We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed. Excellent food, lovely staff, nice venue.”

Sheehy's Anchor Down Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 81 Restaurants in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed November 3, 2018

We were in Co. Kerry for a long weekend and was in Dingle when we decided to pop in to the nearest restaurant to have an early lunch. We went in to Sheehy’s Anchor Down, we decided to order soup and dessert only as we were in a hurry but then realised that it was a seafood restaurant so we ordered seafood and fish as well. Pumpkin soup was a perfect choice, we enjoyed the mains and desserts as well. Will definitely go back if we are in Dingle again. Highly recommend!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 607 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2018 via mobile

We visited dingle on a tour. On a previous trip someone suggested sheehy's. We went there again this time. Three of us had fresh mussels and one had fish and chips. It was late afternoon and we were the only customers. The mussels were delicious and the fish and chips we're great.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Janet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2018

This was a really nice discovery for us & we only found it on our second last night in the area, so we dined here for those last 2 nights it was so good. The fish was just superb! Everything from the oysters to the fish pie & everything in between was super fresh as it's supplied by their own shop. All was cooked to perfection, very nicely presented & served by really friendly & welcoming staff. There are other options besides fish on the menu of course, but we really love fish when it's at it's best! There are also some very tasty home made desserts on the menu. There was a steady flow of diners, some booking for later & this is not surprising at all. Prices are very reasonable - honest food for honest prices! We'd definitely come here again when in the area & highly recommend Sheehy's Anchor Down (& you can read all about the family tradition of fishing while in the restaurant)

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank C_and_H_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2018 via mobile

Arrived autot Reservation and got a table for two. Food was good. Price was OK. Service was also OK. A family run place that gives nice quality food. Intimate experience but also bright. Menu OK, limited vegetarian options. Ie, only soup as starter was vegetarian.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank KwokNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2018

We stayed in Dingle for 3 nights in late September 2018. And we ate at Anchor Down twice for dinner because it was that good! My wife loved the lemon sole and I loved the traditional fish and chips, so we ordered the same thing twice as well.

It is a nice cosy restaurant run by a hard working family that catches the fish for the restaurant in the mornings and cooks them for their guests in the evening. And it is popular. We did not reserve a table for one of our visits and had to wait some 20 minutes for a table.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank odys47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sheehy's Anchor Down Restaurant also viewed

 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 

Been to Sheehy's Anchor Down Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing