We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful B & B in Dingle.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lantern Townhouse
Ranked #23 of 75 Dingle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fruitland Park, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful B & B in Dingle.”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

A great place to stay.The young man who runs the place and serves breakfast was very nice. He gave us pointers on where to eat and where to hear the best music. It is right in the heart of town in walking distance to all the shops, pubs and restaurants.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    78
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
55
129
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sapo60
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Only stayed here one night, however the location is fantastic (right in the heart of town), quiet and clean rooms. Breakfast is made to order and the staff goes out of their way to make what you want as well as ensuring you are comfortable.

Room Tip: We had a room on the street side and it was quite quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sapo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Lantern is in a great spot to explore up and down the Main Street hill in Dingle. The owner was a great guy who passed along spot-on advice for pubs, restaurants and live music.

Don't miss "Foxy John's" - a combination pub and operating hardware store - just up the hill, on the other side of the road.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed here in April with my husband when we came to Dingle for a long weekend. The staff were very friendly when we arrived and extremely helpful in recommending places to go and see. The all day coffee and fruit availability at reception for guests and chocolates on the pillows are a nice touch. The room was immaculate, well decorated and kept very clean. Breakfast is lovely, its a nice change to the usual 'full Irish' which by the way you won't get here, just in case you wanted one, but the smoked salmon scrambled eggs and belgian waffles are lovely and plenty of food to set you up for the day. Price was reasonable and on par with most other B& B accomodation and location was excellent, right on the main street in the middle of town. On street parking is plentiful. If you get a room at the front facing the street there is a little noise at night from pub goers returning home after a night out shouting if you sleep with the windows open, we closed them and the noise wasn't a problem and there really wasn't much, no traffic noise or anything just a few late night revellers shouting on their way home, but if you like to sleep with the windows open, perhaps ask for a room towards the back.
Really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return and recommend to friends. Thanks for making our stay a very enjoyable one.

Room Tip: If you on street noise bothers you maybe ask for a room not facing the street, but the noise is mini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon_lunney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here Friday and Saturday night of the Dingle walking festival in February. Fabulous location in the centre of town and a short stroll to all the good pubs and restaurants. It's a gorgeous B&B - really cosy and comfortable room with attractive decor and the best bed ever. Despite my room being to front of the house, there was no noise issue and I slept soundly. The owner was very friendly and helpful as well. The only slightly disappointing element was the breakfast - while perfectly nice, I felt it didn't quite live up to the description on their website. However I highly recommend this B&B and would choose it myself for any future trips to Dingle.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

A mini road trip from Dublin to Dingle, we parked up our car outside Centra and browsed for a accommodation.

We liked the look of the Lantern Townhouse and decided to check it out. Lovely owner, gave us a choice of rooms and good breakfast. Cooked to order.

Thanks

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leecurlywurly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davie florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at The Lantern for several days in early October. We arrived on the last day of the Dingle Wine & Food festival. The town was crowded with folks attending the festival. We were greeted by Thomas upon our arrival and he was very friendly and informative. Our room was nicely decorated and the bathroom large by Irish standards. However the bathroom was not as clean as we expect. There were more then several lines of mold/mildew in the shower and it needed a good thorough scrubbing. The bed was very comfortable.
The absolute best part of staying at the Lantern was its great location in the heart of Dingle. We were literally within a two minute stroll to pubs and restaurants. Thomas was always eager to provide info regarding the Dingle area and recommending restaurants,driving routes and which pubs would have live music.
The room we stayed in faced the main street and was noisy in the morning with the rumbling of trucks and traffic. The breakfast was average for a B&B. We would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flagrubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.0 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lighthouse B & B
The Lighthouse B & B
#7 of 75 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
O'Neills Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Murphy's B & B
Murphy's B & B
#14 of 75 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bambury's Guesthouse
Bambury's Guesthouse
#12 of 75 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lantern Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lantern Townhouse

Property: The Lantern Townhouse
Address: The Lantern Townhouse Main Street, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lantern Townhouse Dingle is a warm, friendly and welcoming bed and breakfast in the heart of Dingle town. Our priority is to make you feel welcome and comfortable in a clean and cosy environment. We also provide a daily bed "make up" service. All rooms are en suite and tastefully decorated. We are happy to provide you with our local knowledge about Dingle and its environs! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Lantern Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lantern Townhouse Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing