We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”
Review of Dunlavin House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dunlavin House
Ranked #16 of 75 Dingle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Beware the slanting ceiling in Room #6. My husband kept hitting his head getting out of bed. But the rest of the room was very comfortable and attractive. Large and delicious breakfasts. Denise was very welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lumpkinites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 198 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2011

On our recent trip to Ireland the Dunlavin House was one of our stops. It has a brillant view of the Dingle harbour. The rooms were spacious and clean. Denise was an exellant host and very helpful. But the best part of our stay was the breakfast. It was the best breakfast we had in Ireland. Even beating out a famous Hotel in Galway. The food was plentiful and she offered us more. Every thing was homemade and delicious.

Room Tip: The room in the upstairs in front of the house has
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wellsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

This was a very comfortable B&B with a beautiful view of the water from the guest lounge, and a lovely scenic view of the landscape out of the bedroom window (also the charming chicken coop!). Denise gave us a warm welcome and had maps available for sightseeing on the penisula. The breakfast the next morning was the best we had on our trip - fresh eggs and warm scones - delicious. I would recommend this B&B to anyone traveling to Dingle.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

We had a great time in Dingle - Denice and the Dunlavin House were a large part of it. Great service, breakfast, and hospitality. Beautiful view of Dingle harbor.

Directions on web site say follow R558 - it is R559, the road that goes through town and across the bridge. Easy to find. Great starting place for trip around the Dingle Peninsula. Also, Trip Advisor pin is not in correct location.

If you are looking for a quiet, comfortable, friendly location - Dunlavin House is it!
There is also a small pitch and put golf course almost across the street. Visit the Court Pub for a pint or two.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobReno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

Dunlavin House is a beautiful home with a nice view. The rooms are spacious and clean. My partner and I had a difference opinion about this place regarding hospitality. We both thought it was more like a hotel experience than a B&B experience. He liked that, I did not. The host was polite and courteous, but did not chat it up with us. Breakfast was fair. In our room there were two twins pushed together for our double and we each ended up sleeping on a twin (the gap in the middle made cuddling difficult).

Another reviewer wrote about the bridge. Fine to cross by day, but if going into town at night, perhaps driving is a better option.

We listened to some good music at the Courthouse. We did not have any dining experiences that are memorable and we stayed in Dingle two nights.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blugrsmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights this past week. Denise, our host, was most excellent. We got to meet her new kittens and the friends we were traveling with helped her feed the chickens out back. Denise was truly a great host. She noticed we were having a little Irish whiskey in the guest lounge one evening and brought in some ice. The breakfast was awesome, inlcuding fresh scones one morning and we chatted a lot with Denise. The rooms were larger than normal and very nice, with a very good shower. While the B & B is a little out of town, the view from our window of the Dingle Harbor was fabulous. It's a great location to start your tour of the Dingle Penisula. I strongly recommend.
Don E., Oshkosh, WI

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnieOshkosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Nice reception from family. Good rooms and SCONES (freshly made) for breakfast.
Very nice, close to Dingle.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xcleeglee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dingle hotels
1.1 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
0.8 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
471 reviews
0 mi away
Short Strand Dingle
Short Strand Dingle
#32 of 75 in Dingle
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Milltown House
Milltown House
#6 of 75 in Dingle
468 reviews
26.5 mi away
An Bothar Pub and Guesthouse
0.9 mi away
The Dingle Quayside
The Dingle Quayside
#8 of 75 in Dingle
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunlavin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunlavin House

Address: Milltown, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Price Range: $116 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Dunlavin House we offer the highest standard of accommodation and food for our guests, Overlooking Dingle Bay with a short walk from town gives us the perfect location for the discerning visitor. We offer a personal welcome to all of our guests with useful advice and assistance designed to make their stay in Dingle the highlight of their holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dunlavin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunlavin House Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing