We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to Believe”
Review of Castlewood House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castlewood House
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hard to Believe”
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

If you read these reviews you will have a hard time believing it could be this good. The truth is that it's quite a bit better than the Trip Advisor rating system allows. Beautifully appointed, first class, large rooms, the best in Ireland, one of the best accommodations we've ever experienced, and I travel over 100 nts per year. The breakfast is as good as can be done, creative, fresh, perfectly cooked. Helen's care, attention to guests, and thoughtfulness are palpable. We just compared our costs per night and Castlewood cost us exactly 50% more than the average of our other nights in mid range B&B's in the rest of the country. It was by FAR the best bang for the buck, a true luxury bargain. Our best decision was spending two nights at Castlewood, our worst decision was leaving.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank KauaiKidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,080
    36
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
187
707
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We fell in love with Dingle the minute we arrived, but when we saw the Castlewood House we were even more in love! It is a gorgeous setting and a meticulously cared for house. The rooms were incredibly comfortable, clean and modern. Helen and Brian were the most gracious, friendly hosts we have ever had the pleasure of meeting. They pay attention to EVERY detail, right down to the shawls they keep at the front door for chilly nights! The breakfasts they serve are only matched by going to a 4 star restaurant! You order off a menu after having a small buffet of fresh fruit, cereals, cheeses, yogurts. We would go back in a heartbeat!!

Room Tip: Superior rooms have views of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybug912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, FL
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Well, it was the best B&B where we stayed on our recent trip to Ireland. Dingle is a gorgeous part of Ireland and the Castlewood House is just the best. The owners treat you like family and help point out the best things to do in the area. We enjoyed the wonderful hospitality and the extra-comfy accomodations. The breakfast is delicious. It is exactly what you want in a B&B. It was so quiet that we thought we were the only ones in the inn except that it was full! It is close to Dingle Town and we will definitely go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brazvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Great place in a beautiful part of the country. Fantastic hosts, breakfast and rooms. Quick 10 min walk to town, dont miss out on the Global Village restaurant and the slea head drive.
would most definitely stay here again...thanks again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krista A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed here in 2009 and I titled that review with, "WOW." I'm happy to do it all over again! Excellent service, excellent breakfast, excellent rooms. It totally lived up to the hype then, and lives up to the hype now. You will love it here.

We stayed here for two nights this past week and just had the best time. Aine was such a dear in checking us in and getting us settled, helping us book dinner reservations and providing recommendations on what to do and where to go.

Our room (room #4) was huge, with a super comfy bed, powerful shower, and delicious jacuzzi bath. We found the room (a classic) incredibly spacious and very beautiful. The wifi also worked perfectly from the room. I slept amazingly well here!

As always, breakfast was amazing. The white pudding is something I was so happy to return to, and I was glad to find it was as good as I remembered. Brian made me some awesome sauteed spinach with my breakfast one morning, which was so good with the mushrooms and tomatoes. Yum. I also loved the pineapple with passionfruit seeds. So delicious!

We walked to/from town multiple times per day and found it no problem at all (although you can find parking relatively easy if the walk is too far). Aine's recommendation of Global Village was on spot and we loved it.

Our entire family loved staying here and even purchased art from the lobby! I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Dingle!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valerie210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm city,fl
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Amazing stay, the house itself is perfect and the service nothing short of top notch. Breakfast was delicious and the service impeccable. Helen and Brian have done everything right, down to the smallest detail, I was totally impressed(and we travel alot), probably one of the finest and most comfortable places we have ever stayed. Can't reccommend it enough

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flAe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

As our decision to stay at Castlewood Hotel, was made based on the positive reviews and awards through Tripadvisor...I cannot in all honesty, improve on the many accolades of previous travellers.
What I can say, is that we enjoyed our stay immensely. Helen & Brian, the owner/managers welcomed us into their home. It is a house, a beautiful house, calming and relaxing, that provided us with great sleep quality, even though a storm was passing through, during our stay.
The room we had was spacious, luxurious, clean with a very comfortable king size bed. The bathroom was also spacious and very clean, equipped with a Jacuzzi style bath and separate walk in shower. Extras are standard, lots of little detail available.
For me, the breakfast was a superb treat to look forward to each morning. Helen and Brian have clearly put their stamp on their business and it appears to be working for them very well. They are very nice people, helpful and good at what they do - which is looking after their guests.
We shall go back when we have the opportunity, besides, breakfasts will never be the same for me again.

Room Tip: We had a mountain view room. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AviatorGHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.9 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
0.7 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
754 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
Heaton's Guesthouse
#3 of 9 in Dingle
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Dingle Pub
The Dingle Pub
#8 of 9 in Dingle
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Milltown House
Milltown House
#6 of 75 in Dingle
408 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Dingle Quayside
The Dingle Quayside
#10 of 75 in Dingle
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlewood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlewood House

Property: Castlewood House
Address: Castlewood House The Wood, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Hotel Class:5 star — Castlewood House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxurious guest house is located on the shores of Dingle Bay, so it enjoys a fabulous view while just being a five minute walk to the vibrant centre of Dingle town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castlewood House Hotel Dingle
Castlewood Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing