We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean, friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castlewood House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castlewood House
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very clean, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2009

Castlewood was everything we had hoped for. Very clean, quiet, friendly staff, convenient to town. great view

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaliBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,039
    36
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
182
677
28
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2009

This review is almost 3 and half years after my visit, but I was suddenly filled with longing to return to Ireland, Dingle, and Castlewood, where to my regret I had a room for only one night.

But what a great night it was.

Castlewood has everything for a solo traveler who enjoys luxury and would prefer to stay a bit outside the noise and bustle at the center of town but close enough top walk there in 10 minutes.

The hosts are as warm and friendly as can be. They were available with suggestions for dinner, entertainment, and sightseeing. And they kept the property immaculate.

The location is spectacular, with a stunning view of the bay. It is a short, beautiful walk to the center of town, which I enjoyed for the scenery and the chance to burn off some of those extra calories from pints of Guinness! It doesn't start to get dark in June until after 11 pm, so after leaving one of the many pubs where live music plays to packed crowds, it was very relaxing to stroll back to Castlewood as the light faded. It put me in a tranquil mood, perfect before retiring for the evening.

The rooms and the public spaces for guests are beautifully furnished and designed--you wouldn't mind at all staying indoors during inclement weather. And if you're like me, and spend a great deal of time during the day walking and hiking, returning home to the jacuzzi bath was perfect to soothe my tired muscles and reinvigorate me for an evening out on the town.

Although sad to leave the next morning, I checked out with a very satisfied grin after being treated to perhaps the best breakfast I had in my 10 days in Ireland.

I join the chorus of voices and highly recommend Castlewood. It represents the very best of Irish hospitality.

J. Moran
Boston, Massachusetts

Stayed June 2006, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank jamesmartinmoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2009

From the moment you enter Castlewood House, you will be wrapped in the warmth of its charm. We spent three and a half weeks in Ireland - no other inn keepers, etc. could come close to the tone and service that Helen and Brian set in their beautiful establishment. The whole B&B from breakfast room, to lobby, to lounge, to individual rooms is stunningly appointed. Our gorgeous room had a beautiful view over Dingle Bay. The washrooms were the best design of any we experienced in Ireland. No request is too much for Helen and Brian - recommendations, nightime movies, wine/beer after a long day..... Breakfast was delicious with lots of variety. I already miss "Helen's Special Porridge". After three days we felt that Helen and Brian were family and hated to leave.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ex-airfaircrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2009

Castlewood is a must is you are going to Dingle Ireland. We stayed there based on the Trip Advisor recommendations and it lived up to it! What a beautiful hotel. The room (we stayed in room 8) had a beautiful view of the bay. They are comfortable and clean. The bathroom is large, modern with rich tiles. The owners are nice, helpful and have attention to details. The breakfast is amazing. The best we had while in Ireland. I suggest the pancakes! A short 8-10 min walk into the heart of town but it's along the water so how can you complain. We would stay here again and will recommend it to others- for sure! Also, for a great meal while in Dingle, try Paudies Pub. Great food, great service!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbett1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2009

Helen and Brian set the standard by which you will measure all other hotels, (whatever the size and star rating) but unfortunately nowhere else comes close so you will always want to return to the perfection of Castlewood. You leave reluctantly, knowing youll be back---or maybe you never quite leave.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seekerUkMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2009

Helen and Brian were just wonderful Hosts. Very caring about our comfort and just went the extra mile for everyone of our family group of 13. The breakfasts were excellent and just their home was so warm and comfortable. Would recommend this everyone and if I ever get the change to go to Ireland again, this is where I would stay for entire trip!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxumCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2009

I would just like to say that everything written about this lovely place is true. It is a delightful place to stay - Brain and Helen are so welcoming and helpful. The food is lovely, the rooms are spotless and very comfortable. The whole building has a homely, friendly feel. There are lots of thoughtful touches such as the filtered water in the rooms, free internet access and hot coffee to take out with you in the mornings.
You can easily walk into the centre of Dingle and shop or eat and then wander back to the peace and quiet of Castlewood. We found the restaurants to be very good and enjoyed the live music in the bars. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jumob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.9 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
0.8 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
1.0 mi away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 9 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
Heaton's Guesthouse
#3 of 9 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Dingle Pub
The Dingle Pub
#8 of 9 in Dingle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlewood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlewood House

Property: Castlewood House
Address: Castlewood House The Wood, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Hotel Class:5 star — Castlewood House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxurious guest house is located on the shores of Dingle Bay, so it enjoys a fabulous view while just being a five minute walk to the vibrant centre of Dingle town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castlewood House Hotel Dingle
Castlewood Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing