We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B We Have Stayed In”
Review of Pax Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pax Guest House
Ranked #1 of 75 Dingle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We had a really great stay at this B&B. It is nicely furnished, the breakfast is very good, the rooms are spotless, it is in a beautiful location (a view over Dingle bay), and is excellent value for money. We choose a room with a sea view, patio area, and access to the lawn for E10 extra per night and it was well worth it. The owner and his staff are thoroughly professional, but have nice personal touches, and make you feel really welcome.
The B&B is on the edge of Dingle, but it took us twelve minutes to walk down to the town centre, and exactly fifteen to walk back! This B&B is notable for the extra thoughtful gestures of the owner - high vis jackets for the walk to town, chocolates and a bedcover turn down in the evening...better than most hotels.
Also, this is a dog friendly B&B, and we recommend it for this reason too.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,510)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,211 - 1,217 of 1,510 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2011

My husband and I stayed here in September when we ran the Dingle Marathon. Everything about our stay was perfect - John went out of his way to welcome you and make you feel at home. The view into the bay is gorgeous - but unfortunately we didn't get to see the dolphin that makes his home there. The night before the marathon we came home to a special treat of chocolate and fruit on our bed, and after the marathon he had set out more chocolate, fruit and band-aids in the main room for all the running guests. The breakfast was great and I really have no complaints. It isn't right in Dingle town, so we did have to drive down to go to the pub at night - but it's just about a mile out of town so not too far or a trek. We spent 2 weeks in and out of B&B's all over Ireland and this was by far the best one!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juli_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

If you want genuine Kerry friendliness; then this is the place. The views are stunning and the owners are always on hand with a happy smile. The rooms are well furnished and what you would expect from a B&B. I choose this place from its ranking here on Tripadvisor and we were both happy with the descision. Thanks TA!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetpete95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2011

Due to a reservation mix-up, we spent one night at Greenmount House and one night at Pax Guest House. Greenmount House is better if you want a room that has been more recently refurbished and closer to town. But Pax Guest house offers a better view of the bay and a more personal experience.

It’s obvious from the other reviews that John is great to stay with. He is the definition of lovely. Very warm, friendly, and great to talk with. He brought us tea immediately upon our arrival and talked extensively with us about our travels. John left us to read on our porch, but we were interrupted by Rio, the dog, dropping off a tennis ball at our feet and waiting for us to play with her. I spent the next hour in the beautiful lawn with an amazing view of the bay, talking with my family, and throwing the ball with Rio. It was a very relaxing afternoon after driving in from the Burren. The combination of the view from the lawn/our room and the warmth of the people made Pax House one of the most memorable parts of our trip to Ireland. It's worth getting a bay facing room, it makes all the difference.

For the benefit of others, I will mention the few things that may disappoint you in the Pax House. These are less important to me, which is why I praise the Pax House so much, but I want everyone to be aware. First, the Pax House is a bit of an uphill walk from the heart of the city. Be careful if you are not going to have a car and have travelers who can’t walk very far (wasn’t an issue for us, but could be for you). Second, the rooms are not as updated as a fine hotel. The charm of the place overrides this, but be careful if you are the type that demands the newest of rooms.

In the end, the Pax Guest House help make Dingle our favorite stop in Ireland. Thanks John and Rio for a great time!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LonghornTraveler08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

My best friend and I traveled in Ireland together for the first time last August. We are both of Irish descent and realized quickly, after arriving, that we truly have Irish hearts. Ireland 's people are so warm, friendly, inviting, and unapologetically real, and John was one of a few of these beautiful souls we encountered on our way. Though we are young travelers, and were on a slight budget, we couldn't pass up the chance to stay at a place like Pax House after seeing its reviews and photos here on TripAdvisor. Upon arrival, we were pleasantly surprised how much more beautiful this place is, and how wonderful John really was. We had an amazing time - a lovely tea upon check-in, a game of frisbee with Rio, a glorious tour of Slea Head (with John's wonderful advice...), a great dinner and music session in town, a solid sleep, and the best Irish Breakfast we had in all of Ireland. Our only regret was that we didn't book Pax House for more than one night. Best of luck to John (although he doesn't need it!), and I will definitely see you next time I wander back to Dingle! P.S. - If you are an artist or art-enthusiast - you will really enjoy Pax House: John's art collection is eclectic and awe-inspiring and the views from his grounds are from photographers' and painters' dreams. :)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheWanderingTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

There hangs in the entry a wonderful framed drawing of a small Irish boy with a big grin on his face and with the caption above "Dingle" and the caption below - "This Place Makes Me Smile". And that it did! Dingle was definitely our favorite place we visited and I have to say beyond doubt it was because of the awesome accommodations and the endless friendliness, service, and welcome of John and the Pax House Staff - including, yes , you guessed it if you have read the other reviews, Rio - the sweetest, cutest, most playful dog you could imagine. In less than thirty minutes time, you will feel like you are at home - only with incredible views of green pastures and the blue seas. Gorgeous! Don't miss it! I t really will make you smile and glad you chose the Pax House.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vetten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

We spent three nights in a spacious room on the main floor with a double bed, single bed and a private bath. Our room faced the sea and we could sit on the patio and look out over the amazingly green hills to the water. The room was beautifully decorated and what made Pax House by far the best B&B in the British Isles were all the extra touches in the room - fresh cut flowers from the garden throughout the room, chocolates, tea and biscuits brought to the room, the bed turned down each evening, binoculars in the room to look for Fungie the dolphin, tea lights and lots of information about the Dingle Peninsula.
John was an incredible host and made us feel at home the moment we walked through the front door. He was always ready to make recommendations, when asked, about everything from how to spend a rainy day in Dingle to where to find the best meal in town. He recommended visiting nearby Minard Castle, which was not in the tourist books, and it was one of the highlights of our trip (located on a hill by the sea with a gorgeous sandy beach below).
Other highlights of Pax House included the living room area we were welcome to use (when on a long holiday, it's nice to relax some place other than your room at times), Rio the dog (our 18-year-old daughter had a blast throwing the ball to her, which she would then hide in the bushes and our daughter would have to crawl through the bushes to get the ball back - it was like she was playing "go fetch" to us!), the chickens walking around the back yard and on the patio, the art work on the walls, the fact that not only John but also his staff knew all the guests' names and called us by name each time they greeted us, feeling like we were out in the country (there were cows in the field) yet we were only a short, delightful walk into town ("12 minutes with the wind at your back", as John would say) and, last but not least, the incredible breakfast - incredibly delicious pancakes and omelets, homemade scones and jam, mounds of fresh fruit and the incredible view of the bay from the dining room.
The only slight improvements we could suggest would be Canadian maple syrup for the pancakes and don't allow "stompers" to stay there! (we had an incredibly noisy man in the room above us two out of three nights)
We suffered Pax House and John withdrawal for weeks after we had to leave to continue our holiday - nowhere else in the British Isles came close to matching the incredible experience we had at Pax House.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calgarytraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.5 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
0.4 mi away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 9 in Dingle
897 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
0.8 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
471 reviews
1.4 mi away
Milltown House
Milltown House
#6 of 75 in Dingle
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pax Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pax Guest House

Address: Upper John St, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Price Range: $59 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pax Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide high quality guesthouse accommodation with exceptional views of Dingle harbour. Being just 1 km from Dingle Town Centre it takes less than 12 minutes to walk down, less if the wind is at your back!All rooms are ensuite, with tea /coffee facilities, fridge, direct dial telephones, hair dryer and televisions. Extensive public areas, lounge, dining room, garden, patio, and balcony all with an uninterrupted sea view. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pax Guest House Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing