We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B outside of downtown Dingle”
Review of Dunlavin House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dunlavin House
Ranked #16 of 76 Dingle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Stayed here in July 2012. Arrived late afternoon on a Friday, and was greeted by the male caretaker. He seemed professional but somewhat disinterested. Showed us to our room and where the breakfast room was. I had a question for him later that evening, he had a similar attitude. The layout of the place is interesting, the rooms are upstairs, with the owners area segmented by a glass door on the 1st floor. Somewhat gives a "cut-off" vibe from them; though I can appreciate their desire to have personal space in their home. Breakfast was delicious, and the woman that tended to it was very gracious & friendly.

A couple of points that can use some attention or are worth mentioning:

Roosters - there are chickens and (at least one) rooster. That meant a morning wake-up call. They're far enough away from the house that it's not terrible, but if you're a light sleeper, you'll be awoken by this.

Shower water pressure - I don't think I've seen worse shower water pressure. The sink seemed to have better pressure than the shower. I tried turning all the nobs, but nothing helped. After a long drive, I was looking forward to a hot shower, and was disappointed.

Location - The location is beautiful, but finding it can be a challenge. Like most places in Ireland, they don't have specific addresses, so it took a bit to find the place, as it's outside the downtown area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kainon079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 198 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2012

What can i say...this is the best B&B i have ever stayed in, the breakfast is outstanding and the house is spotless, we have stayed in this hotel about 5 times now!!!!!thanks denise

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shel_oconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We loved this B&B and Denise was a wonderful hostess. Our room was in the front of the house and was spacious and had a great shower. The breakfast was delicious and the extra's, like cheeses and jams were well received. The glass room where breakfast is served is cute and we enjoyed talking to the other guests. Denise suggested we dine at The Chart House and we had a wonderful dinner there. One night we walked to dinner and the pubs and used our flashlights to guide us home. It was about a fifteen minute walk and we had no problem doing it. You will not be disappointed staying here. It's a gem!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladydi2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This was our first time in Dingle and we absolutely loved it. Dunlavin House is beautifully equipped for guests. We had a room over looking the back yard of chickens and sheep. It was pastoral and perfect. The house was spotless. The breakfast Denise specifically prepared for us was a most amazing breakfast. The homemade baking and jam were exquisite taste delights. I look forward to another trip to Dunlavin House.

Room Tip: The view from the front of the house overlooks Dingle Bay which is amazing but our view to the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

This is our fifth time staying at dunlavin house and it was the best by far!Denise is an excellent host & the service.The breakfast is second to none!!!!!we had dinner one night also and it was beautiful, Ronan Denises husbandis an unbelievable chef & his food is amazing, No other B&B or hotel in Dingle can compare to this and ive been going here for twenty years & im sure ive stayed in them all. Be back to this B&B with out fail next year, AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

This is our third time staying at dunlavin house and it was just as amazing as our first!Denise is such a brilliant host and provides 5 star service.Also the best breakfast in Ireland !!!!!we had dinner one night also and it was beautiful.Her husband should have a michelen star!ive stayed in other b&b's and hotels in dingle but this is by far the best!we were really made feel at home and cannot wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chelseee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Looking at Dingle Bay from this house on top of a hill was breathtaking. It was also fun to look at the mountains out of the back of the house from our room. Very clean, lovely home. The hostess made us very welcome. Breakfast was made just for us and delicious. The grounds are beautiful. The house is spotless. It's easy to see why this B&B has a four and a half star rating.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dingle hotels
1.1 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
0.8 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
472 reviews
0 mi away
Short Strand Dingle
Short Strand Dingle
#34 of 76 in Dingle
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Dingle Quayside
The Dingle Quayside
#8 of 76 in Dingle
389 reviews
26.5 mi away
An Bothar Pub and Guesthouse
0.9 mi away
Murphy's B & B
Murphy's B & B
#18 of 76 in Dingle
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunlavin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunlavin House

Address: Milltown, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Price Range: $119 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Dunlavin House we offer the highest standard of accommodation and food for our guests, Overlooking Dingle Bay with a short walk from town gives us the perfect location for the discerning visitor. We offer a personal welcome to all of our guests with useful advice and assistance designed to make their stay in Dingle the highlight of their holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Dunlavin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunlavin House Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing