We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb B&B - Excellent hosts!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brownes Bed & Breakfast Dingle
Ranked #3 of 75 Dingle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Superb B&B - Excellent hosts!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This was by far our best experience while vacationing in Ireland for nearly 2 weeks. The Brownes are a lovely family and they treat you as if you are a member of theirs. John and Camilla went above and beyond the call of duty when our rental car broke down. Camilla ran interference with the rental company and John drove us to a restaurant so we could have a quiet dinner after 3 hours of being stuck on a beach with no transportation! Our room was clean and comfortable. Their dog was quite entertaining to watch while we ate a scrumptious breakfast. Because we stayed for 3 nights, we were able to try a variety of new breakfast entrees which were all delicious. The next time we are in Dingle, we hope to have the pleasure of staying with the Browne family again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Borouchoffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    17
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
85
299
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annecy, France
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Brownes Bed & Breakfast for one night (only, sadly!) in May and had the greatest experience of our whole trip in Ireland.
We hadn't made reservations because we didn't have a set schedule but Brownes B&B was on our list in case we were to stop in Dingle. And what a great stop it was!
John welcomed us warmly and set us up in a gorgeous bedroom, very comfortable and with a great view on the Dingle bay and sheep :) It really was the nicest room we've had during our stay in Ireland.
John took the time to talk with us, give us some local tips -the best one being that the famous Eoin Duignan was in town playing in a local pub. It was truly the best evening we've had in an Irish pub! Thanks again for the tip John :)
After a nice night of sleep in our comfy bed and quiet bedroom, we had an awesome breakfast -and as always, served with a big smile. The porridge was delicious (John even taught us the right was to cook it, yum!) and the fruit plate (among other things) was amazingly good!
We really had a wonderful time and would stay there again (and really hope we can go back soon!).
Highly, highly, HIGHLY recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoSo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

From the moment we walked in, we were greeted with warmth and felt as though we were visiting a friend. John and Camilla were extremely helpful in recommending self tours, restaurants and places to see. The bed was the most comfortable we slept in here in Ireland and the amenities were excellent. We have friends coming over and will strongly recommend that they come to stay here. It is also a very short walk into town. About 10 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I normally avoid B&B's but I would stay here again. It was very quiet with a comfortable bed and good sized shower with good water pressure. Must have some really good insulation between the rooms as I never heard another guest, toilet flush, shower, etc. Lovely country-like setting within walking distance to Dingle. Tasty breakfast. Excellent host round out your stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler3USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Browne's B&B is everything you could possibly want and more. My husband and I stayed at the beginning of June and can't wait to get back to Dingle. It is a lovely place to stay, delicious food, and great hospitality. We got in late due to a flight delay and John and Camilla were more than accommodating. John even called An Canteen, a restaurant in town, to make sure they would stay open for us. It ended up being the best meal we had on our entire trip in Ireland. Camilla's breakfast was absolutely delicious, starting off with Bailey's porridge. We will make sure to come back to Dingle again. When we do, we will surely stay at Browne's!

Room Tip: We had a lovely room upstairs overlooking a meadow and the harbor beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muckates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Camilla greeted us like long lost friends! She was friendly, funny and so helpful that we intuitively just took her advice and our stay was vastly enhanced.
The B&B is remarkably comfortable and immaculately tended. There were several choices for breakfast and always freshly prepared...the fresh fruit and cheese platter with a unique variety of local cheeses was very impressive.
Camilla directed us to a boat ride out of Ventry Harbor with Mic Sheen with views of the Sleeping Giant, seals, Blasket Islands and pods of dolphins racing along side the boat. The Captain was as delighted as we were. Camilla also gave us helpful suggestions for driving the Slea Head, as well as for the best restaurants.
We also enjoyed tea in the sitting room in front of the little fireplace in the evening, chatting with other guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LUchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Camilla and John were the consummate hosts serving up warm hospitality and fabulous breakfasts. Our room, looking out toward Dingle Bay was charming and comfortable They even arranged for Joe, a friend, to take us on a great tour of the Dingle Peninsula. We have such fond memories of our time in Dingle and of our great hosts (and friends) at Brownes Bed & Breakfast and would love to return for another stay someday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael and Ter... F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dingle hotels
1.2 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
1.2 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
761 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
Heaton's Guesthouse
#3 of 9 in Dingle
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Dingle Pub
The Dingle Pub
#8 of 9 in Dingle
182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Milltown House
Milltown House
#6 of 75 in Dingle
422 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Dingle Quayside
The Dingle Quayside
#9 of 75 in Dingle
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brownes Bed & Breakfast Dingle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brownes Bed & Breakfast Dingle

Property: Brownes Bed & Breakfast Dingle
Address: Ladys Cross | Milltown, Dingle KY066, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brownes Bed & Breakfast Dingle 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1km west of dingle town on the r559 on the slea head route.Peaceful bed & breakfast over looking dingle bay to the front and beautiful mount Brandon to the back.Extensive breakfast menu from local smoked salmon with scrambled eggs to selection of Irish cheeses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Brownes Bed & Breakfast Dingle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing