We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in a special town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lantern Townhouse
Ranked #26 of 75 Dingle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed at the Lantern for 4 days in August. It is wonderfully located, right on Main Street with restaurants and pubs up and down the street. Dingle was our favorite town in Ireland. The music and pubs are fantastic, the people are extremely friendly, and the Slea Head Drive is beautiful (though often the views are limited by fog).

The breakfasts were the best we had in Ireland- the waffles are delicious, the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon tasty, and the freshly-baked breads amazing- we fell in love with the white bread, crunchy on the outside and moist on the inside. The breakfast room was a social place to chat with other travelers. The food was plentiful and you can help yourself to unlimited juice, bread, cheese and cereals, which was not the case at all other B&B's.

We had 2 rooms in the family area on the attic floor. They were small but comfortable with one exception- we were under the impression that the only window on the ceiling roof of the room did not open (we tried to open it but could not). Two of the nights, the room was sweltering, and this was during a period when the sun was not out very much. We actually slept with our doors wide open.

We wish that Thomas or Katherine had told us on check-in that the window actually opened, as this is not at all obvious. It is also worth noting that there is no view from that window, as it looks towards the sky, and that one sometimes hears noise from people coming out of pubs in the street, though it seemed to die down by about midnight or so.

The only other negatives were that when we first arrived after a long drive, we rang the bell but no one answered. I then called their phone number and no one answered. After waiting for about 10 minutes, I knocked on the window and Thomas answered. He said that the doorbell was not working. I found this very annoying and a bad way to create a positive first impression.

However, apart from these things, Thomas and Katherine were excellent hosts. They were patient and helpful answering our questions and making a call or two to help us with plans. They also made some inquiries with the Benner's hotel across the street, which led to us finding a wonderful babysitter so we could stay out and enjoy the music at the pubs.

We would definitely stay at the Lantern again. Dingle and the Dingle Peninsula are wonderful places.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MateoElViajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 291 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2012

we stayed at the Lantern for three days from 16th July. we had stayed here before in 2009 and the same hospitality as before was excellent. Katherine and her husband were excellent hosts, didnt get to sample the brekkies as the bed was so comfortable that we slept on, would highly recommend it , also very central to all the bars and restaurants and few mins walk to the harbour. also free parking across the road, very handy just to park up for the few days and not have to worry about parking .

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvonne562011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

During our trip to Ireland in July 2012, we stayed only in B & B's as we drove the southern part of the country. This was probably our favorite. Thomas, our host, met us when we arrived and was a fount of information - and he didn't mind spending the time with us answering our questions and providing recommendations for places to see and eat. We had an en suite room which was at the front of the inn overlooking Main Street. We had the windows open and could hear all of the street noise which didn't bother us one bit. The bed was comfortable, the shower hot, and the breakfast delicious. There is convenient parking in a small car park directly across the street. You are just a minute walk from Green Street and all of it's shops. A perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: If you need quiet for sleeping, ask for a room at the back of the inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamelasou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We had a great stay at the Lantern Townhouse. The room was towards the back and looked out over a back patio of some sorts. It was a quiet room and had a very large bathroom. The owners definitely pay attention to details. There was a carafe of drinking water full and waiting for us when we arrived, and little chocolates on the pillows. Breakfast was probably the best of our entire trip. Comfy bed. There is an internet cafe across the street.

We found free parking easily in front of the B&B. It is centrally located in town and you can walk to everything.

A note about Dingle--it is a tourist town, so it is expensive. It's hard to find a budget meal so bring money.....

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhitneyC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We were only in Dingle for 3 days but Thomas and Katherine made us feel very welcome in the Lantern Townhouse. The room was comfortable and the breakfast was good with a varied choice; I can recommend the Waffles and Maple Sytup! There is convenient parking across the road and the place is conveniently situated in the middle of Dingle's Main Street. We would definately go back to the Lantern Townhouse.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room not facing on the road but the best way to avoid being dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This was the best place that we stayed in our whole entire trip to Ireland which included 13 cities. The couple that runs this place are very sweet and accommodating. The room was great, the location was great, the food was amazing! If you are in Dingle this is the ONLY place to stay. You will love it. Thanks again for the lovely time.

Cheers!
Shadi & Julia from Vancouver, Canada

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shadi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This place way very nice and in the center of the city. Everything in town is accessable by walking. There is no assigned parking but we never had trouble finding a parking place on the street that is free. If stairs are an issue you may want to request a lower floor. Nice Irish breakfast available.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveling_for_Fun76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.7 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
0.5 mi away
Harbour Nights Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
The Lighthouse B & B
The Lighthouse B & B
#10 of 75 in Dingle
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Barr Na Sraide Inn
Barr Na Sraide Inn
#31 of 75 in Dingle
211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dingle Marina Lodge
Dingle Marina Lodge
#23 of 75 in Dingle
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dingle Quayside
The Dingle Quayside
#8 of 75 in Dingle
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lantern Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lantern Townhouse

Address: The Lantern Townhouse Main Street, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Price Range: $88 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lantern Townhouse Dingle is a warm, friendly and welcoming bed and breakfast in the heart of Dingle town. Our priority is to make you feel welcome and comfortable in a clean and cosy environment. We also provide a daily bed "make up" service. All rooms are en suite and tastefully decorated. We are happy to provide you with our local knowledge about Dingle and its environs! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Lantern Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lantern Townhouse Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing