We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and friendly”
Review of Castlewood House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castlewood House
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at Castlewood for three nights in September while we were in Dingle. The stay here could not have been better. Brian and Helen are wonderful people and this place has the best breakfast in all of Ireland. The room was very comfortable and the house is charming. If you are looking for excellent value then you will not be disappointed. Every night we walked to town for dinner and a few pints of Guinness. I really enjoyed the 15 or 20 minute walk to and from town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

696 - 702 of 1,179 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

Dingle turned out to be the highlight of our driving tour of Ireland helped, no doubt, by Castlewood House. Helen and Brian wanted to create something special and I believe they have. The hotel is beautiful and the setting is picture-postcard pretty. The rooms are a good size, the bathrooms generous and everything is clean.
As Brian is a chef breakfast is restaurant quality.
Brian recommended several restaurants for dinner and we had no trouble finding one to suit our taste.
A concert in the old church, again recommended by Brian, just added to the positive memories.
Would I stay here again? Yes

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margot_Terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I questioned whether to even bother writing a review of this place, because it seems like there is nothing else to add to all of the positive comments regarding this B & B, which resembles a boutique hotel. We recently stayed here for two nights in two rooms and the experience was 100% positive. We have stayed in Dingle before, but this was our first time at Castlewood House. It won't be our last; Brian and Helen Heaton can add us to their fan club.

The rooms are unique, charming, clean, SPACIOUS, and filled with all sorts of amenities, many of which you won't find in an "ordinary" hotel. Lots of artwork and mirrors adorn the walls, all adding to the atmosphere of a modern, yet antique-styled, room. Our comfortable king bed had a solid wood headboard and footboard. There was adequate seating with the wood table and leather chairs provided and lighting was more than adequate for the room. We had a view of beautiful Dingle Bay which we enjoyed looking out at. Our bathroom deserved a gold medal on its own: it was quite large with both a walk-in shower (fabulous water pressure!) and a jetted bathtub. The marbled sink area was enormous and the towels were large and plush. There was a computer for guests' use in the hallway outside our room, but free wi-fi is available in rooms, too.

The entryway into Castlewood House sets the tone, with a large, sweeping, half-circled driveway with parking for guests. Gorgeous Dingle Bay is right in front of you, across the road. Upon entering the building, there is an anteroom that has coffee available for take-out, plus there are blankets available to use while sitting outside on cooler days. The foyer is beautifully decorated with comfortable seating, and there is also a gorgeous drawing room with additional coffee and tea, plus menus of local restaurants that you can peruse. The breakfast room is off the foyer and has a view of Dingle Bay. The buffet breakfast was outstanding and quite delicious with lots of homemade items. You get a choice of a breakfast entree, too, which Brian is an expert at cooking (try his pancakes!).

The Heatons will give you tips on the local area, like places to eat, where to listen to Irish music, travel ideas, etc. Castlewood House is about a 10 minute walk from the center of town on a safe, easy sidewalk. The hospitality is incredible and if there was an Olympics for B & B's, this place would easily win the gold!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mejulaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Without a doubt the nicest B&B we stayed in Ireland. We chose Castlewood based on the reviews in Trip Advisor and we weren't disappointed. Our room was luxurious, the shower was awesome, and everything was spotless and clean. Breakfast was a treat. The porridge was so delicious, especially with a shot of Kilbeggan. What a way to start the day. Dingle was a great place to spend 2 days (3 would have been better). Our dinner at Doyles was great and the music & atmosphere at O'Sullivan's Court House Pub was memorable. I've been listening to Tommy O'Sullivan's CD ever since we got home.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marklg33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Absolutely, the best ever tried. More than a B&B it is a small, luxurious hotel. Great suites, with any kind of comfort you can desire or imagine and the excellent cooking by Brian. Owners are really experienced and kind towards customs: quite expensive but you pay for the best. Every single spent cent is well worth! Alone, Castlewood gains the merit for a stay in Dingle. Since you go, treat you as best as you can in choosing the kind of room: suite advised... At breakfast time, try butter and bread pudding and Helen's treat with Irish Mist: warmly reccomended.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Riccardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We chose to stay at Castlewood House based on the many complimentary comments on TA, even though we were looking for a small B&B rather than a guesthouse. How pleased were we! The Dingle peninsular is a great area to visit and Dingle town the perfect place to use as your base. If its warm hospitality, great food and pub music you are after, then Dingle is for you. But however nice touring can be, to feel that when you come home from an exhausting day out, your guesthouse feels like home, is not always easy to achieve. But Brian and Helen certainly achieved that - and more. When we left we felt like we were saying goodbye to dear old friends and we can't wait to return. But the hidden bonus is Brian's breakfast. Probably the best in Ireland (if not Europe) and worth the accommodation charge alone. A real gem of a place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarryRLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

It is very difficult to fault this guesthouse, the house is situated a leisurely 10min walk from the centre of Dingle. It is tastefully decorated and the rooms are spacious, beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean.

Helen and Brian were very welcoming, full of local knowledge and genuinely a pleasure to chat with.

The breakfast is just to die for, cooked by Brian, and quite the selection. Of course there is the usual, serve yourself, breakfast first, Juices, youghurts, cereal....and you have got to try their 'Make your own fruit salad' selection, especially the pears poached in red wine, cinnamon and orange juice. Would stay here again, just for the breakfasts.

Room Tip: Very little price difference between rooms so treat yourself to their best if available, the Delux s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Comfortjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dingle
0.9 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
Dingle Skellig Hotel
#6 of 10 in Dingle
1,698 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#5 of 10 in Dingle
812 reviews
1 mi away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 10 in Dingle
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
Heaton's Guesthouse
#3 of 10 in Dingle
1,022 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#7 of 10 in Dingle
474 reviews
11.6 mi away
Caitins
Caitins
#2 of 2 in Cahersiveen
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlewood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlewood House

Address: Castlewood House The Wood, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dingle
Hotel Class:5 star — Castlewood House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxurious guest house is located on the shores of Dingle Bay, so it enjoys a fabulous view while just being a five minute walk to the vibrant centre of Dingle town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castlewood House Hotel Dingle
Castlewood Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing