We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely house in spectacular setting!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castlewood House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castlewood House
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely house in spectacular setting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

From the moment we walked through the front door of this guest house, we knew we had found a fantastic place to relax and wind down. It is an exceptionally clean and well appointed house. Brian and Helen were consummate hosts and looked after us very well. Our room (No.3) was very comfortable and quiet. The highlight of our stay was the superb Irish breakfast with excellent white puddings!!! If we ever come back to Dingle we will stay in Castlewood House without hesitation.

Room Tip: Room 3 is beautiful and comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TatNiall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,039
    36
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
182
677
28
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

There are not enough superlatives to describe the Castlewood House and all that it encompasses. It is rare that you find the pictures on the website to be exactly what you find when you open the door to your room but these were spot on!

Helen and Brian could not have been more gracious. Aine, Coleen and the rest of the staff were like old friends by the time we left. These are people that love what they do and it shows! Brian is a fantastic chef. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious no matter what you chose.

I can't recommend Castlewood House enough and can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinker349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin
Level Contributor
211 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Our stay at Castlewood House was perfect! Were were greeted by Brian, who helped orient us to all Dingle had to offer. He offered great dining suggestions with things to do. The hotel itself is immaculately kept. Beautiful grounds, lovely decorations, and very clean. Our room also was comfortable and we slept great. It's a short walk to the downtown area, making it a quiet location.

You will not believe the breakfast that they prepare for you here! It was the best breakfast we had while in Ireland! Everything is freshly prepared for you. It was really, really good! Fresh fruit, seasoned fruits, hot/ cold cereal, eggs Benedict, soft cheese, breads, I could go on and on. It was all fantastic.

On our next visit to Dingle, we will not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed here for a night, and what a place this is, it truly is amazing.. Huge comfy bed, jacuzzi bath, very hi spec place.. I thought for €152 for a night that it was a little pricey though, especially when we didn't get breakfast. Breakfast is served until 10, we slept in until 10:30, I am normally up long before that but the bed was just so cosy I must have slept like a baby.. Rang Brian downstairs and told him I was a little late for breakfast, and although I understand it ends at 10, he could have been a little bit more polite on the phone and could have offered something.. We went down and had some of the cold breakfast which in fairness was lovely.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adrian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

Wonderful location! Brian and Helen are wonderful and very helpful. The rooms are very nicely done, spacious and comfortable. The weather was great while we were there are we utilized the outside sitting area overlooking the water, which was beautiful and very relaxing. We stayed in a room that was facing the road. A bit of traffic noise which is to be expected, but the view was spectacular! And the breakfast was to die for! Definitely a place that we will stay again! Well worth the price!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyndy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Idaho
Level Contributor
110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights in June. Unfortunately it spoiled us for all the other lodging we were booked in to during our trip thru Ireland! This place is fabulous. My room was huge, and the breakfasts are wonderful. As some indicate, it is on a busy road but with the drapes pulled I did not notice the traffic. I thought it was a lovely touch when we came in at night and candles were lit in the foyer and entry hall!

If you are a birder you will love the bird spotting at low tide in the tidal inlet in front of Castlewood.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D0bby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

The Castlewood House is fantastic. Large elegant rooms, excellent service, delicious homemade breakfast, and a 10 minute walk to town. Brian greeted us with a Mimosa when we arrived, and laid out for us the restaurants and pubs we should visit.

We plan to visit Dingle again, and there is no question we will be staying here.

Room Tip: Some rooms have views of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TAReviewer--CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.9 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
0.8 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
1.0 mi away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 9 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
Heaton's Guesthouse
#3 of 9 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Dingle Pub
The Dingle Pub
#8 of 9 in Dingle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlewood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlewood House

Property: Castlewood House
Address: Castlewood House The Wood, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Hotel Class:5 star — Castlewood House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxurious guest house is located on the shores of Dingle Bay, so it enjoys a fabulous view while just being a five minute walk to the vibrant centre of Dingle town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castlewood House Hotel Dingle
Castlewood Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing