We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reseal the marriage through the upright celtic stone”
Review of Kilmalkedar Church

Kilmalkedar Church
Book In Advance
More Info
$311.17*
and up
Private Tour of Dingle Peninsula from Killarney
Ranked #8 of 74 things to do in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
Helena, MT
Level 6 Contributor
975 reviews
262 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 465 helpful votes
“Reseal the marriage through the upright celtic stone”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We hit the church late on a rainy late Dec day. Getting dark with lots of great sights under our belt.

The church was great but the yard about had some really great stones, ogham stone, and old crosses. One stone had a hole through it that reputedly allowed parties to guarantee a deal in front of God by touching their thumbs through it. The deals can include re cementing your marriage vows and that was our option.

Pretty cool.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vintagetrailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    60
    10
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Back in time”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Don't miss this. A bit off the beaten path but well worth it. See many centuries of history in one place. The ancient church is just part of it. Get up close and personal with the Ogham stone in the church yard and marvel at the many centuries of human history that have come before us.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank drrobrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“a beautiful little church”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I love visiting this church and cemetery. There is so much history here from the sundial telling the monks when it was time for prayers several times a day to the alphabet stone inside. The crosses are so simple but beautiful. This year I even found there is a Holy well in the field across the road. There is a swinging gate in the wall to go through to see it. I hope you will put this on your list of places to visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mimidarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Beautiful church ruins”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Very nice cemetery surrounding the church ruins. Catholic Church that was destroyed and never rebuilt. There is a tradition to touch your thumbs together with your loved one through a hole in one of the Celtic stones that stands in front of the ruins.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TallyHoNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Stop to see”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stopped at this little church with an interesting cemetery and spent about 1/2 hour walking around, reading gravestones, etc. Put your fingers in the hole of the stone in front of the church to 'seal the deal'. Beautiful celtic crosses, etc. We were the only ones there - just park on the side road next to the church.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank whitefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilmalkedar Church also viewed

Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle Peninsula, County Kerry
 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 

Been to Kilmalkedar Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing