We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre and rather bland.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dingle Benners Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
Huskvarna, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mediocre and rather bland.”
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere was very nice and appealing. The restraunt was very clean. The food however left much to be desired. The steak burgers were incredibly dry and over cooked. Service was good but rushed. The steak also was very chewy and dry. I would not recommend or visit again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustinOberholtzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bennersmanager, General Manager at Dingle Benners Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your meal in Mrs Benners Bar. If you would like to contact me directly at the hotel I would be very interested in hearing any further comments you could give me about your experience. We pride ourselves in the quality of our entire experience so although you mention some positive comments my concern is that in your case our Hotel didn't live up to the usual high standards that the majority of our customers enjoy. I would appreciate if you could find the time to contact me so I can personally address the issues you have mentioned.
Cormac O'Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    239
    54
    20
    5
See reviews for
126
342
30
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Superior
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Arrived at the Dingle Benner Hotel without reservations and obtained a B & B rate of 110 Euros. This hotel was exactly how I had imagined an Irish hotel to be. Loved the comfortable, homey, antique decor everywhere from the lobby, bar/restaurant, and tucked away sitting areas. All of the staff were extremely helpful, friendly, and went above normal duty to ensure we were taken care of. The rooms were very generous sized as well as the bathrooms. Decor was cozy and comfortable. The only drawback would be that wifi was only available in the hotel lobby/sitting areas. But, that was not a huge issue.
We had dinner in the restaurant/bar and it was absolutely phenomenal!! Started with the crab appetizer, which was served in a cream sauce. Absolutely delectable! Almond crusted fish, duck with a cherry sauce, seafood chowder, and chicken supreme were our entree's and everything was prepared exceptional! Breakfast the next morning was another treat. The choice of fish of the day was excellent! Great hotel that I will have on my list of places to return in Ireland!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed here on New Year's Eve and I cannot say how wonderful my stay was. All the staff (especially Aisling) were so friendly and helpful and absolutely nothing was too much trouble. Will definitely be back again next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KatieMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We spent three days in Benners in January and enjoyed every minute of our stay in this beautiful part of Ireland. The weather was great for some days, lashed rain for one, but it didn't matter. The staff are friendly, welcoming and helpful. The room was comfortable and well appointed with lots of space to sit around. We ate in the hotel most of the time, mainly because it was so good, and a lot of other restaurants are closed at this time of year. The location on the main street is excellent, although the way to the car park is incredibly convoluted. Anyone going there should remember the entrance is on the same lane as the cinema. Free wifi is available only in the lobby area, and not in the rooms, but that was ok if you just want to check email. It might be a problem for business travellers. I'd like to congratulate the management and staff on making our stay so comfortable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Taistil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

My daughter and i did a drive down from Dublin and we stayed here for 2 nights. It was one of those places you wished you had booked longer. The rooms were comfortable, meals great, bar service exceptional, Reception made us feel very welcomed.
Relaxing in one of the comfortable lounges with a Guiness and soaking up the atmosphere was something memories are made from.
A GPS came in handy although to find the hotel parking lot but this was not a deal breaker and i enjoyed driving around these lovely streets. Did some nice shopping 10 mins walk down near the harbour. will certainly come back again

Room Tip: Our room was very nice and all floors have elevators if you may have had one too many Guinesses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is the Ireland one hopes to find, a traditional hotel with lovely people who are friendly, helpful and charming, great breakfasts with crepes to make a French chef jealous, extremely comfortable bedrooms, a cosy bar popular with locals and visitors alike, and a position right in the centre of a beautiful little town set in one of the most fabulous landscapes on the planet.
This is not a hotel for those who want minimalist modernism. It is for those who love warmth, tradition and loads of Irish charm.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MargotParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

we loved this hotel,located in the centre of Dingle ,we were able to walk into town,breakfeast was lovely ,can't comment on dinner as we went into town for Dinner,Overall very enjoyable saty at Benners

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank james m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.5 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Dingle Pub
The Dingle Pub
#8 of 9 in Dingle
182 reviews
0.7 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
Heaton's Guesthouse
#3 of 9 in Dingle
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Dingle Quayside
The Dingle Quayside
#9 of 75 in Dingle
353 reviews
0.9 mi away
Milltown House
Milltown House
#6 of 75 in Dingle
422 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dingle Harbour Lodge
Dingle Harbour Lodge
#48 of 75 in Dingle
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dingle Benners Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dingle Benners Hotel

Property: Dingle Benners Hotel
Address: Benner's Hotel Main Street, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dingle Benners Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dingle Benners Hotel is located in the heart of Dingle town on the beautiful and breathtaking Dingle Peninsula. Offering great quality service, luxurious accommodation and old world charm, Dingle Benners Hotel is one of County Kerry's hidden gems. Enjoy great quality food in the relaxed surroundings of Mrs Benner's Bar or relax in the cozy atmosphere of our residents lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dingle Benners Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing