We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fungie: 30 years at Dingle”

Dingle Dolphin Boat Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.00*
and up
Dingle Dolphin Boat tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Dingles most famous attraction for 31 years now - Fungie the Dingle Dolphin. Beautiful Dingle Bay to see this magical Bottle nosed Dolphin fungie that has chose to make Dingle his home .He will delight adults and children alike with his games and play beside your Boat No holiday in Dingle is complete without a magical boat tour out to see him and to soak in the stunning scenery in Abundance that awaits you too.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fungie: 30 years at Dingle”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I'm glad to report that Fungie is alive and well and not showing his age. It took us a while to find him but when we did he swam between the two boats and it was genuinely thrilling, he toured with us and we played a game of cast and mouse all around the harbour. The children loved it, and it far exceeded my expectations. If you are in Dingle, you have to visit Fungie!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    495
    153
    50
    17
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Rewarding and heart warming to see Fungie”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We went out on Saturday evening on the 5pm ferry to see Fungie and we saw him race beside our boat and give us all ample photo opportunities. My two daughters loved it. A must see when you visit Dingle. The staff on board and in the office were very friendly and welcoming.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mm0174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Boat trip”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Went on this trip to see Fungie the Dolphin and we definitely were NOT disappointed, we were out on boat for about an hour and saw a seal and Fungie swam with the boat, a good day in Dingle

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank glsb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

A friend and I went out to see Fungi and although we only got a glimpse of him that was ok, you can't plan for these things!
The thing that disappointed me was the lack of communication from the driver and his assistant. When we all barrelled on the boat we weren't greeted at all, the assistant just seemed to avoid looking at us. We left about fifteen mins late, which again was ok but there was no communication. Again when we left the boat we didn't get a thank you or goodbye or anything.
The only time we were spoken to at all was when it was time to collect the money and even then that was just to tell us how much we owed.
I guess between the lack of sightings it would have been nice to have a bit of banter with the driver and his asst or at least that they could point out other points of interest. Instead it just felt too commercial and not worth the €16 we were charged.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Seedheads74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What fun! He's an entertaining old chap”
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Managed to see fungie and two other dolphins on this trip. Very good value for money. Fungie is doing well for his years.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martylew78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dingle Dolphin Boat Tours also viewed

 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 

Been to Dingle Dolphin Boat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing