We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreaming to Return”
Review of Pax Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pax Guest House
Ranked #1 of 75 Dingle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I traveled to Dingle with a group of 8, all family ranging from ages 11-82. Upon arriving at the Pax House, you are immediately overwhelmed with the incredible view. We flew into Shannon and made the drive to Dingle, getting to Pax House right at sunset...making the view even more breathtaking. The decor in the living room/sitting area is modern and clean, while the rooms are a tad bit more old fashioned with their Irish charm. Breakfast was indescribable and as we sat down every morning the staff called each one of us by name. My grandmother and I came back to our room one night to find that John had left teddy bears on our bed that warm up when you hold them. Literally, the greatest hospitality you could ask for. The walk to the little town is down the hill which can be tiring coming up, we had rental cars so this was not too much of a problem for us. I dream of returning to Dingle as soon as possible, I never stop thinking about how wonderful it was. Please go visit John, Rio(the adorable dog), and the amazing staff in Dingle for an unforgettable experience.

Go visit Sheehy's Fish and Chips truck and O'Sullivan's Courthouse Pub while you're there!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DShea12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,548)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

910 - 916 of 1,548 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Pax Guest House is probably the nicest hotel/B&B I have ever stayed in. The hospitality that John (and Rio) provided was second to none. My husband and I visited last March for his birthday and our anniversary, and we continue to reminisce about the room, the view, the breakfast, and John's service. The breakfast was the best we had during our stay in Ireland, and John always provided great recommendations for restaurants in Dingle and even in other areas in County Kerry. Whenever we would have breakfast or afternoon tea, he made sure that we knew where we were going for the day, and if we needed, he would help us with directions or ideas. His dog, Rio, was an outstanding "vacation dog," keeping us company while we missed our own dogs.

The suite was beautiful, with a large patio that looked out into the bay. We even got a look at Fungi, the Dingle dolphin, while using the binoculars provided in our room. I would love to come back and stay at the Pax House for another vacation - it is the perfect relaxing getaway in a beautiful locale.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DMA2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This was a beautiful place to stay. The views are amazing and the hospitality is great. We were given a ride into town on a rainy evening and cam home to lanterns glowing on our patio on a stormy night. It was a special place to stay and we wished we had another night!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1,234,154,943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This was our second visit to Pax House, and I wanted to review to help to keep up its 5* status on Tripadvisor! It is a terrific guesthouse, as everybody seems to find, and I can't praise it enough. It's also dog-friendly, which is a big bonus for petowners.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ali1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Outstanding in every aspect - the view, the comfort and warmth of the common rooms and bedrooms, the staff and owner, the food. Everything was of such a high quality, I'm at a loss to offer any small criticism or ideas for improvement. Personal attention and help for planning our days was much appreciated. Good suggestions for outings and restaurants. Lots of nice little personal extras as well. would highly recommend and would definitely return.

Room Tip: worth the little extra to get ocean view. we stayed on ground level, with a patio just outside our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gec57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Our stay at Pax House was definitely one of the highlights of our vacation. John has done everything perfectly right. The accommodations, the hospitality, the breakfast, the view, the locations ... everything perfect! I can't say enough about the peninsula, its people, Pax House, or our host. We are truly in love.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Really can't say any different to other reviewers, comfortable, friendly, great breakfast.....fantastic views and John clearly enjoys making his guests comfortable. I had to review as I felt it deserved another 5 star rating. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovemybeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.5 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
Dingle Skellig Hotel
#6 of 10 in Dingle
1,698 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#5 of 10 in Dingle
812 reviews
0.4 mi away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 10 in Dingle
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Milltown House
Milltown House
#4 of 10 in Dingle
477 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#7 of 10 in Dingle
474 reviews
1.3 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
Heaton's Guesthouse
#3 of 10 in Dingle
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pax Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pax Guest House

Address: Upper John St, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Price Range: $62 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pax Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide high quality guesthouse accommodation with exceptional views of Dingle harbour. Being just 1 km from Dingle Town Centre it takes less than 12 minutes to walk down, less if the wind is at your back!All rooms are ensuite, with tea /coffee facilities, fridge, direct dial telephones, hair dryer and televisions. Extensive public areas, lounge, dining room, garden, patio, and balcony all with an uninterrupted sea view. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pax Guest House Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing