We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lovett's Hostel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lovett's Hostel
Ranked #19 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Dingle
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Myself and my friend stayed here for a midweek work-related excursion to Dingle.

The experience we had of Lovett's hostel from the very start was nothing but positive.

We had certain requirements - i.e. the need for good WIFI connection, location, security - and our expectations regarding all of these were surpassed.

Firstly, the location itself is excellent - in a quiet little cul-de-sac haven, 2-3 minutes walk from the centre of town, and the gorgeous Dingle waterfront.

There is on-site parking too, which was a plus as I know a lot of hostels would not usually have this.

As other reviewer Jane M has mentioned, it's more like a B&B setting but with the price of the hostel. Our room was clean, and my bed was very comfortable! The bathroom was good was well.

The little communal sitting room is a real treat as well, with a wood fire and TV, as well as board games.

My experience of the owners, especially Helen, was very positive. Helen was kind and attentive, and gave us some excellent advice regarding the Slea Head drive, which is a must-see. I felt very at home here, which is a rare thing to feel when staying in a hostel nowadays.

I will most certainly be coming back to Dingle,and to Lovett's Hostel - let's just hope the weather will be as good as it was this week!

Thank you Helen!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    4
    5
    6
See reviews for
2
6
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

One of the best places I've ever stayed! It's more like a B&B setting but with the price of a hostel. Clean, plenty of room, and comfortable. The family that owns the hostel are lovely - very friendly and warm :). And very accommodating! The location is great as well. If you come to dingle, there's no better place to stay than at Lovett's!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Rooms are a bit small but the hostel was quite empty (end of july) so we had enough room for us. The owner is bit rude; she came into our room once without knocking at the door. Shower has warm water and the toilet is good as well. The hostel is clean; there's also a small kitchen and a sitting room. Good wifi connection.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with 6-8 beds because they cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lo_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

was almost empty begining of may
so had room to myself with 4 close together single beds
if they had been full it would have been crowded
owner was nice got me a good deal on bike for the day
but shower was always cold even if red light was on

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShawnMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

When we first arrived there was a bit of confusion with the booking (I had inquired about adding a night to our stay and the owner had muddled it up with another cancellation). Only one bed was available and we needed two; and since it was festival weekend nothing else in town was available. The owner offered for me to sleep on the couch, which would have been fine, since it was quite a comfortable, homey sort of hostel. But one guy never showed up to claim his bed, so I ended up with a bed after all. So it worked out ok! The hostel owner was much more flustered by the whole situation than I was.

Lovett's is a hostel within a home, so it felt more comfortable than a lot of other places I've stayed at. The other people in our room were friendly and we ended up going to the pubs together both nights. The bathrooms were clean, the rooms spacious, and we had a kitchen to utilize. Dingle is a small town, so there's no worries about walking distance. It was really accessible, and I'd be happy to stay there again if I got the chance to return to Dingle.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliaMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

It was cheap but look we look we came for a stag just 3 of us and this ticked the box really,beds were fine it was warm, showers are a bit questionable..owner was a little off putting and no real parking just kerbed it.. Dingle is a great town though so only used lovetts to satisfy 8hrs of sleeping and nothing more

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Conor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jena, Thüringen, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed at the Lovett's for 2 nights. It was nice and very clean, also the staff was helpful and friendly. Still I have two complaints:
- Signs at the doors the visitors are not supposed to enter would have been very useful, because more often than not I was quite unsure about it.
- It's stated that the hostel has internet, and it does, but somehow it was so slow that I couldn't load even one page online, and I tried for hours. In the end, I even got in trouble after leaving the Lovett's because I couldn't check my e-mails. Too bad.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gab R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.3 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
0.2 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.4 mi away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 9 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
Heaton's Guesthouse
#3 of 9 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Dingle Quayside
The Dingle Quayside
#10 of 78 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lovett's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovett's Hostel

Property: Lovett's Hostel
Address: Colleen, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Dingle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Lovett's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing