We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunlavin House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dunlavin House
Ranked #22 of 78 Dingle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

My parents had I had a lovely 2-night stay at Dunlavin House, and Denise was very hospitable. Breakfast was delicious and there were many options. The house has a lovely view of the Dingle Harbor in front, and is very close to town (although if you are planning to go to the pubs and coming back late, plan on driving or taking a taxi back from town because there is no sidewalk and the road is unlit, so walking from town could be risky). Continuing West on the road takes you to Slea Head and the rest of the gorgeous Dingle Peninsula, so the house is well-situated for exploring!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lms248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    26
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
91
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goshen, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Nice room, delicious meal. WiFi was not available in our room, had to go downstairs to main living room to access. I would recommend this to anyone. Dingle Peninsula was beautiful, and this B&B was a great location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bblosse3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We had a great stay at Dunlavin and would recommend it again. Denise, our hostess, gave us good recommendations for dinner and local music locations.
The accommodations were very comfortable and clean. The breakfast meal was great too! Thanks Denise, for a nice stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in June 2013 and had the best time! Denise was an excellent hostess, and the home is beautiful. When I asked Denise if there were any laundromats in Dingle, she told me there weren't, but then was so kind as to do all of our wash for us while we were out for the day. I was so pleasantly surprised to come home and find all of our dirty laundry had been cleaned and folded and placed on our bed. Wow! The breakfasts were superb, the location is perfect (just outside of town), and the view is beautiful. We had a room that faced the front, overlooking the cemetery and the harbor. It was roomy, and clean. There's a hot water kettle/coffee/tea in the room. The bathroom had great water pressure, but we did have to turn it off/on a couple of times in order to get it to work correctly.

I had to think really hard to come up with any criticisms of Dunlavin House. If I had to give any at all, they would be that the wifi doesn't work in the bedrooms, so we had to go into the common rooms downstairs every night in order to skype with our kids. That wasn't a big deal, but I was concerned about disturbing any other guests. The second thing would be that it seemed that Denise may have overbooked for our first night, so we stayed in a room downstairs for the first night, but she moved all of our items upstairs for us into a beautiful room for the remaining two nights. The upstairs room was definitely better, but I don't believe she books people into the downstairs room very often... it must have been a special circumstance.

I would definitely stay here again... and plan to!

Room Tip: The upstairs room facing the harbor is roomy and has a beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilcullen, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

i was very exicted to go ack to Dingle and i knew that Dunlavin house is a perfect spot i didnt wait too long and called looking for a room and i found myself being rushed to speak on the phone to not very polite lady, rather to someone who spent lat 20 years sitting behind a desk doing exactly the same boring things day after day than a friendly, happy host i'd known Dunlavin house for...

our trip wasnt planned at all we just decided the day before that we'd go and we would be arriving quite late in the evening, i have done it once coming to that bnb and it didnt seem a problem then ( and ive been there few times) and today i asked if that would be possible and the response was rather rude and wouldnt leave me in any way to be able to find a compromise. at the end of the conversation phone was just hung up on me with not as much as 'i'm sorry' or anything polite. i was offered a phone number to a neighbor but seeing for some reason i wasnt welcome to call at all i justgave up and kept searching on my own. i hope this is just a sigle slip and dunlavin house is stil as lovely as it was, although the whole situation made me feel dissapointed.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank sugar m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Beautifully kept B&B. on arrival I just mentioned my thoughts about touring the Dingle Peninsula and within 10 minutes our hostess had the plans arranged. Wonderful views and a short walk to downtown Dingle. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nje1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Dulavin House is very convenient to town, yet nice and quiet location. Delicious breakfast. Denise was gracious and very helpful in helping us get in touch with our car rental agency to replace our car after the back window was shattered. We later found out from another guest that her husband had been mowing the lawn and a rock flew and shattered the window, so don't park in the driveway if he is mowing the lawn! People commented about the cemetery view, but is was very interesting to walk through it and the distant water view was beautiful! I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GramCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dingle hotels
1.8 mi away
Duinin House
Duinin House
#17 of 78 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbour Nights Bed and Breakfast
0.9 mi away
The Dingle Quayside
The Dingle Quayside
#11 of 78 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cill Bhreac House B&B
Cill Bhreac House B&B
#10 of 78 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lighthouse B & B
The Lighthouse B & B
#7 of 78 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Milltown House
Milltown House
#6 of 78 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunlavin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunlavin House

Property: Dunlavin House
Address: Milltown, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dunlavin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunlavin House Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing