We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castlewood House
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here. From the moment we walked in we felt so relaxed and welcome. Upon checking in, we actually tried to see about vacancies so we could stay longer. Unfortunately, because it is such a great place there were no vacancies. I would easily go back here and stay again. I'm pretty sure we would also have paid twice as much, and they could easily charge twice as much back in the states. The rooms were large and clean. The breakfast was so tasty with lots of choices. Definitely not your typical B&B. I actually lost part an earring during the stay. After lots of searching on our part, they took over and turned the place upside down until they found it. I cannot say enough great things about Castlewood! It was only a 5 minute walk into the middle of town, and a few miles drive onto the famous Slea Head drive.

Room Tip: try to get a room that overlooks the beautiful bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

615 - 621 of 1,169 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon and have never stopped talking about it! We daydream about going back. Castlewood house is beyond welcoming and the accommodations are absolutely pristine. Breakfast was amazing and the location is great! Cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktm584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

If you are traveling in Ireland, don't miss a chance to visit the dingle peninsula - it is gorgeous and has lots of interesting historical sites to see - be sure to drive on the slea head loop and the connor pass. castlewood was wonderful - beautiful place ,great location and brian and helen spoiled us with their fabulous breakfasts!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camjwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Dingle Peninsula is absolutely breathtaking and staying at Castlewood House just makes it even more so. The place is run by a husband and wife team, Brian and Helen. Brian checked us in. He was quite friendly and give us a map of the town with a ton of restaurant and live music recommendations. The town center was just about a five minute walk away which was nice as we could leave the car and just walk from place to place. There’s a bottle of sherry with glasses at the check-in desk if you fancy a tipple or need to calm your nerves from driving on the left side of the road in the narrow lanes on the way to Dingle  There is also a lovely sitting room with a coffee, tea and cordial station and a delightful homemade treat of the day from Helen. They have books and menu samples and I’m sure much more, but I didn’t poke around too much. Brian showed us to our room which was HUGE! We booked a bay view room and were give room 3. Just a slight warning that although room 3 does have a bay view, it also is looking right out into the parking lot (the front of the hotel). We didn’t mind, though, because once the tide came in, the bay was beautiful and the rolling green hills in the background were so peaceful and relaxing. And the room is at the very back end of the hotel, so it seemed a bit more private which was nice. A bottle of water, chocolates and coffee and tea making facilities were in the room. So nice! And two fluffy white robes which were super cozy! The room and bathroom were spotless. The bathroom was also quite large and included a lovely whirlpool tub in addition to the shower. Toiletries (shampoo, soap and shower gel) are provided as well as a hair dryer (which is in the desk drawer next to the television). The bath towels are oversized and lovely as is the heated towel rack from which they hang. The bathroom has a speaker in it so if the TV is on, the sound is also on in the bathroom. We couldn’t find a control to adjust the volume of the bathroom speaker. It was a bit loud when trying to listen in the bedroom area, but we just closed the bathroom door and it was fine. It was kind of fun to be able to listen to the television while in the tub. Both the bathroom and room were heated very well. The water pressure was good. The bed was super comfortable. We had a little trouble with the wi-fi in the room on the first day (we stayed for two nights), but had no problem connecting in the lobby. The next day we had no problem with the wi-fi in the room, so it was probably just a hiccup.
The breakfast is out of this world. Brian is a master chef and Helen’s baking is beyond delicious. There is a cold buffet each morning of various bowls of stewed and fresh fruits, scones, brown bread, jams, bread and butter pudding, cereals and juices. A server takes your hot drink order (tea or coffee) and brings you a fresh pot of whichever you desire. She also takes your hot breakfast order from the menu and Brian whips it up from scratch using fresh ingredients. My husband had the feta tomato omelette and there was no problem requesting just egg whites. I opted to indulge in the pancakes which came with a side of warm fresh berries (blueberries, strawberries and raspberries). AMAZING! All of it was simply to die for. The staff are beyond lovely. They are eager to help you in your days planning if you need it and offer many helpful insights. Helen was also helping serve the first morning and she was so nice and helpful. My husband wanted a break from driving, so she set us up with a wonderful tour guide, Denis Ryan, who took us around the Slea Head Loop drive as well as up Conner Pass. We just asked if we could get help setting up a tour and Helen said, “sure, I can call Denis”. She was back in two minutes asking us if 10:30am worked for us. Such service! The next morning my husband opted for “Brian’s favorite omelette” which was spinach, bacon and Swiss cheese (again, super accommodating with the egg whites request) which he said was just as amazing, if not a touch more so, than the previous morning’s omelette. I couldn’t resist and had the pancakes for a second time in a row as they really were that good! All in all, we had the most relaxing, delicious, wonderful stay at Castlewood House. I wish we had stayed longer!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gomesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

It's #1 for a reason and I'm sure it will remain at the top for a long time to come. Fantastic setting, friendly and helpful owners and staff and above all a breakfast to remember. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Spent one night at Castlewood house a few nights ago and could not have been more pleased . Helen and Brian are wonderful host in every respect. They greet and treat you as long time friends and nothing you ask of them is an inconvience. When asked to recommend a restaurant for dinner they both spent a great amount of time to discover what we were looking for and then made a recommendation based on our responses. I should add their recommendation was spot on and we had a great dinner that evening. They also recommended several pubs to listen to music and we spent a couple of hours at a pub drinking Guinness and having a ball listening to traditional Irish music.
In short, when in Dingle, you can't go wrong at the Castlewood House.
PS: Brian makes a delicious breakfast before sending on your way!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Linens, antique furnishings, location, charm, hosts, delicious breakfasts, are all top notch. I felt like I stayed at a Ritz Carlton mellowed by a Irish B&B casualness.

Brian and Helen are clearly the best at what they do. Clean, restful, tasteful, elegant. Our room was pretty and great attention to detail (wi-fi, bedside water). Brian waited up for us (11pm) to from our long journey from Dublin (by way of Glendalough and Kilkenny) to ensure we were properly received at Castlewood. Perfectly situated in Dingle. Our hosts knew where to go (Doyle's Restaurant for seafood, Dick Mack's for some characters and craic, Linen Chest for exquisite Irish linens). Sprinkly some of Helen's bubbly personality and helpfulness and Castlewood is the perfect place to stay in Dingle.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geralyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.9 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
1 mi away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 9 in Dingle
896 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
0.5 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
471 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Dingle Pub
The Dingle Pub
#8 of 9 in Dingle
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlewood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlewood House

Address: Castlewood House The Wood, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Hotel Class:5 star — Castlewood House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxurious guest house is located on the shores of Dingle Bay, so it enjoys a fabulous view while just being a five minute walk to the vibrant centre of Dingle town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castlewood House Hotel Dingle
Castlewood Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing