We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely center, stay out of the cafeteria”

Great Blasket Island
Book In Advance
More Info
$62.45*
and up
Private Tour: Dingle Peninsula from Killarney
Ranked #1 of 72 things to do in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
Walnut Cree, Ca.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely center, stay out of the cafeteria”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Center is lovely, but cafeteria food is poor and staff hostile. Bring your own meal and eat outside. They will not let you eat as much as a crumb of your own food inside the facility.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank danandrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    67
    10
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pure Magic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

I had fallen under the spell of the Great Blasket Island and its history before leaving the US, and we were extremely fortunate to have sunny weather on the one day a trip to the island was possible for us. I was completely captivated by the island and its spectacular beauty, and I dream of returning to spend several nights there with just a tent and my husband for company. I agree with the “October Surprise” review; half the magic of a trip to the island is being surprised by what you’ll find there. If you like nature and hiking and photography, try to stay as long as you can on a day trip; our three-hour tour was not nearly long enough for us! (Note - The boat landing is not at all treacherous, as some reviewers make it sound; if you have reasonably good balance and health, you should be fine.)
Finally, be sure to visit the superb Blascaod Centre museum in Dun Chaoin - ideally before a trip to the island – to learn about the fascinating history of the Blasket islanders and their bygone way of life.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Openskies65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The museum was very interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

The history behind this was fascinating. The people the geography. It was interesting how many writers came from this island. The Museum was very well put toguether, it offer a film about the the people, pictures, sample of the writtings.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
94 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Essential day-trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is one of the most beautiful places in the world and very much a part of Irish history and folk heritage

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
160 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Well worth visiting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

The Blasket Centre (Ionad an Bhlascaoid Mhóir) at Dunquin, tells the story of the Blasket islanders, their unique literary achievements, their native language, culture and tradition and it is well worth visiting, as it will give you a good insight into what life was like on the Blaskets, before they were finally abandoned in the 1950s. Make sure you see the 15/20 minute video, as you will learn a lot from it. There are excellent photographs and exhibits and I particularly liked the recreation of, what would have been a typical house on the island.
I don’t think that young children, and perhaps teenagers, would really appreciate being brought there for an hour or two!
If you have a Heritage Ireland pass, it covers the admission cost to this interpretative centre.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank fenlaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Blasket Island also viewed

Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 
Dingle Peninsula, County Kerry
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 

Been to Great Blasket Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing