We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a week end”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dingle Benners Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a week end”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We spent two nights in Benners the hotel is fine but a little tired it's located perfectly amongst all the busy bars and resteraunts the Guinness in the bar was first class and the breakfast good I haven't been in dingle for 3 years but I'll be back soon

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    230
    54
    20
    4
See reviews for
122
329
30
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albufeira
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The car park entrance was so hard to find, must have gone around the block 4 or 5 times. A map on the website would have been helpful (and I used to be a licenced navigator!!!).
Top floor room - 305. A bit noisy from a room containing extractor machinery close by, which ran 24 hours, and corridor/door slamming noise. Room with very basic furnishings and decor. Smelt of damp, and found mould all around the window, and an extensive patch of wet rot on the inside window ledge.. Corrosion inside the sealed d/g window pane! Reported it to reception on check out, and she seemed surprised ! Don't they have regular inspections - for sure this had been there a long time. Some fairly obvious poor maintenence at several locations around the hotel.
Bathroom was functional with bath/shower combi - good flow. Hard and uncomfortable beds - felt quite 'lumpy'. Wi-fi didn't seem to work in the room during the evening, was ok in the morning. Breakfast poor.
Big mistake coming here - should have stayed another night in Killarney and done Dingle as a day trip. In my opinion, not a 3 star hotel.
Restaurant not open in evening - food only being served at bar. We went out !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bennersmanager, General Manager at Dingle Benners Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback on your recent stay. It is disappointing that you didn't enjoy your stay and I certainly have taken on board your comments regarding the number of maintainance issues you have mentioned. The offending fan has been replaced following its malfunction that evening and the window seals are scheduled for replacement over the winter as part of our ongoing repair and maintanence program. I do apologies for these issues.
Directions to our private car park are attached to all our confirmation emails from the hotel and we also issue town maps with detailed directions to our car park to guests who choose to use the set down area at the front of the hotel but as it is a private guest car park we do not advertise its use for the general public. I'm sorry for the frustration you must have felt initially in not being able locate the car park.
Your comments in relation to breakfast are also concerning as we generally get good feedback from our breakfast fare. Again I apologies if you feel it was not to your satisfaction. Our Restaurant in the evening is generally only opened for small groups or for Private Dining but we do serve a full Ala Carte menu in Mrs Benners Bar. Again I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy you stay but we will take you comments and use them to further improve our hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely
Cormac O'Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We were with a tour group and I must say the staff made us feel very welcome. The room was clean and bed very comfortable. The breakfast was bountiful and very good. A great place to enjoy the wonderful town of Dingle and visit Dingle Peninsula. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andruette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Benners in Dingle was one of my favorite hotels on our recent trip to Ireland. Rooms were clean and roomy, breakfast was good and I especially liked the cozy areas in which to relax. Location was great as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank extonone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The Dingle Benners Hotel is a bit like a tired airport hotel. Our room was very small, a bit dingy, and dark (it had only a tiny, frosted window). Directly below the window was the roof, strewn with garbage. We also had to kill a few spiders in the room and then carefully inspect the room for more. The walls must be thin, because we woke during the night because of noise in the hallway. The hotel seems to be conscious of this noise issue, as they post signs in the hallway requesting quiet.

The common areas of the hotel seemed nicer than our room, but they were quite tired and heavily trafficked. Breakfast was fine, and we had a good experience with the wait staff. All in all, the hotel staff was very nice and helpful. The location was convenient, but in hind sight we may have preferred a B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curlyjoeNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
240 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This was one of our favorite places in Ireland.

Our room was very spacious and comfortable, even with a little alcove area by the window for reading. The bathroom offered ample hot water, but limited space for toiletries. The hotel offers free WiFi that we could access from our room.

Rooms come with breakfast, but the door to the breakfast room is locked until the nominal 8am opening time. There is a comprehensive continental buffet (including smoked salmon and haddock), and one can order cooked items. I don't recommend the poached eggs - they use the trick of adding vinegar to the poaching water, but apparently use too much because the eggs taste sour.

The hotel has a bar, and there are two pubs directly across the street. There is an excellent restaurant at the end of the block (the hotel does not offer evening meals).

Watch for 'trad' Irish music concerts at the church (between the two pubs) that are scheduled for Monday, Wednesday and Friday evenings each week during tourist season. The music is really good Irish folk music (not the stuff you hear in pubs), but seating is limited so you must purchase tickets in advance. You can also book reservations and pick up tickets at the door - there will be information available at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monophoto-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nenagh, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Very Very Average sums up this 'hotel.' For my money its a guest house with a small bar and very limited restaurant. Rooms are in a pretty poor state of disrepair with stains on bedspread and carpets. Rooms facing the street are to be avoided as the noise during the night of people fighting below stopped us sleeping all 3 nights of the stay. Breakfast waiters were very surly and rude especially if you arrive close to their closing time......10:30am on a Sunday!! Bar tender was excellent and accommodating.

Room Tip: Don't take a room on the main street side of the hotel if you actually want any sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.5 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
0.2 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 9 in Dingle
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Dingle Pub
The Dingle Pub
#8 of 9 in Dingle
167 reviews
0.7 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
Heaton's Guesthouse
#3 of 9 in Dingle
965 reviews
0.9 mi away
Milltown House
Milltown House
#6 of 75 in Dingle
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dingle Benners Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dingle Benners Hotel

Property: Dingle Benners Hotel
Address: Benner's Hotel Main Street, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dingle Benners Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dingle Benners Hotel is located in the heart of Dingle town on the beautiful and breathtaking Dingle Peninsula. Offering great quality service, luxurious accommodation and old world charm, Dingle Benners Hotel is one of County Kerry's hidden gems. Enjoy great quality food in the relaxed surroundings of Mrs Benner's Bar or relax in the cozy atmosphere of our residents lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Dingle Benners Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing