We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Castlewood House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castlewood House
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed June 6, 2008

We stayed here for part of our honeymoon and wished we had stayed here for all of it! Brian and Helen were really friendly, the room was amazing and clean, the whole place was homely and breakfast was lovely with lots of variety. The woman who booked us in was also really helpful and couldn't do enough for us. Really really recommend this place, we look forward to going back.

  • Liked — Friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank elle21uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,070
    36
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
186
698
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2008

Castlewood House is a purpose-built B&B meaning that it was specifically designed as a B&B not someone's house that gets converted. So in a sense it has more of a boutique-hotel feel as oppossed to a B&B but with an added personal touch. Helen was so sweet and greeted us with maps and hints on touring the peninsula (which was the highlight of our trip). She also had a book with restaurant menus and told us which pubs to hit for music. The bed was so comfy, and the bathroom ultra-modern. Everything in the place is spotless and the view of the harbor was so peaceful. The breakfast was fantastic...the hugest most delicious omelet I've ever had. A bit more pricey than some of our other lodging options but well worth every dime. The walk into town is 10-15 minutes but we enjoyed it. There is parking if you choose not to walk.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank dinerdogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2008

Castlewood House was our favorite hotel in our driving tour of Ireland, and Dingle our favorite location.

The property is quiet, conveniently located, easy to find, and offers scenic views of the bay. The hosts, Helen and Brian, are extremely gracious and welcoming, with helpful suggestions on things to see and do. Decor is lovely and rooms are spacious and well-furnished. The shower and the jacuzzi tub are divine!!

And the food - let's just say that this is one amazing breakfast. We want to go back to Dingle again and again and when we do, we are sure to stay at Castlewood House.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hslowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2008

Booked for two nights, but we were so taken with its beauty, charm and hosts that we cancelled our plans to visit Galway and stayed for an extra night. Helen and Brian are superb innkeepers, eager to provide insight, shopping, dining and activities recommendations. A short walk to town, Castlewood House is ideally situated for intown activities or tackling the excitement and beauty of the Dingle Peninsula. Our room was spacious, pristine in cleanliness, and the bath room was to die for with marble floors, great lighting and separate shower and jacuzzi tub. Breakfast was an epicurean delight with a real menu and first class food. If you go to Dingle (and you should), stay here!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2008

Just to echo all the praise.... The breakfast buffet alone would shame a 5* hotel. Definitely go for the bread and butter pudding, scones and omelettes. Helen and Brian are lovely people, who run a great place. Really looking forward to going back!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Feline_charm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
276 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2008

Brian and Helen run a remarkable guest house. The house and decor are lovely. Guest rooms are roomy and bathrooms are modern and huge. There is nice attention to all the details. The breakfast was wonderful. I was feeling a bit under the weather and Helen did everything she could to make me feel comfortable. You are treated as welcomed friends. It was our first stop on our three week trip to Europe and it was the best.

  • Liked — Feeling of comfort and luxury
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2008

Castlewood is the only place to stay in Dingle. Brian and Helen are amazing at what they do and the breakfast was the very best in all our Irish travels. They made us feel so at home.
It is a very easy walk to the village.
The rooms are modern, clean and bright. You will be impressed from the moment you walk in the door.
Again, When in Dingle...Castlewood is 1st class and the only place to stay.
Thanks.....Keep up the good work Brian and Helen.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JAHinckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.9 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
0.7 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
742 reviews
1.0 mi away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 9 in Dingle
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
Heaton's Guesthouse
#3 of 9 in Dingle
965 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
433 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Dingle Pub
The Dingle Pub
#8 of 9 in Dingle
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlewood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlewood House

Property: Castlewood House
Address: Castlewood House The Wood, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Hotel Class:5 star — Castlewood House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxurious guest house is located on the shores of Dingle Bay, so it enjoys a fabulous view while just being a five minute walk to the vibrant centre of Dingle town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castlewood House Hotel Dingle
Castlewood Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing