We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Castlewood House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castlewood House
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We have been to Ireland twice and have visited Castlewood House both times. Everything about this Inn is fabulous! Brian and Helen are so welcoming and are very gifted hosts. They know how to make their guests feel very comfortable and valued. Their home is absolutely beautiful and the rooms are very comfortable with very modern fixtures. The view is breathtaking, and the breakfasts are amazing. If you're headed to Ireland don't miss the charming town of Dingle and definitely don't miss The Castlewood House!

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SusieVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,046
    36
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
183
683
28
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
184 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Our experiences echo all the wonderful comments others have made about Helen and Brian's wonderful hospitality. They truly understand hospitality. So, for us, we are in full agreement with others that this is an excellent place to stay and the host and hostess are exceptional. They did everything from book restaurants for us personally (thus helping to assure the outstanding treatment we received at both of them) to offer to take to the laundry any dirty clothes we might have. It was a memorable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterBuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed here in late Aug 2012. Since my review dittos everyone else's, I will get to my point. You have to try Brian's Salmon Omelet. It was hand's down the best meal I had in Ireland. As for the room, you cannot beat the price (least expensive place we stayed), clean and a very nice bath. I wish we had stayed for more than two days.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TN-Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We've just had a short stay in Castlewood House, which our son and his wife had strongly recommended to us. Everything about this B and B is simply wonderful - - the location beside the lapping waters, the warm welcome from Brian and Helen, their help with all our touristy questions, the luxurious rooms , fantastic breakfasts, the short stroll into lively Dingle; this has been without doubt the best B and B we've ever experienced.
Patch47

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patch47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here on 26 September. The hotel is clean with large rooms, good duvets, modern showers and great views. It's perfectly located so that you only have to walk out the front door and turn left for five minutes to find good seafood restaurants and pubs with live music. You have Slea Head, the Gap of Dunloe and Connor Pass all within a short drive from the hotel and the host Brian is exactly as described on this site. He volunteered to drive us to a restaurant as it was late and went the extra mile in helping us with local advice and tips. Breakfast looking out over Dingle Bay is unique. Thanks Brian.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Dingle Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wheelchoque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at Castlewood for three nights in September while we were in Dingle. The stay here could not have been better. Brian and Helen are wonderful people and this place has the best breakfast in all of Ireland. The room was very comfortable and the house is charming. If you are looking for excellent value then you will not be disappointed. Every night we walked to town for dinner and a few pints of Guinness. I really enjoyed the 15 or 20 minute walk to and from town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra Headland, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Dingle turned out to be the highlight of our driving tour of Ireland helped, no doubt, by Castlewood House. Helen and Brian wanted to create something special and I believe they have. The hotel is beautiful and the setting is picture-postcard pretty. The rooms are a good size, the bathrooms generous and everything is clean.
As Brian is a chef breakfast is restaurant quality.
Brian recommended several restaurants for dinner and we had no trouble finding one to suit our taste.
A concert in the old church, again recommended by Brian, just added to the positive memories.
Would I stay here again? Yes

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margot_Terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.9 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
0.7 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
1.0 mi away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 9 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
Heaton's Guesthouse
#3 of 9 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Dingle Pub
The Dingle Pub
#9 of 9 in Dingle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlewood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlewood House

Property: Castlewood House
Address: Castlewood House The Wood, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Hotel Class:5 star — Castlewood House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxurious guest house is located on the shores of Dingle Bay, so it enjoys a fabulous view while just being a five minute walk to the vibrant centre of Dingle town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castlewood House Hotel Dingle
Castlewood Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing