We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the Best”
Review of Milestone House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Milestone House
Ranked #4 of 75 Dingle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Simsbury, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply the Best”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and I, visiting from Connecticut, USA, stayed at Milestone House for three days in October, and we can't recommend it enough to other travelers. For exploring the scenic and charming Dingle Penninsula, its location is perfect. But beyond that, the owners, Barbara and Michael Carroll cater to every need of their guests. Accommodations are charming and comforable. The included breakfasts are hearty, delicious and completely catered to the desires and tastes of the guests. But what makes Milestone truly perfect is the warm feeling of hospitality and the Carroll's attention to ensuring a memorable stay. For example, they pointed us to all the best things to do, not just in Dingle but elsewhere in Ireland as well. So if you're visiting the Dingle Penninsula, Milestone is THE play to stay. But Milestone is worth an unscheduled trip to Dingle. So if you're anywhere in Ireland, arrange a stay at Milestone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BairbreDingleIreland, Owner at Milestone House, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
So happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to Dingle and Milestone House.
There really is so much to explore and we are happy to share our experiences.
Our Home is an 'Open House' lots of fun stuff !
Be sure to come back soon
Regards
Michael and Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    53
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
182
346
27
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

WE had high expectations from the reviews of this Band B and failed to see why it had so many accolades. The breakfast was first class and the room clean, the hosts friendly but the whole place had more of an air of boarding house rather than home. I hadn't realised how large a concern it was but we were fortunate in being end of season and it was quiet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank passthewordUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BairbreDingleIreland, Owner at Milestone House, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are delighted that you appreciated our home for all the right reasons. Our hospitality, warm welcome and our home baking with Michael's great breakfasts.
We work hard to achieve the standards we have set ourselves.
I'm disappointed our house did not meet your expectations but as you can see there are hundreds of visitors to our home who have been more than happy with their experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I recently had the pleasure of spending a week at Milestone House. Meeting Barbara and Michael was an absolute pleasure – I’ve never met such friendly and helpful proprietors anywhere. Their local knowledge was incredible and nothing was too much trouble for them. The B&B was wonderful - rooms with fantastic views, spotlessly clean with a really comfortable bed and free Wi-fi. The breakfast was amazing, freshly made fruit salad, stewed rhubarb, scrambled eggs with smoked salmon and of course the “Full Irish” with everything piping hot and cooked to perfection. Michael’s home made soda bread , baked fresh and served warm every morning, was to die for! Dingle is an idyllic place and I would highly recommend Milestone House for the finest hospitality I have ever experienced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LesleyB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BairbreDingleIreland, Owner at Milestone House, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Wow!
Thanks so much for your very kind words,
Yes, we are so lucky to live in such a Magical place,
and we are genuinely delighted to 'share it'.
It makes life so easy when we meet people who appreciate it,
thanks so much and come back soon.
Barbara and Michael.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just echo the comments by Tim K. Barbara and Michael are wonderful hosts. They were right on the money with great recommendations on music, food and sightseeing. Very inviting rooms. Breakfast was delicious. Loved the salmon and eggs and the fruit salad. Nice and quiet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juststartingat50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BairbreDingleIreland, Owner at Milestone House, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thanks so much for your very kind words- we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll return to the Beautiful Dingle Peninsula again.
And of course revisit our home !!!
Very best wishes

Michael and Barbara.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were fortunate that on a VERY busy weekend in October due to a food festival in Dingle there was a cancellation at Milestone House. Our room was smallish but comfortable and clean with ensuite.
Barbara was very welcoming and a great source of information on the many potential dining and entertainment venues in Dingle. She can also advise on the wonderful sights to be seen on the extraordinary coastal drive.
Nothing was too much trouble and breakfast was delightful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJW52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Barbara and Michael were excellent hosts providing delicious breakfasts w/ homemade stewed rhubarb and jams, good recommendations for Dingle restaurants, pubs and music, and excellent directions for the Slea Head Loop and hiking opportunities. We had a quiet first floor room with views of Mount Brandon. WiFi, ample parking, easy drive to Dingle and quiet country setting. We highly recommend the Milestone House for value and service. We loved the view from our room. Tim and Carol K.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Michael & Barbara provided us with the best guidance on where to go & stop on our tour around the Dingle Peninsula. They created a warm and inviting home for you to anchor down in and enjoy the beauty of Ireland and its people. Michael's home made morning bread is still something Chris talks about when describing the trip to friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dingle hotels
1.2 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
1.1 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
Heaton's Guesthouse
#3 of 9 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 9 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.2 mi away
Milltown House
Milltown House
#6 of 75 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brownes Bed & Breakfast Dingle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milestone House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milestone House

Property: Milestone House
Address: Dingle | Co Kerry, Dingle 0000, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Milestone House Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing