We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$258
$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$277
$257
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$205
$174
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Killfountain Farm(Dingle)(Great Value!)
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Murphy's B & B(Dingle)(Great Value!)
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dingle Gate Hostel(Dingle)(Great Value!)
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Waterfront Dingle(Dingle)(Great Value!)
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveler rating
58
22
5
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
58
22
5
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh baked goodswell stocked kitchenyogurtcaptain jimseparate bedroomsconeshome bakedoutdoor patioquiet streetdouble roomwithin easy walking distancefew minutes walkwonderful breakfastnext morningdingle townfanadmary
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 94 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We just spent two nights at the Captain's House, in what sounds like the same efficiency unit others have mentioned. Mary and Jim are very good people, but they now seem to have other priorities which are entirely appropriate and understandable. My advice is to look closely at what you see and put more credence on the more recent reviews. There appears to be a number of nice B&B in Dingle, especially on the west side of town.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank JKS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We were very excited to visit the Capitain's House. We had read good things about it in Frommer's. We had a two-story room - the first level had a kitchenette, a sitting area, and a bathroom, and up a spiral staircase was a bedroom. The kitchenette area had a washer/dryer, which was helpful. We were somewhat surprised to learn that the accommodations were now self-catering, but the owners had left plenty of options for us for a continental breakfast. The room had a deck, which we didn't have a chance to enjoy but it looked like it would be a nice place to drink a beer and relax. The bedroom was a bit difficult for my tall husband - he couldn't stand in most of the room because of the angled ceiling. But the strange thing about the place was the way the water worked in the house. We noticed a sound of running water coming from the bedroom closet at night, and we opened it to find that there was an open tub of water, which appears to be the source of the water/water pressure for the unit, which was very odd and offputting. I'm not sure if we would stay there again - we loved Mary the owner but I think we would try a different B&B next time.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MCH93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Accommodation was excellent but there circumstances have changed and are unable to supply breakfast. The prices were definitely higher than other B&B's we stayed in Ireland which provided more.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelmom055_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2009

Because we stayed here in November, we were offered (and agreed to use) one of the self-catering suites - it was very cozy and warm,even in the midst of overnight gales - the Milhenches were very accommodating, and provided a continental breakfast as part of the arrangement - Mrs. Milhench checked in on us every day - place was very clean and kitchen was quite well-equipped should you want to do more than just breakfast - there was also a washer/dryer - place was also very quiet (again, except for the storms :-)) so it is a great place to unwind after a day of exploring the ancient sites all around the Dingle Peninsula - Captain's House is in the middle of town - everything is quite walkable - there are several good restaurants/pubs.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizLaurel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2009

...and this is saying a lot since this was our first trip to the homeland of some of our ancestors. Mary and Jim Milhench made us feel immediately at home in our very well equipped efficiency apartment. The private deck, with its near views of the town and far views of neighboring hillside, was a very special place to enjoy the breakfast we made of the lovely homemade bread, jam and other provisions. Mary checked in to make sure we had everything we needed. Dingle is a great place to visit - there is no more breathtaking scenery anywhere - and the town is well provided with restaurants, leisurely walks, and shopping for local arts and crafts. Did we mention the music? Visit O'Flaherty's Pub for starts.
Best,
Julie and Phil

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjersyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews