We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dingle is fab and Benners is still special.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dingle Benners Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Dingle is fab and Benners is still special.”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed in Benners for three days during the glorious weather in June. It is over ten years since we have been to Benners and it has not changed. Everything is still the same. The hotel is kept clean and centrally located in the town. Reception staff were very friendly. The room was nice and spacious and the bathroom had plenty of towels and toiletries. The bed was slightly small but comfortable. We had room service breakfast every day and it arrived on time and was hot and tasty. Even though the hotel was fully booked, there wasn’t a lot actually going on. The restaurant was occupied by large tour groups each evening so didn’t look vey inviting to a couple. The bar remained quite dark and unoccupied for most of the day and evening with only the odd visitor. Otherwise though we were very happy with our room and spent our days outside of the hotel. The weather was glorious. Everywhere does really good pub food, particularly seafood. There is plenty of variety. The only place we had a bad meal and actually complained and walked out was the Dingle Pub. Everywhere else was spot on. There is plenty to do for everybody in Dingle. There is wonderful real traditional music in most of the pubs at night. The Courthouse was great craic. This was really great fun. It made us proud to be Irish. We went to the folk concert in St. James’ Church, across from Benners. This was a lovely relaxed experience and very reasonably priced. We had a fabulous meal in a restaurant at the top of the town, The Global Village. If it was in Dublin it would surely be double the price. The staff could not do enough for us. We travelled the Dingle Ring and actually picnicked on the beach! The sun shone and everyone was super friendly. It’s not as cheap as it used to be, but the quality is worth every penny. Dingle is a special place and you can only have a wonderful time there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    224
    53
    20
    3
See reviews for
117
320
30
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Good location in the main street of Dingle. Old style hotel not a new modern place. The room was fine for our purposes. It was clean and had all the facilities needed. Staff was helpful and the food was good both at breakfast and for dinner. Wifi was included in the room rate. There are a few little relaxation rooms at the hotel. Some of the furniture probably needed a bit of an upgrade but, over-all, quite a good experience and I would have no problem staying again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We cannot say enough about Benners! We have stayed here numerous times and are never disappointed. The staff have become our lifelong friends and they treat everyone with such kindness. The food is phenomenal! Location is perfect, right on the Main Street! Benners is a must!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROFIndustries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bennersmanager, General Manager at Dingle Benners Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
HI Folks

Thank you for your kind review and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon .

Regards

Cormac O'Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The staff was helpful, especially the receptionist. Breakfast was plentiful and good. Location is good if you like being in the middle of a busy, active small town and in proximity to many local sites. I appreciated the wi-fi and off-street parking. I was disappointed with the quality of the room. I stayed in the "old" section - no lift, quite hot with no air conditioning or fan, smallish room without "luxury" described online - really pretty basic, very small TV, no view other than out to the roof of another building and the roof of the kitchen. I could hear the exhaust fan from the kitchen all the time other than when they were turned off at night. The town itself can be fairly roudy at night as well. I agree with another person who posted - too pricey for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmmaKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
259 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

First of all, I will start with the good points of this hotel; it has a great location, right in the middle of this beautiful town, the staff are absolutely wonderful, every single one of them was so helpful and pleasant. The reception area is charming and there are lots of little nooks and crannies to sit and relax. They breakfast is good, with plenty of choice and the breakfast room is very pleasant. The rooms are comfortable and spotlessly clean. The whole hotel has an old world kind of charm and it certainly isn’t a cookie cutter chain hotel.

But now for the bad points; the website describes it as ‘one of Dingle’s most luxurious hotels’, well while the rooms are certainly comfortable and clean, they are a long way from luxurious. The fixtures and fitting are all a bit battered and worn, the furniture has certainly seen better days. The TV is tiny and is the old tube type rather than a flat screen, there was no fridge in the room. The shower was over the bath and the water pressure wasn’t great. We were 3 girls sharing a room, and one of us had to sleep on a camp bed. The window only opened about 2 inches and the heat in the room was colossal. We had a tiny ineffective fan, but really they should put large fans in the rooms. I know we don’t always get the hot weather we had over the last couple of weeks, but I would expect the hotel to offer more to alleviate the heat issue.

My biggest issue with this hotel is the price. We paid €225 for a triple room (I reiterate – one of us had to sleep on a camp bed and that was a group rate as we had booked several rooms) I know Dingle is a busy tourist town and it’s peak season, but really that price is just extortionate for the level of facilities offered. You could get a decent triple room in Manhattan for that price!

Overall, this is quite a nice hotel, but the rooms need a facelift and the reality is that it’s just too expensive. I would stay here again, but only if the price were significantly lower.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ncmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Munster, Ireland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is situated on the main street with a car park to the rear.
The location of the hotel is very good.
The staff were very friendly and the hotel itself has an old world feel, very pleasant and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyn o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks Cty, PA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I'm OK with an old hotel if it doesn't smell old...and this one doesn't! Our room was lovely, tray ceiling, yellow walls and rustic furniture. Friendly front staff, decent breakfast (we ate dinner here 2 nights because we were with a CIE tour so HAD to...wouldn't recommend the dinner food)...nice dining room though. If you are there during any hot weather, ask for a fan at the front desk ASAP...they only have a few, and our room only had one window, and it did get very warm.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.5 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
0.2 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 9 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
Heaton's Guesthouse
#3 of 9 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Dingle Pub
The Dingle Pub
#8 of 9 in Dingle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dingle Quayside
The Dingle Quayside
#8 of 75 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dingle Benners Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dingle Benners Hotel

Property: Dingle Benners Hotel
Address: Benner's Hotel Main Street, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dingle Benners Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dingle Benners Hotel is located in the heart of Dingle town on the beautiful and breathtaking Dingle Peninsula. Offering great quality service, luxurious accommodation and old world charm, Dingle Benners Hotel is one of County Kerry's hidden gems. Enjoy great quality food in the relaxed surroundings of Mrs Benner's Bar or relax in the cozy atmosphere of our residents lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Dingle Benners Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing