We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful in Dingle” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lighthouse B & B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lighthouse B & B
Ranked #7 of 78 Dingle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delightful in Dingle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed at the Lighthouse in Dingle for only one night. I wish it could have been longer. There are delightful views of the harbor area, and it is quite close to the downtown area. The B&B is exceptionally clean. We had a large room with a great view of the bay. Our room was one of the most spacious of our many we stayed in during our 3 weeks. Breakfast was wonderful. Our hostess Mary was delightful. She joined a few of the female guests in a little chat about things to do in Dingle. I would highly recommend the Lighthouse.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room facing the front for a good view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RBFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    57
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
102
207
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Co
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

While preparing for our trip to Ireland, my daughter told us that if we did nothing else, we needed to visit Dingle and stay at The Lighthouse B&B. And she wasn't wrong! Mary and her husband are excellent hosts, the rooms are comfy and had lots of storage space. It has beautiful views of the bay and is just a short walking distance to town. Breakfast was always delicious- make sure you try the porridge with Bailey's.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RARK117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

The Lighthouse is a beautiful B&B in a great little seaside town. The hosts were warm and inviting, and the room was comfy. It's just out of Dingle town on the west side, with great ocean views, yet still walking distance from the heart of town.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sundial J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

I can't imagine what it must be like to wake up every morning and see the stunning view over the village of Dingle and its harbor, but it must be heaven. You'll find that little bit of heaven on the front porch of The Lighthouse B&B. The fishing village is home to shops, churches, pubs, homes, and pastures, all in one beautiful landscape spread out before you, ready to explore. The Murphys are great hosts and provide a delicious breakfast as well as a comfortable, nicely decorated place to stay. Be aware, however, that it is at the top of the hill, a good ten-to-fifteen-minute walk into town (downhill, but uphill coming back).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hypatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Of all the places we stayed while in Ireland, this was, by far, our favorite! The Murphy's were most welcoming and pleasant and their home was absolutely beautiful and comfortable (not to mention the great breakfast they gave us each morning!). Dingle is a quaint and pleasant village right on the water. The pubs were bursting with locals and travelers alike. We would love to go back sometime in the future! I'm very late putting up this posting, so the dates to choose from when asking when we traveled didn't go back far enough. We actually went May 2013.

Room Tip: I can't remember which room we were in, but I can't imagine any of them being bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmptyNestersUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

I've stayed in quite a few B&Bs on the west coast of Ireland, and this is definitely one of my faves. Helpful and gracious homeowners, spectacular views, spacious and comfortable rooms, delicious breakfast. A healthy walk to town, or a 1 minute drive — super easy.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NJS411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

This is a very comfortable B&B with wonderful views over the town and harbour. Breakfasts to suit every taste and rooms are clean and ours was particularly spacious. Even if you haven't got a sea view you can sit on the landing or in the lounge and enjoy the vista. Denis and Mary were there to help and suggest activities, suitable walks and places to eat (there is an eclectic mix of dining places near at hand). Everyone knows everyone in Dingle! The town is a ten/fifteen minute walk- bit of a climb on the return journey!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neiltaylor08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.9 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
0.3 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
Heaton's Guesthouse
#3 of 9 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 9 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.4 mi away
Milltown House
Milltown House
#6 of 78 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lighthouse B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lighthouse B & B

Property: The Lighthouse B & B
Address: The Lighthouse High Road, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Lighthouse B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lighthouse Bed And Breakfast
The Lighthouse Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing