We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little hard to find”
Review of Dun An Oir

Dun An Oir
Ranked #46 of 73 things to do in Dingle
Attraction details
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little hard to find”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

It is definitely 'off the beaten path'! It took us a couple of false turns to find it. The best way to see it would be to stop at the museum Chorca Dhuibhne, get a walking map, and see it is part of a walking tour along the coast.

Not much there either, a couple of berms that comprised the fortification wall, and that's about it. It has not been excavated/restored, so if you are into seeing stuff as it looked back in the day...skip it.

But...if you are into seeing and visiting historic sites, it is worth the trip to find it, and the views are great.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sstrhodges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cashel
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the walk!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Walked from Baile na nGall via the beaches to Dun an Oir yesterday (and back) - a total of 15km in about 4-hours. Fabulous walk, stunning scenery. Some reviews say that Dun an Oir is difficult to find - not so if you walk the beaches! Once you get to the end of Beal Ban beach - at Gortadoo - follow the roadway and you will see a sign for Dun an Oir. On arriving back at Baile na nGall, a well deserved pint in Tigh TP's is a must. enjoy!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank lilymaiscafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucan, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A place for quiet reflection, beautiful”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Dun An Oir would be about an hour walk from Ballyferriter (I walk fast), it's just lovely to walk out there with your thoughts to yourself, and imagine the history. Spectacular in a quiet way, turquoise water, walk out to the edge if you are brave.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ellengloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Trad Music”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Our visit was a Wednesday night in mid May and the place was hopping. The Trad show start time of 9.30 p.m.doesn't discourage the size of the crowd. We were lucky to sit in the small room with the musicians. It was full by 9.15 or so. We conservatively counted 100 people that entered after that time. Where those people all went, we haven't a clue but it certainly is a popular spot. The weekends must be crazy.

The beer and music were great. Have fun; every one else will be!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travelpair70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Only for the die hard fan of history.”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This place is ridiculously hard to find. We love history though and the idea of seeing an old military fort had us game. We headed in the direction our guidebook sent us and found that the road we were told to take didn't go were it was supposed to. We could see on a map where the fort was located to we backtracked some and took a different road. We kept taking roads trying to maintain our heading in the direction the map showed it to be. We finally found it and were sadly disappointed that there is no fort. There were some lumps of earth covered in grass that might have been walls of a fort at some time but there really wasn't much there to see. The most beautiful thing there is the cove right off the side. The water is clear and the view is breathtaking. There is a large marker where you park in memory of the fallen soldiers.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dun An Oir also viewed

Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 

Been to Dun An Oir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing