monoliths and napoleonic ruins. Breakfast excellent and nice rooms.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dbarrett21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    7
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
47
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2011

I arrived late Friday night to a warm welcome of tea and scones. I was there for the Blacksod point challenge triathlon and Hanah got up at the crack of dawn to make sure all the triatheletes got breakfast and catered for everyone after the race out of the good of her heart. The place is a cerdit to her and Gerry. Her cooking is great and I'll be back next year.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

excellent accomodation in the most beuatiful part of Ireland. Breakfasts excellent and nothing was too much trouble - Well done Hannah and Gerry

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

My wife and I had to stay in Belmullet for a wedding recently and off the back of the excellent reviews on TripAdvisor we booked this place. Our wedding was at the north end of the peninsula and the B&B is at the southern end of the peninsula. But after a hard week of work and five hours of driving we decided to put an emphasis on comfort and go to the place where the reviews were good.

We were not disappointed! In fact, what our trip shows is that if you want to explore the peninsula at all, this is the place to stay. You can reach anywhere easily from the beautiful southern tip of Blacksod.

Hannah and Gerry gave us a warm welcome. The lobby was spacious, bright and homely. The room was perfect for a B&B- clean, well appointed and with a great shower. It was quiet. It wasn't stuff or cold. All the basic essentials needed to rest well were in place.

But Hannah and Gerry's friendliness is a cut above other places we've stayed in Ireland. They recommended a great restaurant, booked us a table and they were spot-on. The food was fantastic. The next morning, the wholesome breakfast was just what we needed.

We can't praise this place enough. You can trust this is a good place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpls.
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Located on the tip of black sod bay, beautiful country feeling. hanah and gerry are super hosts. nice rooms and great breakfast.all in all a fabulous b&b. plus gerry will give you driving lessons and hannah will teach you how to play jungle cheat. thanks you guys for a wonderful stay. bob and jackie.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayanfan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Tripadvisor reviewers cannot lie - 100% excellent score talks for itself. It is my favourite and best B&B in Ireland. The room was large, spotless clean, beds comfortable, but what really makes this place excellent is its owner. You arrive ad five minutes later you feel you like are best friend with your hostess that treats you like a royal couple. One hour later and you just cant stop chattig with her. And in the morning, after fabulous breakfast, you just can't leave this place and start thinking of any excuse to stay couple of hour longer ;) Well, we left eventually, with two delicious, fresh fish in the boot of our car - a present from our new friend! (the fishing competiion were just held in the neighbourhood) making plans for a soon come back!

Thank you Hannah for making it such a perfect stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maka78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We had the pleasure of discovering Leim Siar unexpectedly last week. My husband, two young sons and I experienced Hannah and Gerrys welcoming hospitality and had a wonderful stay.

We arrived at 8pm after a long journey and were greeted with fresh scones and a pot of tea. We were tired and hungry and Hannah kindly offered to feed us - and what a meal we enjoyed. Fresh locally caught crab to start, followed by the most delicious Irish stew I have ever eaten. All this accompanied by Hannah's own vegetables, two types of carrots, parsnips, new potatoes, garden peas and salad with Hannah's own greens and tomatoes. Hannah played with our children while we drank tea and after we had eaten, my husband and the other guests accompanied Hannah to the pub next door till the early hours!

Our room was large and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was good.

There is lots to do in the area, with wonderful surf beaches, organised fishing trips, nature tours and lots of walking. Our children spent the morning playing in the garden, talking to the donkey and touring the vegetable patch.

Hannah and Gerry made us feel so welcome and we will definitely be back. If you want to experience Irish hospitality at it's very best go to Leim Siar.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SMNIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belmullet
10.0 mi away
Talbot Hotel
Talbot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Belmullet
362 reviews
9.9 mi away
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
Broadhaven Bay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Belmullet
509 reviews
10.0 mi away
Western Strands Hotel
Western Strands Hotel
#3 of 3 in Belmullet
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Mulranny Park Hotel
Mulranny Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mulranny
958 reviews
9.9 mi away
Fairview House B&B
Fairview House B&B
#4 of 9 in Belmullet
35 reviews
10.3 mi away
Kilcommon Lodge Hostel
Kilcommon Lodge Hostel
#2 of 3 in Belmullet
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leim Siar Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leim Siar Bed and Breakfast

Property: Leim Siar Bed and Breakfast
Address: An Fod Dubh | Blacksod | Belmullet | Beal An Mhuirthead, Belmullet, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Belmullet
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Belmullet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leim Siar Bed and Breakfast is at the end of The Mullet Peninsula, just a stone’s throw from Blacksod Pier and the famous square Blacksod Lighthouse. We are near Carne Golf Links, Colaiste Uisce, Colaiste Riocard Bairead. There are lots of wonderful sandy beaches nearby. Deirble’s Twist, part of the North Mayo Sculpture Trail is just up the hill from us. Birdwatchers will love our Snowy Owl, Corncrakes and lots of seabirds. Dolphins are regular visitors to Blacksod Bay. Boat trips and walking tours can be arranged. Evening meals and packed lunches available when booked in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Leim Siar Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing