We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Castlewood House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castlewood House
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
Ocean Park, ME
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very special!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2009

My wife and I travel extensively in Europe staying in small hotels and B and Bs. This one is very special. More like a boutique hotel. Helen and Brian are the BEST HOSTS we have ever experienced. They are gracious beyond the expectation of a top-rated Tripadvisor spot.
We stayed three nights in a beautiful bayfront room, tastefully done and very well maintained. All staff were friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was unbelieveable. A menu of freshly prepared delights and tables full of morning treats. Fabulous! The coffee in all of Ireland is poor tasting to us so great teas complete a fine start to the day.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinoperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,046
    36
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
183
683
28
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2009

my now fiancee and i took a tour around ireland after getting engaged, and as i'm in the hospitality trade we tried to pick nice hotels and accommodation to stay in.
out of seven days in seven different hotels, Castlewood stood out as being what really typifies perfect irish hospitality, and a lot of other more well known and more expensive accommodation should take a leaf out of their book. we were shown sample local restaurant menus on arrival, the fact that our welcome was genuine and sincere was evident, and the nothings too much trouble approach made us feel right at home.
the room and views accross dingle bay were stunning. Brian sorted us with a lovely table for dinner in dingle when it seemed everywhere was closed or booked up.
the breakfasts were gorgeous, and the breakfast room was equally as nice as the rooms ... as a musical director it was lovely to hear local irish musicians music played at breakfast at exactly the right volume for the perfect atmosphere. the detail was perfect, from the organic pi water in the room right down to the beans with the full irish breakfast being in its own dish, a small thing we know, but its all the small things about this place that made our stay memorable
Castlewood was the cherry on the top for us in dingle and we cant wait to get booked for next year.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaylorandSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2009

We stayed at Castlewood House for 4 nights though originally booked 3 nights. The room was large and the bath wonderful since it had a whirlpool tub - perfect for sore muscles after hiking Conor's Pass. Our host, Brian, was most helpful (and makes a superb breakfast - served til 10:00 a.m. -later than most b&bs - which we counted as a big plus).
Brian was a wealth of information about local history and full of helpful suggestions about sight seeing. We followed his advice about checking out Conor's Pass and got some great pics. Views were spectacular! He and spouse Helen run a top notch operation. They are both welcoming and accomodating and make themselves available to their guests. There are less expensive places to stay but if you want to spoil yourself, this is the place to do it.
It is a bit of a walk into town, maybe a mile I would guess. We kind of wanted a place that would be quiet so if was perfect.
The walk into town is pleasant, with water views so that was our usual way of going but when we were sore from cramming so much hiking/walking into our day it was worth it to us to pay the 6 euro cab fare to town for the two of us. No tipping necessary.
Our driver also offered scenic tours of the Dingle peninsula, as many cab drivers do. We had rented our own car so we could have the freedom of driving when/where we wanted to, however, my husband, who did all the driving, commented after our trip that he felt like he missed some of the sightseeing because he was so focused on driving (not the easiest adjustment if you're American). So, it may be worthwhile to spend a day letting someone else do the driving so all in your party can enjoy the fantastic sights around Dingle. It can easily be done in a day. I'm not sure what the cost would be but I wish I would have looked into it in hindsight.
We stayed a total of 8 nights in Ireland, and purposely did not book the final 2 nights so we could have some flexibility in our schedule. In October this is fine as the tourist season is over. We weren't sure if we would be tired or game for a new city the final 2 days. Turned out we decided that relaxing is what we wanted the final two days after racing around Ireland so we extended our stay at Castlewood and then booked the Park Inn Shannon Airport hotel for the final night so we did not have the hassle of getting up at the crack of dawn to turn in the rental car/check bags/ etc. to make our 9a flight.
We have done whirlwind tours in European countries and found that travel in the off season is cheaper, there are no crowds, no problems finding last minute accommodations, and most importantly, less stress if the end of the trip is open ended. We made the mistake of booking 5 cities in 8 days in Spain and were exhausted by the time we got home.
Rick Steve's has a good guide as well as Frommer's and are worth buying.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacaybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2009

My wife and I have been fortunate to travel in Europe for over 25 years. Needless to say we have stayed in some very "interesting" places. One of our friends told us about TripAdvisor's rating system. When we saw the TripAdvisor rating on Castlewood House we were anxious to see for ourselves. From the gracious welcome of our hosts to our beautiful room, we were very pleased. The bath was spotless and the breakfast was outstanding. Hopefully, we will be able to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCDHS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2009

Exceptionally welcoming and friendly. Extremely comfortable. Great breakfasts.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2009

This place was the best of the whole trip. We stumbled upon it and were so glad we did. We were tempted to stay longer. Awesome hosts. Room was large and beautiful. Great location with views. Can't say enough really.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyP63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Castlewood House for a couple of days during our recent trip to Ireland. As it was my birthday, we splurged a bit on our accommodations in Dingle and chose to stay at Castlewood House. The place was beautiful and turned out to be our favorite hotel of the trip. The staff were incredible and breakfasts at Castlewood House were particularly delightful. Make sure to try the porridge topped with Bailey's if you get a chance. The hotel is a quick walk from the center of town (where there are many amazing seafood restaurants). There is also a computer with internet for guest use, DVDs to borrow (should you choose to spend the night inside instead of making the pub rounds) and a cozy outside patio for enjoying the view. I would return to Dingle and Castlewood House in an instant and hope to get the chance!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.9 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
0.7 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
1.0 mi away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 9 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
Heaton's Guesthouse
#3 of 9 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Dingle Pub
The Dingle Pub
#9 of 9 in Dingle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlewood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlewood House

Property: Castlewood House
Address: Castlewood House The Wood, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Hotel Class:5 star — Castlewood House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxurious guest house is located on the shores of Dingle Bay, so it enjoys a fabulous view while just being a five minute walk to the vibrant centre of Dingle town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castlewood House Hotel Dingle
Castlewood Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing