We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great stay for large family or friends group...”
other travelers have booked this property
Gorgeous Sandy Beach. 4 minute stroll down lovely quiet country lane
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gorgeous Sandy Beach. 4 minute stroll down lovely quiet country lane
Beautiful Ocean View from property. One of the many lovely views Gorgeous Sandy Beach. 4 minute stroll down lovely quiet country lane
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
84 reviews
Gorgeous Sandy Beach. 4 minute stroll down lovely quiet country lane
Beautiful Ocean View from property. One of the many lovely views
Gorgeous Sandy Beach. 4 minute stroll down lovely quiet country lane
Beautiful fully equipped country Kitchen. Has lovely Mountain and Ocean Views
Fully equipped country Kitchen. Has lovely Mountain and Ocean Views
Fully equipped country Kitchen. Has lovely Mountain and Ocean Views
Beautiful fully equipped country Kitchen. Has lovely Mountain and Ocean Views
Fully equipped country Kitchen. Has lovely Mountain and Ocean Views
Spacious Deck off kitchen/Dining room. Overlooks large back lawn, fields, mountains and ocean.
Cozy Lounge. Beautiful Ocean Views. Lovely smoked/waxed oak flooring throughout.
Cozy Lounge. Beautiful Ocean Views. Lovely smoked/waxed oak flooring throughout.
Cozy Lounge. Beautiful Ocean Views. Lovely smoked/waxed oak flooring throughout.
Queen Bedroom with ensuite. Beautiful Mountain and Ocean Views. Totally peaceful
Queen Bedroom with ensuite. Beautiful Mountain and Ocean Views. Totally peaceful
Queen bedroom with en-suite. Lovely Ocean and Mountain Views. Overlooks garden.
Queen bedroom with en-suite. Lovely Ocean and Mountain Views. Overlooks garden.
Queen bedroom near additional main bathroom. Wonderful ocean, mountain and garden views.
Queen bedroom next to a main bathroom. Overlooking garden. Mountain views.
Queen bedroom next to a main bathroom. Overlooking garden. Mountain views.
Queen bedroom next to a main bathroom. Overlooking garden. Mountain views.
Queen bedroom next to a main bathroom. Overlooking garden. Mountain views.
Queen Bedroom next to main bathroom with Jacuzzi bath. Lovely ocean and mountain views.
Twin bedroom. Mountain views. Next to one of the 2 additional main bathrooms.
Twin bedroom. Mountain views. Next to one of the 2 additional main bathrooms.
Two-person jetted tub with individual head rests in one of two main bathrooms
Second Lounge/TV Room with HD Widescreen, Cable Television, DVD player/ recorder, Wii console.
One of the two additional main bathrooms with beautiful claw bath.
Spacious utility room adjoining the kitchen with 2nd fridge-freezer, microwave, washer and drier
Bright and spacious Hall. Smoked oak wood floor. Beautiful hand-crafted stairway.
Bright and spacious Hall. Smoked oak wood floor.
Bright and spacious Hall. Smoked oak wood floor. Beautiful hand-crafted stairway.
Additional downstairs Toilet - 5th toilet in the house
Mountain View from back garden. Fields beyond with sheep grazing...tranquility!
The house name 'Didean' means 'Haven' in Irish (Gaelic)...and it truly is that!
'The Sleeping Giant': one of The Blasket Island off Slea Head.
Rainbow at the end of the Garden!
Luxury 6 Bedroom house. Dramatic Ocean and Mountain Views. 2 mins stroll down quiet lane to beach.
‘Fungi’ the famous local wild dolphin who has adopted Dingle Bay as his home for many years.
Gorgeous Sandy Beach. 4 minute stroll down lovely quiet country lane
Luxury 6 Bedroom house. Dramatic Ocean and Mountain Views. 2 mins stroll down quiet lane to beach.
Sunset on the sandy beach near the house
Gorgeous Sandy Beach. 4 minute stroll down lovely quiet country lane
Beautiful Ocean View from property. One of the many lovely views
Mountain Views from the property.
Beautiful Ocean View from property. One of the many lovely views
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 84 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Benny1Lon...
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good and not so good points.”
Reviewed September 4, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We rented this house for a week in July.

It was pretty difficult to find a house of this size in Kerry so the choice was pretty limited.

There were good and bad points about this house which I'll share in the hope they may be of use to fellow travellers.

Firstly the good points;

Good location, close to Dingle (10 min drive)
Great beach about 5 minutes walk from the house
The house itself is deceptively spacious as the loft is converted it squeezes in a couple of extra rooms up there.

And the not so good points;

The hours of entry, you are not allowed to even approach the house until after 5pm on the Day of check in (the host was very specific about this) and you have to be fully out with keys in letter box by 10am on the day of check out (again no flexibility about this at all even when requested) I get they need to clean the house but this does seem a bit over the top to me given everything they expect you to do before you leave.

The list of instructions insisted we stripped all our own beds and leave the bedding and towels in the laundry room, everything had to be back in its specific place. All the rubbish had to be put in the bin outside and the recycling had to be taken to some petrol station 5 miles away along with a host of other instructions.

There were signs all over the house telling you what you could and couldn't do, not open windows, not change settings on TV etc etc etc. All a little over the top.

The condition of the house was a little lacking. The floor tiles in the kitchen were missing grout and loose, the oven was tiny with a door that didn't close and it took ages to heat up. The Jacuzzi had a broken button so we couldn't use it. The blinds in the skylight windows upstairs are paper thin so come 4am it's like the middle of the day in the bedrooms, black out blinds would easily have sorted this. Now these are all minor things but when your paying €3000 a week to stay somewhere you do expect the place not to have these kind of defects.

All in all the house was OK but definitely overpriced for what it is. Next time I think we will go elsewhere.

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 13, 2017
Dear Brendan,
Thank you for going to the trouble of leaving us a review, we appreciate it. Thank you for your kind words about the spaciousness of the house, the wonderful beach and the closeness to Dingle..yes it’s wonderful and our guests really love that. We are sorry to hear in this review that you weren’t completely happy with your stay. We were especially surprised to hear that, as you had emailed us right at the end of your stay and said ‘’Hi Niamh, All is well here and we are having a lovely time at the house’’. We do so wish that you had informed us during your stay, as we pride ourselves on responding to any issues raised by our guests promptly and professionally (as other guests have stated in the multiple 5-star reviews here on this site).
We are grateful for your feedback and also must clarify a few points you raised. Check-in is in fact from 4pm (not 5pm) and our check-in and check-out (10am) times are standard for such a large house. We understand that you weren’t happy at not being given a late check-out however this large house really needs a great deal of work and time between guests, to ensure that it is presented beautifully for the incoming guests (just as it was for your group). It takes a lot more than just cleaning and we also ensure that there are other special touches like wine, chocolates and flowers left for our guests too. All guests are asked to agree to those times and terms during the online booking process so that they know in advance.
The recycling goes in the blue refuse bin behind the house - perhaps the members of your group that checked in earlier than you did not convey this to you.
There is only one window in the whole house that we ask not to be opened and it is only one roof window in the upstairs second lounge, because it has the main TV right beneath it and with irish weather being unpredictable it could get damaged by rain. However, in that very same room there is another large window that can be freely opened along with all the other windows in the house.
Regarding the jacuzzi – again we would like to assure you that had you informed us of the problem with it during your stay, we would have had a plumber out straight away. We are glad to report that guests have been enjoying the use of the jacuzzi for the last few months now since your stay.
We really do strive to create a wonderful experience for our guests hence why we have 63 five-star reviews on this site, from guests who were absolutely thrilled with their stay, including recent guests, since your stay– we are glad delighted to say that this is far more than any other property in our area on tripadvisor. We thank you again for your feedback and wish you all the best.
Kind Regards
Niamh and Frank
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foley3264
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great stay for large family or friends group. Spacious and comfortable.”
Reviewed August 23, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Great location with beach 5 mins away. Short drive into lively DIngle. Beautiful house that sleeps 12 comfortably. Would most definitely book again.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 17, 2018
Thanks so much for your review. So glad that you enjoyed the location, beach and closeness to Dingle! Yes its great that its so comfortable and feels so spacious even to large groups staying. We are delighted to hear that you may return again!
All the best,
Niamh and Frank
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pkgang
Spring Lake, Michigan
2 reviews
“Wish we could have stayed forever!”
Reviewed August 18, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Cannot begin to adequately express how perfect Niamh and Frank's house was for our family vacation. There were 12 of us. Two of our children and their spouses and six of our grandchildren. We enjoyed this wonderful spot the first week in August, and it was amazing. The boys cooked huge breakfasts every morning in the wonderful kitchen and everyone then took off exploring. The beach down the road (accompanied by Monster, the dog from across the street), the climb up the mountain behind the house. Dingle, Slea Head, Ballyferriter, Inch Beach, castles and ruins, even golf for 8 of us one day. Loved being in the farm area surrounded by sheep and cows (even enjoyed the "traffic jam" occasionally while waiting for the cows to pass!). Evenings were spent around the table playing cards and games, and most nights the kids took over the upstairs lounge area watching movies and playing Wii. A huge thank you to Frank and Niamh. You have a beautiful spot here, and we had a memorable and fantastic family week enjoying beautiful Ireland and its wonderful people.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 17, 2018
We are thrilled that you all enjoyed your stay so much. It's great that you made full use of the space in the house and enjoyed sharing wonderful meals in the kitchen. This house is certainly perfectly located to visit all the sites of the Dingle peninsula. Yes its wonderful being right in the heart of stunning scenery and nature. Great that you enjoyed the golf as well as spending time in Dingle town. It sounds like you did some wonderful exploring and enjoyed the wonderful walks from the house. We hope to welcome you back again!
All the best,
Niamh and Frank
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mkelly48
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Outstanding property in idyllic setting”
Reviewed July 25, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

★ ★ ★ ★ ★
The house is so comfortable and the setting is stunning
We had a great time very comfortable home and responsive owners. The setting is magical and conveniently located just outside Dingle with a lovely beach just a three minutes walk down the road

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 17, 2018
Thanks Mary. We're so glad that you had a lovely time and thank you for your kind words. That's great that you enjoyed the beach near the house...it certainly is idyllic with its stunning views out to the sea stack. Great that you also enjoyed popping in easily to Dingle and that the house was comfortable and spacious for your group of 12. Many thanks
All the best,
Niamh and Frank
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carriekav...
Arvada, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Dingle!”
Reviewed July 17, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Beautiful home and views! The beach area 2 mins away by foot is incredible! Niamh, is lovely!
If we ever get back to Ireland we are going straight back to this home! It was perfect! Thank you!!!

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 17, 2018
Thanks Carrie for saying you'd love to come back...you're more than welcome! It was a pleasure having you stay.
All the best,
Niamh and Frank
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harriet G
Richland Center, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ireland and Dingle at its finest!”
Reviewed June 29, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Getting too old to travel but wanted to show children and grandchildren one of my favorite places on earth. We stayed in this beautiful house that was replete with every convenience and glorious views--all we could have desired. We visited every ancient site in the area, hiked up hills, fished in Dingle Bay and returned to the comforts provided by the kind and helpful owners. This house will always be part of my best memories of Ireland

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2018
Dear Harriet,
Thank you so much for your lovely words. It was great to hear that it lived up to all your memories and that this house enhanced your very special journey here to Ireland. We are so glad that you got to share your experience with your kids and grandkids. This home has given a wonderful experience and helped create great memories for many 3-generation groups such as yours. Many thanks
Best wishes,
Niamh and Frank
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foodbloss...
Hamilton, Georgia
2 reviews
“The house sits in a humbly wild place and provided just the right amount of pee & adventure for my family.”
Reviewed June 22, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We flew from the States and then drove across the country to get to this rustic piece of land and sea. Encompassed in the serenity of the green, we were relaxed and happy. But once we turned onto the Wild Atlantic Way, we felt a certain excitement. The foxgloves and wildflowers along the walls led us to the Cinn Aird road and everything stood still- vibrating in a free space that allows all to breathe. I'd vote this the most relaxing place on earth.
We arrived late so had to go looking in Dingle Town for dinner. We landed at John Benny's where they made us feel so welcome and cozy on a tapestried bench with locals, a fish curry, mussels, roast/ veg/ mashers for the kids. A woman with her squeeze box and a man with a guitar and stories played just feet away while we ate. Later in the week we attended a more formal folk concert at St. James that's not to be missed. We also enjoyed Chowder, Ashe's, The Goat Street Social Club, and all the wool shops before we left.
The morning we awoke, we watched a fox spring over the hills with birds squawking around her. She came all the way to the yard and stared at us, as sure a welcome as any stranger'd expect. We cooked and enjoyed many meals in the great kitchen at the house, found quiet moments in the beautifully lit front room. The bedrooms were quiet and comfy. There's so much space to be together but enjoy moments alone, too.
The walk from Didean to the beach delighted and enchanted us. All the colors surprised us, especially in the subdued and misty rain (purple-pink foxgloves, small yellow flowers and white, the rocks in lavender and rose and greys, the turquoise sea and blue skies, the emerald green all around!). We took another walk to a lighthouse and castle ruins along some cliffs nearby. The Slea Head Drive and short hike to Peddler's Lake at Conor Pass were refreshing!
We took a few road trips crossing the country over our 2 week stay and were always relieved to come back to this quiet, homey spot.
Frank and Niamh were patient with our big group and very efficient and helpful communicating, but did not hover. We are simply grateful they shared this glimpse of peace with us.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2018
Dear Shannon,
Thanks for your absolutely stunning review...so beautiful and perfectly descriptive. Yes its great that in a house so spacious as this that you can enjoy the company as well as alone time if you wish. Your writing is poetic and paints the picture of this area beautifully. It encaptures the atmosphere of the house, and gardens as well as the country fields,, lanes and beach around it. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Best wishes
Niamh and Frank
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing