We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Time/Place Apart!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blooming Wildflower Cottage
Ranked #50 of 75 Dingle B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 25, 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Wildflower for three wonderful days. This place really is very special. Although we are both Irish this was our first visit to Dingle, we found it absolutely enchanting. The apartment was clean, bright and cheerful with the most breathtaking view out over Dingle Bay. Books and videos are provided in the cosy living area and encourage the feeling of relaxation which surrounds this wonderful place. The small garden area is lovely too, with comfortable chairs and tables provided, overall a haven for the musing writer or the recovering party animal!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Lizzy-Loop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 103 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2006

We spent a week at the Blooming Wildflower Cottage. We alternately had days out replete with hiking, scampering over ring forts and taking in the gorgeous views on the peninsula and other days when we read our books and stared out at the back garden. It is close enough to the town centre to make for a brick walk home when the pubs close but far enough to be quiet even as the tour busses pass through. Tommy & Marianne are warm and friendly hosts; the cottage is charmingly decorated and very homey. A perfect place to relax and recover one's self.

2  Thank PK1623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Dallas, TX
25
Reviewed May 13, 2006

The Wildflower Cottage is a great place to stay. We spent our first night of 6 at this location. We wished that we had spent more time in Dingle...it was our favorite place in all our visits in Ireland. This bed and breakfast was right on the water with a wonderful view. It did not have the commercialization as many of the other bed and breakfasts we stayed. The owners were really interested in getting to know you and offered great advice. The breakfast was the best we had on our entire trip. The breads and fruit cups were great along with the traditional Irish Breakfast. If you are looking for a place to stay in Dingle this is the place!

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2006

I stayed in this accomodation over Easter 2006 and do not recommend it. First the positives: The views from the back of the apartment are excellent. The linen was changed during the week which is better than expected. The kitchen has a small dishwasher which makes life easier. Now the not-so-positives: The location is a good ten minute walk from the centre of Dingle - much further than most other accomodations in the town. It is also on a very busy and noisy road with no very close parking. The bathroom though private is not in the apartment and it is necessary to pass through communal areas (for other B&B guests) to access it. The impression given is that there is a private patio but this is used by other people particularly for cigarette smoking. Every time I needed heating or hot water (several times I had an unexpected cold shower) I had to phone the owner to have it switched on as there was no control in the apartment (the owners who live upstairs, seemed to put on the heating to the whole house at times that suited them, often resulting in the apartment getting too hot during the day and then switched the heating off during the evening when the apartment needed it). The TV reception was disappointing - only three channels - RTE1, RTE2 and TG4. This may well be typical for the area and I mention it only to flag up the possible need to add satellite TV to the criteria set. I had agreed with the owners to pay by credit card but was not allowed to on the day because they had not updated their systems to be compatible with new banking rules. When I complained about the inconvenience and expense of getting cash, the American female partner of the owner was extremely rude. Such was the extent of the fall-out we cut our stay at the property short.

10  Thank Walkerjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2006

I cannot say enough about the lovely time we had at the Wildflower over Christmas, 2005 (4 nights).

Marianne and Tom are excellent hosts and will take great care of you. The rooms are located steps from the center of town and provide an amazing view of the water. Each room has its own entrance to the back and its own key - it's like having your own apartment in Dingle.

We stayed in the full apartment, which offers a great kitchen, bedroom and breakfast area. Rooms are well-furnished, completely clean and very homey.

The optional bedroom plus bath is lovely (we took a peek) and would suit any couple traveling in the area.

Truly, this cozy inn is exceptional and I do not think that any independent traveler will be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LagunaGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2006

Stayed at the Blooming Wildflower Cottage for 2 nights while on a driving tour of Ireland in Jan/Feb 2006.

Marianne and Tom were extremely helpful, made booking easy, and made us feel very much at home.

We had booked the wildflower apartment which is part of the B&B but is self-contained with it’s own kitchen and lounge area. Arriving just before sunset we were able to get the full benefit of the lounge with it’s panoramic view of Dingle Bay . . . . . absolutely stunning!!!

The accommodation itself was spacious, spotless and comfortable and was essentially a combined kitchen/lounge/bedroom with it’s own bathroom across the hallway.

The lounge area out the back was perfect, the bed was very clean and comfortable, and the kitchen was well appointed and we were even provided with a local gift basket with all the things we needed to make breakfast.

The cottage is located a few minutes walk from the centre of Dingle Town and there is plenty of parking just over the road.

All in all one of the best places we stayed at on our trip to Ireland . . . . I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a reasonably priced comfy B&B in Dingle.

4  Thank Superstylin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Es gibt nur zwei, eines ist ein Appartement. Beide sind toll und mit fantastischem Blick und Terrass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sabine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.6 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
791 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour Nights Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
The Lighthouse B & B
The Lighthouse B & B
#10 of 75 in Dingle
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dingle Atlantic Lodge B&B
0.4 mi away
The Dingle Quayside
The Dingle Quayside
#9 of 75 in Dingle
372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dingle Marina Lodge
Dingle Marina Lodge
#22 of 75 in Dingle
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blooming Wildflower Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blooming Wildflower Cottage

Address: 132 The Wood | On Dingle Bay, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Price Range: $29 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DINGLE TOWN: Waterfront traditional B&B beautifully located on Dingle Bay. Offering stunning sunrises and fascinating sunsets from your bedroom windows. *Featuring Free WIFI. Enjoy our seaside morning room with stunning vistas of the Dingle Harbour. Our menu offers a three course breakfast from a choice of 6 specialities carefully selected to serve you organic, garden fresh and newly baked local foods.Located in a scenic, quiet part of Dingle town two streets away from gourmet restaurants, traditional pubs, craft shops, art galleries and Fungi the dolphin harbor tours. Our friendly hospitality is geared toward those who are interested in the Irish culture from a native's "point of view". We offer clean, warm, newly decorated bedrooms with private bathrooms, plus a seaside terrace with petite wildflower gardens.The wildflower garden on Dingle Bay outside your bedrooms is designed to grow plants that can survive living directly on the sea. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing