We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY AT GREENMOUNT HOUSE”
Review of Greenmount House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Greenmount House
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Excellent B and B in Dingle...travelled down for the weekend and found John, Mary and the staff to be extremely friendly...room was tidy and spacious with stunning views over Dingle...Breakfast was one of the best we have ever had with plenty of choice...nothing was too much trouble...can't wait to get back to Dingle and stay here again in the near future...Thank you...Adam and Sacha.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (906)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

594 - 600 of 906 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

when first arrived received a very warm welcome. the room had outstanding views and the room was more than adequate. the service and staff were excellent. I would definitely recommend this bed and breakfast. Fabulous!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 44Mary44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We greatly enjoyed our visit to Dingle and our stay here. The Currans were delightful hosts, their house is very well kept and the rooms are lovely. Breakfast was delicious both mornings, you have to be a good cook to get a full Irish/English right in every detail and they did both mornings.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Unic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Me and my wife spent three nights in Greenmount House in early october 2012, had a large superior room on the first floor facing the bay. Great place , the owners and staff were friendly and very helping and professional; room and bathroom spotlessly clean, large living room for the guests with sofas , magazines and books about the region to help plan your visit of the surroundings. Appreciated the location of the BB, not too far from the pub area (10 minutes on foot) ; very quiet and plenty of parking space. Excellent breakfast .
Highly recommended, we look forward to coming back in Greenmount House
Andrea Tommasini
Verona, Italy

Room Tip: upper floor with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andrea t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights in August. The weather was very mixed so we were really pleased to have such great accommodation at Greenmount House. Our room was a great size wtih a baclony and large bathroom. The breakfasts were fantastic and we are still talking about them 6 months on! The owner was very helpful, offering advice about local attractions, etc at breakfast.
Good location - just 10 minute walk to the water and town. Expect this is one of the best places to stay in Dingle!

Room Tip: Sea view room with balcony (1st floor) is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kanga90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

It is a real shame that I have to give this beautiful BB a 3 star rating. It is a lovely home with breathtaking views of the bay. However we felt very unwelcome the moment we arrived. The day we arrived we were about an hour early. We knocked on the door and were greeted by a stern "we aren't ready for you yet, come back later"! He seemed annoyed with us. I replied that we could go for lunch and asked him for a recommendation. He replied "they're all good" then shut the door in our face. During our whole trip in Ireland we had arrived in other accommodations a little early and never were we turned away. I don't know what the problem was.

The other issue we had was the room my in-laws stayed in, which by the way, had no window except for a skylight. The heat was turned down in their room and my father-in-law had developed a very nasty cold. The room was chilly so they asked kindly if they could have the heat turned up. The owner flat out refused. Thank goodness we were only staying the one night!

On the plus side it is a beautiful house and the view of the bay is stunning. Our breakfast was very tasty. These are the only reasons I didn't give this place a 1 star rating. We stayed in a total of 9 different accommodations in Ireland during our trip and this is the only one that lacked that wonderful Irish hospitality. It is also the only one that we were completely dissatisfied with. We will stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tharron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The B&B is on the hillside over looking the bay. It's a 2 minute drive or 10 minute walk to Dingle highstreet and harbour. There's dedicated parking at the rear.

Inside it's very nice - clean, roomy, well looked after and homely. We were struck by the great views from the lounge, which had a welcoming roaring fire when we arrived. There was even a pair of binoculars for spotting the local dolphin.

Our room was large with big comfy bed, table and chairs, and big windows to admire the scenery from. Facilities included tea and coffee, free wi-fi, flatscreen TV, stereo, hairdryer and lots of storage space. The bathroom was similarly large with bath, separate (powerful) shower and a nice selection of toiletries.

Breakfast was the best thing about staying here though. The breakfast room shares the same views out and the food was great. We had things like eggs benedict and pancakes, along with all the usual selection of fruits and cereals. There was also bread pudding and cake which we resisted the first day and then relented and went for on the second.

Our hosts John and Mary were accommodating and helpful, even inviting my sister who we were visiting over for breakfast.

All in all it was a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nick7654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.3 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
807 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
1 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
472 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Dingle Quayside
The Dingle Quayside
#8 of 76 in Dingle
389 reviews
1.1 mi away
Milltown House
Milltown House
#5 of 76 in Dingle
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenmount House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenmount House

Address: Upper John Street, Dingle Co.Kerry, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Price Range: $107 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxurious guest house accomodation is located in a quiet, elevated position, so it enjoys fabulous views while just being a five minute walk to the vibrant centre of Dingle town with it's restaurants, pubs and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Greenmount House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenmount House Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing