We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five stars B&B”
Review of Castlewood House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castlewood House
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Dingle Peninsula is a must and so does Castlewood House. We would have stay longer but we had a reservation already in Doolin. Our room was very large with a bay view. They got us a reservation for a restaurant with the best food on this trip. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hubbyandmePotomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,146)
There are newer reviews for Castlewood House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

490 - 496 of 1,146 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

My husband and I spent two weeks traveling through Ireland and England. We stayed at hotels, bed & breakfasts and a castle. Nothing compared to Castlewood House.

It was exquisite from the moment we walked through the doors. It is obvious that Brian and Helen pay attention to details from decorations, to breakfast to customer service.

I would recommend Castlewood House to anyone and EVERYONE!!

Thanks for making our 15th Anniversary and our dream to visit Dingle perfect.

Karla & Anthony Dingle

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Karla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This B&B lived up to all expectations. The reviews on this website were glowing and they certainly deserve it. The rooms are very comfortable and large, if a little over feminine for my husband. Its all rather Martha Stewart like, but I can't fault the comfort of the room and bed. I had a really good night's sleep after a very long drive. The owners are very nice, welcoming and will recommend restaurants in the area. Breakfast is the highlight with a doubt! Unbelievable! All the food is local and you can tell it is all freshly prepared. After Castlewood we stayed in a 5star hotel in Kerry where breakfast was not even close to being as good as here. I will be back for the breakfast alone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runnergirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is quite simply the best Guest House we have ever stayed in. In fact it beats a whole bunch of hotels as well. Just believe what everyone says, if you are going to Dingle stay here. The breakfast is just stunning. We stayed 3 nights, so I was able to try out 3 different options for breakfast. They were all superb, makes choosing easy I guess! We are going back next year, if we can get a booking!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JST001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed at another inn in Dingle on a previous trip, but stayed at Castlewood House 2 nights this time. Same price, but no comparison!! Beautiful room with a view of the harbor; classy bathroom, and an absolutely delicious breakfast! Brian greeted us when we arrived. Our driver had left for the night and Brian kindly offered to drive us to our restaurant in town. It is easy walking distance, but we appreciated the ride because it was raining. The staff we met in the dining room at breakfast both days were very friendly and knowledgeable and made us very comfortable. Brian and Helen are both genuinely lovely people and I wish them great success!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryL102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My friend and I spent one evening at the Castlewood House. The facility was clean and the staff very friendly. They gave us excellent recommendations for meals with map locations as well. The rooms were clean and bed was comfortable. The breakfast was to die for! Brian is an excellent chef and host. I would highly recommend Castlewood House.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Castlewood deserves it's great ratings. Large clean rooms, friendly staff and easy walk to town for meals and music and great base for touring. Brian the owner was very helpful in coordinating our families activities.

Room Tip: Request a bay view room.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cfpterps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.9 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
0.7 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
778 reviews
1.0 mi away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 9 in Dingle
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
0.6 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
461 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Dingle Pub
The Dingle Pub
#8 of 9 in Dingle
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlewood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlewood House

Address: Castlewood House The Wood, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Hotel Class:5 star — Castlewood House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxurious guest house is located on the shores of Dingle Bay, so it enjoys a fabulous view while just being a five minute walk to the vibrant centre of Dingle town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castlewood House Hotel Dingle
Castlewood Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing