We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top of the Tops!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duinin House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Duinin House
Ranked #14 of 78 Dingle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rainbow City, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top of the Tops!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Of all the B & B's we stayed in during our stay in Ireland, the Duinin House is the best! Pat and Anne are a lovely couple who enjoy sharing their home with guests. The coffee served to us in their conservatory was unbelievable as the vista was incredible. The room was complete with beautiful linens and view. We appreciated the WiFi. Breakfast the next day was delicious. We would definitely come back here,but I know to make reservations ahead of time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan_B30792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
117
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canton,NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

There must be few places in Ireland at which one will receive a better welcome! Anne and Pat are extraordinary hosts. The visitor gets an invitation into the kitchen for tea and scones and home made breads. The breakfast room has an indescribable view of Dingle!Up the hill on one side is the Connor Pass Road. Up the hill, behind the house, are pastures and sheep fields, full of sheep. The Neligans know the history, culture, language, people, music,restaurants of Dingle, beyond compare. Mr. Neligan is a teacher, musician, scholar, golfer, gardener of renown. They commonly serenade visitors with story and song. Ask to meet their friends and the benefits of your stay continue: Monsignior Fenton, Michael Herlihy, Fergus Flaherty, Mrs. (Fado) Hennessy, David and Michelle (Long) Foran of the Stonehouse Restaurant, John Benny Moriarity and more! By all means go to Dingle. Stay with Anne and Pat. The rooms are lovely. The breakfast is better than any restaurant.Take the Slea Head Drive. Stop at the Stonehouse Restaurant. Go to St. Vincent de Paul, Balleyferriter, Kilmacheader,St. Mary's in Dingle, Gallarus Oratory, tour Slea Head Drive and go all the way around, look at youtube "Dingle and Marie Antoinette" and enjoy this experience! It begins and ends at Duinin House! You will love the Neligan family!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caseyboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hancock, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

This was one of the very best B&B's we stayed at while in Ireland. It was VERY clean, our room was lovely, and the breakfast was top notch.
The hostess and host were extremely nice -- we were greeted when we arrived, and the hostess made us some coffee and chatted with us in the sunroom for a bit. We were going into town for the night, and she even offered to drive us in! However, the weather was gorgeous (compared to the snow back home) so we walked in -- it's only about a 15 minute walk.
The Duinin House was a perfect place to stay and if you are looking for a spot in Dingle, don't pass it up!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We spent eight nights at the Duinin House in September 2012, and cannot say enough good things about our stay. Pat and Anne are wonderful people who truly enjoy welcoming guests to their home. The pleasant, well-kept house is in a beautiful, quiet setting just outside of town. The solarium/breakfast room, with its gorgeous view, is cheerful and pretty even on the cloudiest days.

Breakfasts begin within a marvelous selection of fresh berries and other fresh fruit, cereals, French-pressed coffee, and Anne's home-made brown bread. Then comes the main course. I had a chance to sample just about everything on the menu, and it's hard to say which selection I enjoyed the most -- the delicately scrambled farm-fresh eggs laced with smoked salmon, super-thin pancakes that melted in my mouth, or the smooth and luscious porridge with optional Bailey's. Breakfast was always served with a cheery good morning and a friendly chat that got our days in Dingle off to a happy start.

Our room had a lot of nice touches including freshly pressed laced-trimmed linens, lots of sumptuous pillows, a fantastic hot shower, and a view of green hillside pastures dotted with sheep. The bed was extremely comfortable, wi-fi was reliable, and we slept soundly in the wonderfully quiet house. What more could a person ask for?

Well, there is more. When you stay at Duinin House, you are experiencing the real Dingle. Pat was born in Dingle and was a history teacher in the local secondary school. He's also a musician. If you are interested, Pat will generously share his rich knowledge of and passion for local traditional music, Irish history, and just about anything you want to know about the Dingle and its culture. He will also likely regale you with a humorous story or two, if you like, and he and Anne will happily direct you to the best music and food that Dingle has to offer.

We'll always treasure our memories of Duinin House. We hope to return, but in the meantime we encourage others to give it a try -- you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NancyA71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

I want to preface this review by saying that we're NOT bed and breakfast people. We only ended up at Duinin House because we wound up in Dingle with no other options. We were wary and desperate, but this place totally wowed us! The accommodations were really nice, but our hosts Pat and Anne really set this place apart. They were friendly and beyond helpful. Not only did they give us advice about what to do that evening in Dingle, they also had information about where we were from and where we were going next! It was great! Perhaps the highlight was breakfast in the morning. All the food was great, but the main attraction for me was the porridge with Bailey's. Made us never want to leave!!! If you find yourself in Dingle, stay at Duinin House!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k4477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Beautiful home sitting overlooking the town.
Host Anne and Pat were so nice...we felt like we knew them for years.
Bedroom and bath are very clean and comfortable.
The conservatory (sunroom) was our favorite area...stunning views of Dingle from every angle.
Great breakfast cooked to order....especially the savory omelette and brown bread...yum!!!!
Pat gave us hints on the safest way to cross "Conor Pass".....if there is such a thing...an adventure in itself but terrific scenery.
When we return to Ireland a definite must!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton,NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Recently, I traveled to Ireland and visited Dingle. This was not my first time there, but it was my best.I stayed at Duinin House,Conor Pass Road.Duinin House overlooks lovely Dingle Bay. It looks up at the Conor Pass. If you are coming from Tralee, you go by it on the extraordinary Conor Pass.Upon arrival, Anne and Pat Neligan said "Let's have tea in our kitchen." We went out to dinner together and the Neligans know everyone in Dingle.The restaurant they chose was fabulous, Moriarity's, I believe.We went to several local pubs for great,traditional Irish music.Again, they knew everyone,even the musicians.The next day,we had a terrific Irish breakfast with fresh fruit galore.At 10:00 am, we met for coffee and scones, local well known people in our company, Father Fenton,Michael Herlihy, and a Tipperary singer at Michael's music store in The Colony.The Neligans are busy people and they made all kinds of quality time for a single tourist.Everything is great at Duinin House,rooms,beds,cleanliness.Most of all, the welcome and the Neligans are beyond compare!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caseyboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dingle hotels
1.1 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
0.6 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
1.4 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
Heaton's Guesthouse
#3 of 9 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 9 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Dingle Quayside
The Dingle Quayside
#10 of 78 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duinin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duinin House

Property: Duinin House
Address: Conor Pass Road, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Duinin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing