We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views of the Irish country side”
Review of Dunlavin House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dunlavin House
Ranked #16 of 76 Dingle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Our party of 4 was welcomed by Denise who had set a much appreciated warming fire for us on a cool and damp afternoon in March. We spent two evenings here and took advise from our host on what to see and where to eat. Everything was perfect and could not have asked for anymore. The accomodations were more than expected and we had plenty to eat for breakfast. We took Denise's advice on what to see in the area and on our way to our next stop.
If you are in this area looking for a place to stay, this is the place. You won't go wrong.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommy45467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 198 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2014

My daughter and I arrived in Dingle late in the afternoon on a very rainy day in early March. We didn't realize that many B&Bs are not open until later in the month so our search was not as easy as planned. The Dunlavin House (beautiful) was open and Denise, the owner, gave us a very warm welcome. Our room with private bath was immaculate, comfortable,and well equipped. Of course wifi was a plus. Denise was very helpful with recommendations for our stay in Dingle as well as our tour of Dingle Peninsula. Her sitting room was also comfortable and well stocked with travel books of Ireland. Breakfast was excellent with too many choices to list. We loved the location. The views of the bay are gorgeous and it's a 10 minute walk to town. Dingle is very charming but a bit tight so we were glad to stay up the road from town. Denise has a nice carpark right in front of the house. We highly recommend this B&B-definitely one of the favorites of our trip.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Denise was very welcoming and her home was one of the most beautiful we stayed at while on our trip. Breakfast was outstanding and the room was very comfortable. Denise recommended that we take a drive around the peninsula, the view was breathtaking. We highly recommend staying here and hope to be able to come back ourselves.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bradley & Kathr... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I recently stayed at Dunlavin House for two nights and had a wonderful stay. Denise was super friendly and made us feel at home. She offered us great recommendations for restaurants and pubs in town and helped us route the next leg of our trip. The room was a good size and the bathroom/shower was huge compared to other B&Bs we stayed at in Ireland. We had a beautiful view of the bay from our room and the bed was very comfortable.The breakfast was excellent with several menu options. The scrambled eggs I had at Dunlavin House are seriously the best eggs I've ever had. The location was great - an easy 10 minute walk into town. We walked to the pubs every night, but took cabs home. I will certainly stay at Dunlavin House during my next visit to Dingle!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

It did not take long to feel right at home with Denise's warm welcome, tour and explanations, then leave us to our own visiting, but letting us know she is just a knock away. Very comfortable. Wifi in sitting area, great views from the front or back of the house.....even with the overcast weather we had. Quite comfortable and delicious breakfast. Nice selection of local books in sitting room and Denise was helpful in that area, also. We felt like part of her precious family. Thanks, Denise!

Room Tip: We ended up with twin beds, but still roomy and comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Dunlavin House B&B is the perfect place to stay while exploring the picturesque Dingle Peninsula and the scenic beauty of the Ring of Kerry.

You will find find spacious rooms, a real en-suite and a comfortable guest lounge. Your hostess Denise will serve a delicious full Irish braeakfast in the bright and airy conservetory.

Dingle is a great little town with a good selection ofshops, pubs and restaurants just down the road from Dunlaven House.

If you decide to visit this special corner of Ireland, you will not be disappointed!

Denise
Australia

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

From the moment we walked in Denise, the owner, made us feel at home. The house is beautiful and the service was fantastic. Denise is such a wonderful host and she genuinely cares about her guests. She suggested places to see and must do's in Dingle, including a great Irish concert at a music shop. I have already recommended Dunlavin House to a couple friends who are planning a trip to Dingle.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dingle hotels
1.1 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
0.8 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
472 reviews
0 mi away
Short Strand Dingle
Short Strand Dingle
#33 of 76 in Dingle
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Dingle Quayside
The Dingle Quayside
#8 of 76 in Dingle
389 reviews
26.5 mi away
An Bothar Pub and Guesthouse
0.9 mi away
Murphy's B & B
Murphy's B & B
#17 of 76 in Dingle
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunlavin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunlavin House

Address: Milltown, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Price Range: $119 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Dunlavin House we offer the highest standard of accommodation and food for our guests, Overlooking Dingle Bay with a short walk from town gives us the perfect location for the discerning visitor. We offer a personal welcome to all of our guests with useful advice and assistance designed to make their stay in Dingle the highlight of their holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Dunlavin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunlavin House Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing