We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really a special place”
Review of Coill An Rois

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coill An Rois
Ranked #2 of 75 Dingle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This place is quintessentially Irish: the best hospitality, a gorgeous country view, a real adventure to get there - and the warmest of welcomes. We spent hours talking with Jimmy about life, family, everything. And he has done such an amazing job keeping the place up. It is really clean and comfortable - but he is what makes the place worth the drive. It really brought us to a part of Dingle that felt like we had finally escaped the tour buses. Perfect all the way around!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aprillovesireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 483 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

I must say that getting to this location was a bit tough. Mostly due in part to complete and utter darkness and long winding roads. However, being the adventurers my boyfriend and I are, we did not mind getting a smidge lost and quite frankly the whole trip in itself was an adventure. (We drove nearly the entire trip). Jimmy was an amazing host and cook. We got to the B&B quite late (10pm) and he was STILL generous and welcoming. He provided hot tea and scones which were delicious. The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable, which is all we could ask for. Breakfast was wonderful- all made to order and a wide array of choices. Would definitely visit again :-)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RevelRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We first stayed here in 2006 after we drove over Connors Pass and then the fog moved in. We decided to find a B&B on the Dingle side. We drove out to Jimmy's and he greeted us so warmly that we have been back on all 4 trips to Ireland! We just stayed with him in October and had a wonderful time. His food is fantastic and he caters to your food needs (even us picky ones!) His rooms are clean and decorated with just enough. He assists with things to see in the area that are off the beaten path. It is outside of Dingle, but well worth the short drive. I would recommend looking for it in day light the first time-look for the big rose colored house! Jimmy's sitting room is inviting and we enjoyed visiting with other guests and sharing stories about what each group had done or was planning to do. The showers are the best in Ireland and even better than the one at home! If you are looking for a place that feels like home and is not fancy this is it! If you are interested in baking, he gives a quick impromptu baking class sharing his recipes and tricks. He makes it look so easy! On this trip, it was especially nice, because we got to meet his wife Noreen, what a delight! She just adds to the charm of Coill An Rois!

Until we are in Ireland again.
Heidi and Jill

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

First the only downside relates to its location. One is well served to first locate the B & B duing daylight hours. The B & B is about 10km outside of Dingle in a pastural setting. The drive is pleasant and fun. Upon arrival to Jimmy's place you are greeted immediately as a friend and this continued throughout our three day stay. He asked about any breakfast preferences, dietary concerns, and what time we wanted breakfast. He had information on the area for us to review, maps to help us get around, suggestions for dinner to name just a few. We had an impromtu cooking class. Breakfast was always delicious and nicely served. We especially enjoyed the steam showers. After a day of hiking and sightseeing the shower was always a relief. His place was not fancy but the view was great. It was as if you were visiting a favorite relative.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I have mixed feelings about Coill An Rois. First, the not-so-good: It is located well outside of Dingle town, and can be extremely difficult to find if you don't have an eagle eye for the sign. It is obvious that Jimmy's been running the place alone as the decor says a bachelor decorated it (although everything is scrupulously clean). Bed was terribly uncomfortable as no box-spring! Fortunately, he's recently married and Nora may make the place a bit more cozy.

Now the good: Coill An Rois' best asset is Jimmy and Nora. They are the most welcoming, charming people you will ever meet in Ireland. We felt like old friends as soon as we walked in the door. I had no doubt the two of them would do everything humanly possible to help us with anything we asked. JImmy is also a great cook, and takes pride in his fare.

Hated to rate less than excellent on this one, but wanted to be perfectly honest.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravBugs0321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We had a relaxing, peaceful stay out here in the country. The cattle passing our window each morning on their way to the milking barn, the chickens wandering around the yard, Jimmy in his chef's apron bringing out lovely, custom prepared breakfast...we loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kh2u100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Upon our arrival (while removing our dirty shoes) we were directly asked "tea or coffee ?" Time to get a shower after a long day walking and get down to te livingroom and there warm tea was expecting us with homemade scones and cookies !

The host was very nice
The dinner he cooked was very good and so was the breakfast
The beds were very comfortable

We also enjoyed the living room for reading or evening board games.

For the hikers on the Dingle way the location is perfect : it's right on it, before the Brandon moutain.
The only trouble is that it's hard to leave this comfortable place....even more if you have to go walking under the rain ! ;-)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Plopplop L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dingle hotels
5.6 mi away
Milltown House
Milltown House
#4 of 10 in Dingle
477 reviews
5.6 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
Heaton's Guesthouse
#3 of 10 in Dingle
1,023 reviews
6.1 mi away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 10 in Dingle
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#5 of 10 in Dingle
813 reviews
5.4 mi away
Tower View Bed and Breakfast
5.9 mi away
The Dingle Quayside
The Dingle Quayside
#7 of 75 in Dingle
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coill An Rois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coill An Rois

Address: Ballyganeen | Feohanagh, Dingle, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Price Range: $98 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of Mount Brandon amid the tranquil waters of Dingle Bay, lies this cozy hideaway. Contempary and spacious guest rooms, jacuzzi and body showers. Eclectic breakfast menu includes Irish, American and Continental fare, all fresh and home made. Baking demonstrations on request. TRIPADVISOR Certificate of Excellence 2012, 2013, 2014. TRIPADVISOR TRAVELLERS' CHOICE winner 2015 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Coill An Rois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing