We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for a visit to Dingle”
Review of Dunlavin House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dunlavin House
Ranked #19 of 75 Dingle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect location for a visit to Dingle”
Reviewed December 10, 2009

We had a fantastic one night stay last week at Dunlavin House, just outside of the town of Dingle. The house is conveniently located just beyond the first roundabout outside of town (after the aquarium), at the start of the beautiful Slea Head drive.

The home is beautifully decorated and immaculate. Denise was very warm and made us feel very welcomed. Breakfast was in an absolutely beautiful and bright room with a great view of the bay. And Denise's coffee is amongst the best I've ever had! I wish we had more time to spend, and hope to plan a two night stay at Dunlavin house in the summer or fall of 2010. I had never stayed with Denise before, but I will definitely go out of my way to stay here again. Dingle is a beautiful town with a charming feel and wonderful energy. Dunlavin House is the right place to compliment any visit here.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rspatafora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    28
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
101
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
snowangel200
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2009

My sister and I just returned from a two-week vacation in Ireland and while the entire country is beautiful, we left our hearts in Dingle.

We extended our stay an extra day due to the beautiful scenery, the Irish folk and the fabulous "Denise of Dunlavin" and her family, including Riley, the shepherding dog on outside.

The Dunlavin House is perfect...great location...lovely walk into Dingle and quiet spot with breathtaking views. A must...not just Dingle, but Dingle at Dunlavin's!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowangel200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2009

We stayed in Dingle for two nights and this was a wonderful B&B! Denise greated us at the door with a huge smile. The room was clean and comfortable and her breakfast was awesome. The view from our room was stunning and it was a very short drive to town. We truly enjoyed our stay in Dingle. Thanks Denise!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lschippert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north and south of the river
2 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2009

By far the best b&b ive ever stayed at and ive stayed at alot. I love it so much im going back for the third time in feb. Stay there, you wont regret it! The owner is the nicest lady ive ever met!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irish-celt27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2009

My husband and I and two adult daughters stayed for the last two evening of a ten day trip in Ireland. Dingle was so gorgeous and this B+B is the perfect location. We would walk in to town and back anytime, about ten minutes. Head in the other direction and explore the coastline Beaches and Breathtaking sights by car. The Hostess Denise is so warm and relaxed. The home was built for a B+B so it feels like a hotel or guesthouse, entry is private. Rooms very comfortable and the best Bathroom/Shower we had. Breakfast was delicious and we had our first Omelet which was a nice change from the fried eggs.Sit ouside on the Patio and overlook the Harbour across the street. Very pretty views.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank clocooking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Dunlavin House for one night while visiting Dingle. The house is big, clean and spacious with nice parking facilities. The room was large and the bathroom clean. Denise greeted us at the door, but that was the last time we saw her until breakfast. The downside to this B&B is that it is not walking distance to the town. I was told it was a 10 minute walk into town, but then told 15-20 minutes along a busy, not pedestrian-friendly road. I would recommend this B&B for a clean, no-frills stay.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newlyweds919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2008

My wife, my daughter and I travelled to Ireland from Canada for the first time in late May and Dunlavin House did not disappoint while we stayed there for 2 nights in Dingle.We wanted for nothing. The accommodation was top notch, the location was excellent and the food was superb. The view from both the back of the house and the front were beautiful and the pond/garden in the front yard made for a relaxing place to rest after a long day of sightseeing. We plan to visit the Dingle peninsula again and we will definitely book at Dunlavin House.
Thank you Denise for a lovely time.

  • Liked — effortless
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gord7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dingle hotels
1.1 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
1.1 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
761 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
Heaton's Guesthouse
#3 of 9 in Dingle
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Dingle Pub
The Dingle Pub
#8 of 9 in Dingle
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Milltown House
Milltown House
#6 of 75 in Dingle
422 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Dingle Quayside
The Dingle Quayside
#9 of 75 in Dingle
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunlavin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunlavin House

Property: Dunlavin House
Address: Milltown, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Dunlavin House we offer the highest standard of accommodation and food for our guests, Overlooking Dingle Bay with a short walk from town gives us the perfect location for the discerning visitor. We offer a personal welcome to all of our guests with useful advice and assistance designed to make their stay in Dingle the highlight of their holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dunlavin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunlavin House Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing